We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Five Arrows Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Five Arrows Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We turned up one lunchtime in the last week.We were ignored by two passing members of staff even though we were stood by the restaurant bookings "lecturn". Just as we were about to leave the head waiter(?) approached us.We were shown to a table for two immediately adjoining a noisy party in a private room even though the restaurant was a quarter full and at least 5 other tables were available. After a few minutes we asked to move.We were under some time constraint and indicated twice that we were ready to order but no one came.I called over the "head waiter" and he said that he was taking the orders according to when each table came in NOT when they were ready,so by his logic,if table one did not choose for 45 mins then everyone else had to wait.We ordered a bottle of wine and a glass came.We had to ask for water twice.The food was ok but the service unsmiling.I would have deducted the service charge but we were pressed for time and I couldn't be fagged.I shall make my protest by not returning.If a restaurant gives itself "airs" then it should try to live up to its hype.Very disappointing

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertGoraj, Restaurant Manager at Five Arrows Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We do appreciate all of the feedback from our guests.

However, I am very disappointed to see your inaccurate and defamatory post on Tripadvisor. In this case I would like to clarify mistruths in your review for the benefit of other Tripadvisor users.

I do believe that you visited our restaurant on 9th of August on Saturday.
You sat at 12:35 pm and finished your two course lunch at 13:56pm

When you came I was the person who asked you about your reservation. You did not have one, but this was not a problem because I still had some tables available.

I am not sure about the party that you mentioned because on that day the largest group we had was 6 - including infant - but they had been far away from your table. But this was your decision to change your table and sit almost next to them.
Behind you in the small room sat two elderly ladies. In fact they are regular guests who due to their “senior years” are unable to talk loudly.

You mentioned that we had some tables available that we did not offer to you. Yes, indeed but these tables had been reserved and specifically requested and this was the only reason I was unable to offer you one of these.
My team and I always try to be flexible for our guests and when we do promise we always keep it. Otherwise we will lose our good reputation as being trustworthy.

Yes, it is true. You waved to me to show me that you were ready to place your order. Therefore I came to you and explained to you most diplomatically that I could not be that rude to the other guests who came before you and were also ready to place their order. To remind you, I skipped 3 other tables, who arrived before you, in order to process your order promptly per your request.


I am very sorry that you asked us about water twice especially since this is our first question when sitting our guests.

I do understand that some of our guests try to treat our restaurant as a pub and have pub expectations and manners but I can ensure you that we are not a pub.
Service charge is discretionary and automatically added to every bill. We can of course remove it from the bill on the customer’s request. However you did not ask us to do so.
We were under the assumption that you had been happy with the service provided as upon your departure you did not bring up any complaints on paying the bill.



If you have any more questions or comments or you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    176
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
70
344
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

we stayed here for two nights and could not find anything to fault it. We had room 8 which is at the top of the main building and was very good, clean and with all you needed. Staff were very attentive and helpful. Dinner was excellent, and very innovative, (tea smoked duck breast, etc). Not the cheapest restaurant in the world but the quality of food deserved the price. Breakfast was extremely good, full english or continental were available. The building itself was quite quirky but delightful, very in keeping with village,it looked quite gothic. The hotel is on the main A41 but the road noise is not a problem. All in all and very good destination to stay.

Room Tip: rooms in main house seem very good the ones in newer building look good but did not see in them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed one night with evening meals. Rooms were those renovated in the barns and were very modern and well done, However at night in the summer it was hot, no air con, but fan provided which with window open still left room uncomfortable. The dining room and surroundings are very pleasant the food good as is the service. Breakfast was similarly in the restaurant and good. Overall could get a little pricey and we are not good in U.K. with hot summers with no air con in rooms. Would return but not if it is likely to be hot.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leisurely_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Only stayed for the night on Saturday but felt like we'd had a much longer stay we were so relaxed.
Fresh and clean room overlooking the garden, comfortable bed and crisp sheets. all the staff are most welcoming and accomadating. we ate dinner in the restaurant and the quality of the food was excellent. My partner was delighted with the wine list and chose up a perfect bottle for our meal. Breakfast was relaxed and plentiful. A delightful stay and we will most definately return.

Room Tip: Garden view was lovely but they do have some four posters
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was our second stay at this beautiful hotel at the entrance to Waddeson manor.
A small hotel but very comfortable. Rooms are charming and well equipped- we stayed both in the main house and the annexe which is recently refurbished to a high standard. We love having tea or drinks outside or on the terrace and the garden is a delight. For us the crowning glory is the restaurant and on each occasion we have been impressed with the quality of the food, the wine and the service. It's a bit quirky but full of character and different to the main chain hotels. You also get a pass to the gardens of Waddeson Manor- well worth going. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

From a warm welcome to wishes for a good journey home, we had an excellent two night stay. Room 6 was of adequate size with a really comfortable bed. It is on the side of the hotel and not affected much by road noise even with the windows open because of the heat. A fan was provided which was very much needed. The bathroom was a good size with plenty of storage for toiletries but the rain shower was more like a fine drizzle shower. Water pressure was poor in the bath as well so a bath took ages to fill.
If that was the only negative point about the accommodation, there were no negative issues with the food. Although the menu is not long, we easily found something for each night. Every dish was beautifully presented, excellently cooked and tasted wonderful. The wine list was extensive but had a wide range of prices. The standard of food was also high at breakfast. Service was attentive but not overbearing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Picturesque place, good standard of amenities, good food but staff really need to improve the standard of service. We had a pleasant enough stay but it could have been better. Be aware of the surcharges added for 'service' in the restaurant. We had already factored in the 10% service charge into our dinner allowance but they still wanted this added on again. They did eventually relent but we had to make a fuss.

Room Tip: The rooms in the original hotel building are nicer than in the new build wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spavisitor2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waddesdon
4.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lion Waddesdon
The Lion Waddesdon
#2 of 2 in Waddesdon
83 reviews
11.4 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
194 reviews
9.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
498 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#3 of 6 in Aylesbury
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Arrows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Arrows Hotel

Property: Five Arrows Hotel
Address: High Street, Waddesdon HP18 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Waddesdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waddesdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Arrows Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Arrows Hotel and Restaurant stands at the gates of Waddesdon Manor offering 16 bedrooms of character and charm. The Restaurant has a varied and exciting menu to suit all tastes, and a wine list that encompasses everyday and rare wines from both New and Old World vineyards. Whether you merely pop in for coffee or tea, or come to dine and stay the night, we aim to make you comfortable and very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Five Arrows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Waddesdon
Five Arrows Hotel Waddesdon, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing