We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Cream Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taplow House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taplow House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
2 reviews
“Excellent Cream Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Treated a family member to cream tea. Good value for money and great ambience! The food was delicious and the service was fantastic. Everyone enjoyed themselves. Would highly recommend this if you wanted to treat someone!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauldsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    155
    73
    43
    25
See reviews for
124
263
21
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had an excellent 3 course Sunday lunch in attractive surroundings. Drinks before lunch in the Hall with an open fire that set the tone for the rest of the occasion. Highly recommended. Our table overlooked the impressive grounds. Ample parking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed for one night in December and whilst the room was nice and reasonably well kept I felt the service was very average and it was certainly not value for money, next time I'd rather go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds. It is warm, clean and comfortable. It has plentiful parking. We went to the hotel with an Activity Superstore ‘Fine dining Gift break’ voucher. At £299 per couple for one night, our expectations were high. I did not expect to have to eat off the limited £28.95 set menu. The food was well cooked and nicely presented, but the vouchers promise of a ‘fine dining experience ’and‘internationally acclaimed menus offer the chance to taste the best the British restaurant scene has to offer’ has taught me that with any of these vouchers it would pay to contact the provider to find out exactly what is on offer before buying. Let me be plain I don’t blame the hotel, but myself for thinking ‘that will be a lovely surprise’ instead of doing the research.
Our friends slept until two in the morning when they found out how thin the bedroom walls were. A party started in the room next door, or it may have been a Tourettes reunion event, judging by the number of F words that came through the wall. The hotel did not resolve the problem, so should similar occur then it would make sense to immediately ask to have a room in a quiet area to spend the rest of the night in.
I am sorry my review is not more upbeat about what is a very nice hotel. I can imagine it would be a wonderful wedding venue.
We visited Windsor Castle and Marlow while staying and had lovely days in both towns.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weasell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed two nights in a room that was on the 3rd floor called Room with a View.
The double bed was one of the smallest I've slept in. The bathroom is really one at time only please. No room to unpack the wash

Once coming back to the room the key card didn't work. This resulted in 3 trips to reception 3 flights of stairs each time to get the card reprogrammed. On the 3rd visit I was told that maybe the door key reader batteries need changing which they did. The exercise did me good but not sure how other guests would have felt.

At the end of our corridor, on the 3rd floor, a used plate and cups were left for a day and overnight before being cleared a day later.

The lady on reception was cheerful and helpful. The grounds are worth a stroll and plenty of good car parking available.

Room Tip: I would not recommend top floor rooms they have an attic feel and are small. Room with a View has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Albert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had arrived for one night stay during a week in London. We left our daughter with my sister and looked forward to one night away... Child free. As we were in the south for a week and my wife was just out of hospital we had to carry a lot of extras. .. Big bags. Check in was fine and we were given room 12. No lift and up many stairs and narrow corridors. As my wife was just out of hospital, I was carrying two suitcases and hand luggage. No offer of assistance despite passing staff and clearly struggling. When we got to the room our hearts sank, you could not swing a cat in it. There was only enough room round the bed to put a bag, ie have to step over bags to get round bed. DONT get room 12. It is described as classic bedroom. Tiny standard would be a better description. View is out to back hedge. Ie no view. Obviously need to get a deluxe or executive room for this. Bathroom also small. Beware when brushing teeth as likely to hit head off glass shelf. Toiletries in shower placed above shoulder height and v diff to put shampoo on hand.. Maybe this is deliberate. Breakfast fine, staff generally courteous and polite. Really , disappointment came from room size. Coffee in room was a tea bag cafetiere, which gives v weak coffee, and only one breakfast tea bag. Plenty exotic teas if that is your bag. Trying to be more upmarket than actually is. Try to get the basics right first. Stay was still good as our evening meal was out at the Fat Duck Restaurant, which is food and service beyond expectation.

Room Tip: Don't get room 12. Ask specifically about room size and whet here you are going to be front or b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Uncomfortable pillows, tiny double bed, no bottled waters in room (only very small glasses for tap water), and only basic toiletries, which to be fair are from The White Company, but needs to be extended with moisturiser etc.

As the other reviews say the grounds are stunning and staff a friendly. Food is average. Extremely greasy buffet breakfast with concentrate juice range.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank review_h0tel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
1.2 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
2.1 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
0.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 12 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taplow House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taplow House Hotel

Property: Taplow House Hotel
Address: Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplow House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Georgian retreat situated on the border between Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. Taplow House Hotel is a peaceful haven only 15 minutes from London Heathrow Airport and 10 minutes from historic Windsor. Set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and boasting Europe's largest tulip trees Taplow House Hotel is the perfect setting for a meeting, private event, wedding or relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taplow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing