We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Wedding Anniversary at the 5 Arrows”
Review of Five Arrows Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Five Arrows Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First Wedding Anniversary at the 5 Arrows”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a follow up review 1 year on from our fantastic wedding at the Five Arrows last year. I wanted to have our first anniversary at the Five Arrows and managed to book the honeymoon Suite for one night. All the staff were excellent in accommodating our needs, from late minute booking of specific flowers to cooking my wife her 'special Vegggie' wedding day meal. The staff were most attentive and spoilt us; once again the Five Arrows made it a day to remember. I would rstrongly recommend this for both wedding, an overnight stay and, in particular, the excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    177
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
72
347
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely hotel in an idyllic location, first impressions when you pull in are fantastic with a great welcoming reception from staff on checking in. Lovely room but a little smaller than we would have liked, but everything that we needed so no real complaints. Spotlessly clean with a large shower in the ensuite. Dinner was amazing and it was a difficult decision to make on what we should choose from the menu. All cooked to perfection and served by our attentive hosts. Breakfast again was a choice of Continental or full English which really set you up for the whole day. We took advantage of the good weather and visited Waddesdon Manor Gardens with a complimentary pass from the hotel on our first day.

The staff were truly amazing, warm friendly and couldn't fault any of them. A real credit to the Hotel.

Car parking is no problem even when there is a wedding in the hotel as we found out. Would we come back again? That's a definite YES.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

great service and fantastic food. Only negative was the bar lacked atmosphere. Food both dinner and breakfast were excellent. All staff without exception were warm and friendly. Hotel was spotless and room was large, modern and clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim1888000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very enjoyable stay at the 5 Arrows, every bit as good as the web site pictures and description. Super evening meal, ( not quite so good cooked breakfast ) but we passed on the £2000 bottle of 1986 Baron Rothschild wine !!

Room Tip: We had room 3 at the front and did get woken up with early traffic noise despite the secondary glazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horsleygc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had a BB and dinner package for a mid week night. All round it was an excellent choice and very good value for money. Had a very nice newly refurbished room in the stable block which was modern, roomy and had a lovely bathroom. Lovely garden for drinks on the terrace but no real bar area or facilities for seating inside except for dining. Very nice dinner from a good menu and a decent wine list.
Very nice breakfast although no real fresh fruit. Didn't like the cereals in Kilner jars but that is being a bit picky.
Very friendly staff and plenty around at all times, good service. Easy car parking and free Wi-Fi. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room in stable block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Whilst house hunting in the area, we stayed at The Five Arrows on a Saturday night.

The room was bright and very clean, White Company bed linen and good quality all the way through to breakfast. The full English was delightful with top quality bacon and sausages.

The only negative was a bright green light fitted into the ceiling that lit the room up in the darkness of night. We informed reception when we checked out and they promised to look into it. By coincidence, the couple in front of us checking out had the same complaint .

We would still go back but take an eye mask with us......

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay, this was a voucher offer so fantastic value.Staff were pleasant and the room perfectly adequate, but a few comments need to be made
1 the bedroom was really very hot, I know this is a frequent criticism of English hotels but air conditioning is really needed. Also having large refillable soap and shampoo screwed to the wall smacks of a Travelodge not a country house hotel.

2 there is no lounge area for residents, the bar area has 2 tables and when they are occupied you either sit in the restaurant or nowhere. There is lovely outside seating but this is too cold at this time of year
3 dinner was pleasant without being overwhelming. Dishes sounded better than they actually tasted

on the plus side, the hotel is attractive and next door to the Waddesdon estate, the wine list is outstanding, breakfast was very good and the staff could not have been nicer.

With a little more imagination this could be a really good country house hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RICHARD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waddesdon
4.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Waddesdon
The Lion Waddesdon
#2 of 2 in Waddesdon
85 reviews
11.4 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,369 reviews
9.2 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
194 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#3 of 6 in Aylesbury
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Arrows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Arrows Hotel

Property: Five Arrows Hotel
Address: High Street, Waddesdon HP18 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Waddesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Arrows Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Arrows Hotel and Restaurant stands at the gates of Waddesdon Manor offering 16 bedrooms of character and charm. The Restaurant has a varied and exciting menu to suit all tastes, and a wine list that encompasses everyday and rare wines from both New and Old World vineyards. Whether you merely pop in for coffee or tea, or come to dine and stay the night, we aim to make you comfortable and very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Five Arrows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Waddesdon
Five Arrows Hotel Waddesdon, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing