We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Five Arrows Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Five Arrows Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I got married here last month. The hotel is a wonderful, intimate venue and the staff were all friendly and so helpful from the first enquiry right down to checking out the day after.
The suite we stayed in was extremely comfortable and had a lovely bath and shower.
The food for our wedding was a well thought out menu of delicious food and dietary requirements were no trouble. Breakfast was also fantastic. I would whole heartedly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a luxury hotel or an intimate and beautiful wedding venue. I cannot thank the staff of the Five Arrows enough for the wonderful day we all had.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RaeW90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    165
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
67
326
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holland-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have been working very hard away from home so decided to have a luxury night in a local hotel. We found a special Sunday night rate that included dinner and breakfast.
Was shown into a delightful room with ensuite. We had a great dinner and a perfect English breakfast. Will definitely go back if we find ourselves in Aylesbury again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 998jacquia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the 5 arrows last year and enjoyed a exceptionally relaxing stay. There is attention to detail throughout. A meal in the restaurant was also a very pleasant surprise.

Would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed one night, two couples. We got rooms in a rebuild barn in the back of the garden. Decorated with period furniture. Small double beds (width 1.40 m). Powerful shower in bath. Very friendly staff and very good food. Attractive terrace adjacent to a well tended garden. Walking distance from Waddesdon Mannor, a must once you're there.

Room Tip: Hotel is located on a busy road, so ask for a room at the backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for one night prior to an event at Waddesdon Manor on the Sunday. Old feel with antique furniture, very comfortable and cosy. Our room was at the front of the main building (the one next to the sign) but the secondary double glazing was very good and we could hardly hear the traffic at all. Nice bathroom, obviously recently decorated but in appropriate period style. Floors were quite creaky but you should expect that in a hotel this old. Fairly pricey (we weren't on any special offers) but great for a bit if a treat. The dinner was superb and we couldn't fault the food, or wine :-) Breakfast was great, full English probably local sausages and black pudding? plus cold buffet if you wanted.

Room Tip: I believe rooms in the blocks are cheaper than in the main hotel but possibly don't have as much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevemorganeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Went there on an Amazon Local deal. We were in the refurbished block and it was immaculate. The service was excellent, very friendly. The evening meal was very good with some homemade bread on the side. This was excellent. The breakfast was a bit disappointing as I thought the toast would be good fresh homemade which we had at evening meal but it was just medium sliced yucky supermarket sliced stuff. The full English was included but everything else incurred a supplement of almost £3. Overall would have no qualms in recommending the 5 Arrows.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeJa14541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel is owned and run by the National Trust, as part of the Waddesdon Estate. The hotel is on the main road, and is more of a large house, by layout, rather than a hotel. We were there on a weekend, but I think the traffic noise could be significant in the week, if you were in a room at the front, as we were. The reception / bar / lounge area is small with only 4/ 5 tables, although on a warm summer's day there are some gardens you could sit in.
We stayed on Easter Saturday evening, as we were visiting the adjoining Waddesdon Manor the following day. We booked a superior room bed, dinner and breakfast package.

The room, in the main building, was quite dark, deep maroon coloured walls, and a small window and quite small by modern standards, but had all the facilities one would expect. Controlling the room temperature wasn't easy, as it tended to be too hot or cold, as it had a radiator, rather than air conditioning.

The dinner package was excellent value, just £25 extra for the 2 of us, which gave a full a la carte menu choice of 3 courses meals. The food was high quality, and we both had the steak for the main course which was excellent.
Breakfast was a combination of limited cold buffet (choice of fresh fruit could have been better) and a choice of served hot dishes.

Overall, a good place to spend a night if you're visiting this area, with some excellent attractions, Waddesdon Manor, Dunstable Downs, Bicester all close by.

Room Tip: Room at the back to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonytourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waddesdon
4.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Lion Waddesdon
The Lion Waddesdon
#2 of 2 in Waddesdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#4 of 7 in Aylesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
9.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
9.2 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Arrows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Arrows Hotel

Property: Five Arrows Hotel
Address: High Street, Waddesdon HP18 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Waddesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Arrows Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Arrows Hotel and Restaurant stands at the gates of Waddesdon Manor offering 16 bedrooms of character and charm. The Restaurant has a varied and exciting menu to suit all tastes, and a wine list that encompasses everyday and rare wines from both New and Old World vineyards. Whether you merely pop in for coffee or tea, or come to dine and stay the night, we aim to make you comfortable and very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Five Arrows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Waddesdon
Five Arrows Hotel Waddesdon, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing