We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our perfect wedding venue”
Review of Taplow House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taplow House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Reviewed 30 April 2007

We were married at Taplow House Hotel in April 2007 and feel it was the ideal venue for our needs.
We chose the hotel as we liked the idea of a historic house and we thought the gardens offered good photo potential - we hadn't stayed or eaten at the hotel previously.

During our wedding planning and the day itself, what really impressed us was the staff helpfulness (NB. we booked the least expensive Silver package, so the great service wasn't because it was the most lavish wedding they'd hosted ). Jas, the wedding co-ordinator was so helpful - answering any questions we had and offering advice/suggestions whenever we wanted it, without being pushy. She suggested a number of touches ( like colouring books for children) which we wouldn't have thought of ourselves, but which made the day go smoother. She also has a great contacts book - we looked at several florists and photographers she suggested and were pleased with our choices.
Denise, the Catering Manager guided us through our menu tasting and when we had doubts about our menu choice, suggested we should come in again and try a different dish (in the event, our meal was delicious)
Ahmed the barman was courteous and efficient throughout the day. The Manager sought us out the next day to see if there was anything else they could do. About a dozen of us stayed overnight and the only complaints we heard were that some of the rooms were dark for reading and had too few coathangers. We felt some of the rooms' decor looked a bit tired, but this was more than compensated by the superb food, service and grounds.

The overall impression was that they are a highly professional yet friendly team in whom you can be very confident for an important function. Many of the guests spontaneously praised the hotel on the day and that has also come across in subsequent messages.
Thank you so much Taplow House for making our wedding so memorable - we loved you.

Stayed: April 2007
3  Thank ElaineWindsorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2007

We have stayed at the property a number of times over the past three years and we are extremely impressed with the refurbishments which are taking place. The hotel has come a long way since the takeover and we look forward to seeing future changes.

As usual food & service excellent, Ahmed always takes care of our requirements.

Stayed: April 2007
Thank Fordyil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2007

Horrible - absolutely horrible. Booked this for my husbands 40th as it looked lovely on its website but when we got there we were stunned. Reception was a tatty old desk, the wallpaper was hanging off the walls, workmen were busy with their drills and the room was filthy. The bedlinen was ripped and black with dirt in places, the room smelt and the ceiling was cracked. There were camp beds propped up against the corridors and scratch marks along the doors. The worst hotel I have ever set foot in and I have stayed in many, all around the world and all of different stars. We were so disgsuted we refused to stay there and booked ourselves in to somewhere lovely down the road for the same price !!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mrs_R_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2006

This hotel was awful. The rooms were shabby the restaurant was over priced and very delapidated, broken chairs left for people to sit on.

The staff were helpful but this was not enough the hotel is in desperate fot a refurb.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank pbetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2006

Below is the description from the Taplow house hotels website of their Taplow suite i have added my comments (in brackets) based on my stay to their description;

The Taplow Suite:
With its Jacobean beamed sitting room (very grubby dark & cold room), one bathroom and a shower room, Jacuzzi (This has never been a Jacuzzi, it's a small spa bath) and private terrace overlooking the gardens (Private terrace? In the evening staff had a sneaky cigarette on our 'private' terrace & In the morning the private terrace was covered in linen from the room change over and staff walking back and forward from the truck that was taking the linen away) the sumptuous Taplow Suite is the last word in luxury. (Luxury? where do i begin.... the curtains are dirty, the net in the main bedroom had dead insects stuck to the top of it, there was no mini bar, the television was so small i'm not sure where you could watch it from and only three channels worked!)

The bedroom has a four poster bed (20 years ago it was probably a nice bed now it gives the impression that it could collapse at any minute, the bed spread had a large hole in it and looked grubby) and the suite has a separate private entrance and hallway. (The private entrance and hallway where a hive of activity from 7am! the chamber maids congregated in the 'PRIVATE' hallway talking loudly and making a lot of noise whilst they begun there shift).

A suite for your wedding night, your business or your family, the choice is yours. (Please take my advice - DO NOT ruin your wedding night by booking this suite, the exterior of the Hotel is truly pleasant as is the surroundings but PLEASE ask to inspect the room first! )

We booked the room as a treat and looked forward to relaxing in our 'Jacuzzi' we left very disappointed.
Oh and as you go down the 'PRIVATE' hallway don't look through the glass panel on the kitchen door the bread was left out with no packaging over night on a tray, this could explain why the bacon sandwich we ordered in the morning came toasted!!

Stayed: September 2006
5  Thank drywhitewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2006

Needed a place to stay for a decent one night stop over in Surrey and found this place at a great discount price the day before our stay on a late deals website. Very impressed by the grounds, the hotel and the staff - a fantastic experience for £80 for the two of us, including breakfast. The staff were friendly and polite and bumped us up to an executive room on arrival (as we were staying out of season). Our room was very nice, if not amazing, but the rest of the hotel was really impressive, great country house and grounds feel. Particularly liked the grounds, which include some impressive tulip trees. Only complaint really was the food in the much lauded Strok's restuarant (2 AA rosettes) - whilst delicious, the portions were EXTREMELY small for the price, so if you are strapping guests with a real appetite, you might be better spending your time and money wandering elsewhere for a hearty meal.
Overall though, it was a fantastic stay and would definitely go there again. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylossus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
11
Reviewed 2 May 2006

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this place. Booked it as an Easter weekend away with my delightful new boyfriend and had the most amazing time. Our room (junior suite) was breathtaking, the staff were friendly and helpful without being OTT and the restaurant was superb. We're already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
2.1 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,081 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
623 reviews
2.1 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#9 of 11 in Maidenhead
730 reviews
3.8 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taplow House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taplow House Hotel

Address: Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Taplow
Price Range: £97 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplow House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Georgian retreat situated on the border between Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. Taplow House Hotel is a peaceful haven only 15 minutes from London Heathrow Airport and 10 minutes from historic Windsor. Set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and boasting Europe's largest tulip trees Taplow House Hotel is the perfect setting for a meeting, private event, wedding or relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Taplow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing