We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea not worth visiting for”
Review of Taplow House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taplow House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea not worth visiting for”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I went with a group of friends to have afternoon tea. We were really quite disappointed. The room was dreary and the atmosphere was very muted. It didn't really feel like a nice occasion or a treat, as the decor, crockery etc all seemed very cheap.
The sandwiches were okay, if a little dry. The scones were also okay, although some were very flat like patties rather than scones. In addition to that you got tiny carrot cakes and a tiny tart and a macaron each which were all delicious. There was a good selection if tea, but no attempt was made to refill the pots or offer hot water. We had to go and find someone.

Standard afternoon tea here costs £19, with champagne tea being £27. This is a fairly standard "out of London" price for afternoon tea, but is nowhere near the quality of local competitors. They really need to understand the market a bit better. People come for a treat, and expect old fashioned attention and service, and nice surroundings. We wouldn't go back here again. Other places are doing it much better.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Toria1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Toria1976

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We value all feedback and do seriously appreciate hearing from our guests. I am so sorry that your experience at Taplow left you feeling disappointed.

Afternoon tea is difficult to try to please everyone as we all have different tastes, and from our other Tripadvisor reviews we seem to get it right most of the time. Good to hear you enjoyed the macaroons and were impressed with the selection of Newbys of London teas that we serve.

Thank you again

Dave Seward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    162
    74
    45
    25
See reviews for
128
270
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I visited the hotel for lunch with my family during the week as my Mum was visiting us from Cape Town. We enjoyed a tasty and beautifully presented meal in Berry's Restaurant and embraced the opportunity to enjoy the English sun on the extensive front lawn. Taplow House Hotel was recommended to us by friends and whilst this is my first review, I look forward to visiting again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Hamish H

A brilliant review for which I thank you!

I am delighted that you all enjoyed your meal in Berry’s with our new menu and that you made the most of the glorious weather on the terrace. Much work is being carried out in the garden to bring them back to their former glory and the Tulip trees are looking fabulous.

I trust you Mother had an enjoyable holiday and a safe trip back to Cape Town?

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Dave Seward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for a business meeting. I have found the staff to be very professional and welcoming. The food as well as the snacks served during the meeting were delicious and had lots of healthy choices. I will never forget the moment, when I was shown to my room and the gentleman unlocking the door said "this is not a room" and I must have looked very surprised and then he continued " this is your suite". It was a breathtaking, very beautifully furnished room with a great view across the garden. The bathroom facilities were wonderful and modern. I have to admit that I had a nice little nap and used the tea and coffee making facilities. Unfortunately, I could not stay the night, but I would love to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank 815kerstink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear 815kerstink

I am always pleased to get feedback from guests who visit us for a conference. Thank you for the positive comments and I am delighted that we looked after you as expected. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the food and found the suite “breathtaking”

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Dave Seward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is stunning, beautiful grounds, very attentive staff, and the rooms are lovely. We were in 'orkney' which overlooked the front gardens, and has a four poster bed. Everywhere was spotless, and breakfast was delicious. A great terrace which was ideal for drinks in the evening. This is a great location for 'the fat duck restaurant in bray' and Windsor. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay again in the near future.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Tim K

Thank you for your fabulous review on Taplow after your recent stay. We are fortunate enough not only to be close enough to The Fat Duck but also to be recommended by them for overnight accommodation.

The terrace is indeed a lovely sun-catcher and a perfect place to take tea (or champagne!!) and view the Tulip trees.

Thank you again from all of the hard working team at Taplow, we look forward to your next visit.


Dave Seward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed in the Cliveden suite which was a glorious room - spacious, expensively furnished with high ceilings. Four poster bed, complete with romantic and artistic "swan" towel arrangement with flower petals on the bed was a lovely touch - thank you house keeping! Sparkling clean and very art deco style bathroom suite. Room service was prompt and polite, food and drinks excellent quality and reasonably priced. The well maintained grounds are a pleasure to explore. Nice polite staff. Would visit again (very soon)!

Room Tip: Cliveden suite is very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toms_on_a_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi toms_on_a_trip

What a brilliant review - thank you for all your kind comments. I am so pleased that we got it right.

Cliveden certainly is a glorious suite with superb views.

We look forward to your return - please do ensure that you are signed up to our mailing list to receive our new Eshots. They will keep you updated on the team, whats happening at Taplow and all our special offers for both accommodation and Berry’s Restaurant.

Thank you again from all of us here at Taplow.

Dave Seward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Here's another comment on this beautiful hotel and great grounds. It really is a special place, especially when the weather is great. Even if the weather is bad, you could not fault this hotel. Sitting outside chilling with a lovely group of 12 ladies. The food, rooms and service were first class. Again Laura was a top girl giving over 100% attention. Would recommend and visit this hotel again ,

Room Tip: Not sure, as I only went in one other room. Both rooms overlooked the lawned area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jannie1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
G’day Jannie1812.

What a fabulous review from “Down-Under”! Such brilliant comments which bring pride to all of our team. Thank you for your comments about Laura - she is a great asset to the team. Laura deals with reservations, so when booking directly she always has the best rate available for each of our guests.

We all do hope you return to the UK soon, and obviously have time for another visit to Taplow.

Thanks again.

Dave Seward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We attended a wedding, and many aspects were wonderful! - the setting - the ceremony - the meal served for the wedding all good. The rooms vary- which were charged at the same rate. Our first was tiny - and had a very loud mechanical noise outside the window - so we changed rooms at midnight and got a good night's sleep - so worth the move despite the inconvenience! - the breakfast was mediocre - orange juice served in a jug with a cracked spout, mushrooms like cardboard, no egg station but adequate otherwise.
When the wedding cake was transferred from the dining room, it was done by one member of staff (another watching) and tilted back towards himself with the top layer resting on the waiter's cheek - perhaps this should have been done with both waiters! - wedding cakes do tend to be tall! and not very hygenic resting cake against clothing and face
When it came to checking out, additional tabs were added to our bill - we had no problem with our signed receipts but irritated that they added 25% in addition. When each item was discussed - we did end up only paying for ours. I am sure that other people would have just signed - so please check carefully.
A very pretty setting for a wedding - but I think that the staff need to be better trained to bring up the overall standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mag1calspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear mag1calspider.

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us at Taplow. Your grade of 3 out of 5 is good for us despite the few issues you experienced during your stay.

I do apologise for the slip up with your bill and I can assure you that it was an error. We certainly do not wish to overcharge our guests!!

Training is on-going with our team and every day we get better.

You are correct about weddings here at Taplow - it is a unique venue with exclusive weddings proving to be most popular.

Thank you again, and do come back for another visit soon.

Dave Seward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
1.2 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
583 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
963 reviews
2.1 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
677 reviews
6.0 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taplow House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taplow House Hotel

Property: Taplow House Hotel
Address: Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplow House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Georgian retreat situated on the border between Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. Taplow House Hotel is a peaceful haven only 15 minutes from London Heathrow Airport and 10 minutes from historic Windsor. Set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and boasting Europe's largest tulip trees Taplow House Hotel is the perfect setting for a meeting, private event, wedding or relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Taplow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing