We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway”
Review of Taplow House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taplow House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Reviewed 6 September 2008

We were arrived at the hotel to be greeted with a glass of chilled champagne and two courteous and highly professional members of staff. We relaxed in the hotel lobby while our bags were delivered to our room. The room was spacious and the bed comfy – we both slept like babies and enjoyed waking up to the tranquil surroundings. The room was tastefully decorated and appeared to have been newly refurbished.

The food at Berry’s restaurant was very good although we thought the menu could have offered more for vegetarians.

The hotel and the surrounding gardens were magnificent.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we thank the hotel staff at the Taplow for making us feel welcome and making our stay a memorable one. We left Taplow House feeling relaxed and ready to tackle the week ahead. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikey2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2008

Our room was very nice - one of the larger ones and worth the extra if you are thinking of staying.

The food was generally brilliant. Favourite was the lamb at dinner and mushroom tagliatelle at lunchtime. Comps to the chef.

We found the staff to be very good. Attentive and willing. Denise the food and beverage Manager was excellent.

There is a new General Manager, Samuel Goss who wants to raise the game of this hotel. I'm sure he will do all he can to take this lovely hotel from good to brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 5Star_Service_Seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

A wonderful quaint hotel set in secluded and idyllic surroundings. Very friendly staff and delicious food! Highly recommended to all couples.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AMinhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Taplow house hotel exceeded all expectations.
My husband and I wanted a romantic, quiet night out of the city and came across Taplow House. Service was effictient and personal. Food was well cooked and looked fantastic. The rooms have obviously been recently refurbished to a very high standard and have everything you could need. The setting is gorgeous and we are looking forward to being able to return again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank guildy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

I truely wonderful stay, better service than I have received at some 5 star hotels, I can not wait until my next stay. Thank you to Samuel and his team.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DevonTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Getting to the end of the summer and this year's holiday feeling a distant memory, we were in need of a little relaxation. After searching all the booking websites and not finding anything that grabbed my attention I stumbled across Taplow House. We booked a standard room and it more than exceeded our expectations. The food in the restaurant compared well to any restaurant in London and at far more reasonable prices. What made the break complete for us was the individual service we received from all the staff and management. We have already re-booked for the Christmas break with our family. I would recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TBBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

To all the Fathers out there who are fretting about who to place their trust in to look after their greatest gift on her most important day; look no further than Taplow House.

My Daughter had her reception there on Friday 22nd August and Samuel Goss and his team made us feel so welcome. They looked after us superbly and the location is wonderful.

It is a venue for everyone, young and old alike. The dancefloor area downstairs is great but there are quiet corners to just sit and chat. The gardens are lovely and the newly refurbished rooms have everything one could wish for.

Above all, the service is discreet but attentive and nothing was too much trouble which made our day so very special. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NickWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
1.2 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
613 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,043 reviews
2.1 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,345 reviews
3.8 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taplow House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taplow House Hotel

Address: Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range: £102 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplow House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Georgian retreat situated on the border between Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. Taplow House Hotel is a peaceful haven only 15 minutes from London Heathrow Airport and 10 minutes from historic Windsor. Set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and boasting Europe's largest tulip trees Taplow House Hotel is the perfect setting for a meeting, private event, wedding or relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taplow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing