We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Five Arrows Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Five Arrows Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed recently while on business in the area. Good welcome, nice room, traditionally kitted out, and very comfortable. Restaurant is a "Gem", excellent food, very good value. Only one thing let the place down - weak internet signal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cymru13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

My daughter and I have just spent a Saturday at the Five Arrows. Stayed in a wonderful (recently furbished) room. Great location, attractive hotel and helpful staff. We were very lucky with the weather too. Best of all was the dinner - absolutely fantastic food. Many compliments to the chef! If we were being really sad and nitpicking, it would have been great to have a robe for the bathroom - but what a minor point given everything else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChilledMama671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

I booked the hotel as a night away for me and my boyfriend. I was a bit dubious at first as we are a young couple and it seems a very upmarket place, however we were not made to feel unwelcome at all. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and my first thoughts were this is the kind of place where I would love to get married. Our room was spacious and clean...and OH MY GOD it was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Our room was £89 for the night including breakfast and it was money well spent. We didnt have breakfast due to the bed being far too comfy to leave. Also didnt have dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was a mistake because the place where we did eat made my boyfriend extremely poorly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to stay somewhere classy without paying through the nose. I will most definately love to stay here again, and will make sure I eat in there next time as the food smelt delicious!! Thank you Five Arrows.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vstone2789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were bought an overnight stay as a Christmas present via Groupon. Our room was in the main Hotel building and was in need of redecoration. The shower needed refurbishing to get rid of the entrenched black mould in the grout and sealant.
However, the room was clean and comfortable and had all of the amenities a small hotel should provide.
We didn't expect too much from the evening meal but we were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of all three courses. in fact, the food was exceptional!! Likewise, the breakfast was also very good.
Without the superb food the hotel would be average. A little bit of TLC in the older bedrooms would have upgraded my opinion to Excellent.
Well worth a visit for the food alone!
Visit Waddesden Manor, a fabulous building.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mortgagemiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I recently celebrated our wedding anniversary at The Five Arrows, Waddesdon. We couldn't fault the hotel on it's friendly staff, delicious food and superb recently refurbished bedroom. The location is great for visiting Waddesdon Manor.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newly refurbished rooms, and although it was lovely and spacious, the lofted ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williams123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Visited for my Mother in Laws 60th birthday, and we weren't disappointed. Excellent staff who hsppily sorted out all the little extras to make things special. We had a superior room and a suite, both of which were excellent. Without doubt though the highlight was the food, sensational cooking beautifully presented. Bravo Five Arrows.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank RalphLub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel after a day trip to Oxford, we was greeted and shown to one of the new rooms by the very friendly Charlotte. The room was beautiful and had everything we need, including a lovely big bathroom. We had dinner at the hotel, my husband had the ribeye steak which he couldn't say enough about and I had the slow cooked blade of beef which was both amazing, all the staff were very friendly and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waddesdon
4.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
734 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#9 of 12 in Aylesbury
789 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Waddesdon
The Lion Waddesdon
#2 of 2 in Waddesdon
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
9.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
607 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Magnolia Park Hotel, Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Arrows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Arrows Hotel

Address: High Street, Waddesdon, Aylesbury HP18 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury > Waddesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Price Range: £88 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Arrows Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Arrows Hotel and Restaurant stands at the gates of Waddesdon Manor offering 16 bedrooms of character and charm. The Restaurant has a varied and exciting menu to suit all tastes, and a wine list that encompasses everyday and rare wines from both New and Old World vineyards. Whether you merely pop in for coffee or tea, or come to dine and stay the night, we aim to make you comfortable and very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Five Arrows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Waddesdon
Five Arrows Hotel Waddesdon, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing