We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old hotel”
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winslow
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Always friendly place to visit.food plenty on the plate and well presented pub food.
Had Christmas dinner with family 2012- great value for the money and all left pleasently full.Considering returning this year. Going a bit on the pink.
Love the coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here while visiting family on a visit from the US. My Dad booked our room for us which was upstairs. I am notoriously fussy about hotel rooms, but was very pleasantly surprised - our room was attractive, spacious, comfortable and clean.
We had our baby with us and the hotel provided a crib for her and the staff fussed over her during our stay - the lady at breakfast offered to boil her bottle each morning at breakfast and one day when she was hungry before the kitchen was open the owner rushed off to make her (a very good) grilled cheese sandwich.
The really pleasant surprise was the food. We were there for the Sunday roast dinner and it was amazing. I over ate the Yorkshire puddings, because they were wonderful. Actually it was all wonderful.
We ate dinner at the Inn every night as our video baby monitor reached to the lounge so we could sit downstairs while the baby slept. It was really excellent pub food and reasonably priced. It was a very nice surprise just how good it was. My husband was obsessed with the mushroom risotto and I loved the fresh fish. It was all absolutely delicious.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay. I was nervous not being involved in picking where we were going to stay, but we really couldn't have been happier with the Bell.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobokenkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The wife and myself travelled to see see parents and thought we would stay at the Bell Hotel we phoned ahead for a few requests and Poppy on reception looked after us (Thankyou Poppy) we stayed in one of the courtyard rooms it was basic but had everything you needed! If you get the chance and they have the room go for an executive room! Breakfast was buffet style fresh sliced bread,Scrambled Egg,Beans,Grilled Tomato,Mushrooms,Bacon,Sausage also cereal if you want it!There was loads of free parking onsite also quite a few local shops ect we felt that the people that run the place look after their guests and customers very well we will return! Meant to add the coffee machine inside is a fantastic idea. :0)

Room Tip: Go for an executive room if you can get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barkelbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed at the Bell over the weekend of the MotoGP at Silverstone and it was really busy. Despite this we were given a very warm welcome by staff who maintained their demeanour all weekend despite being rushed off their feet. The bar was particularly busy on the Friday but we had no problems getting served. The bar has a large selection of draught beer and real ales which I can recommend. The hotel itself wouldn't be out of place in a Harry Potter novel, it seems to have been possibly an old coaching inn and doesn't have a straight line in the place. All the rooms I was in have original oak beams which add to the atmosphere. Our bedroom was large enough with comfortable beds but a rather compact bathroom. No worries there, we're not fat. The bar meals were very good and inexpensive but perhaps the breakfast might have been better although I wouldn't consider it bad and, for sure, I never went hungry. As for the Tchibo coffee machine, it's a 2 star hotel not the Ritz, and I would far rather stay at the Bell than the Ritz, value for money and quality of staff make it 4 stars for me.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for one night before a wedding food was good, the room comfortable the jacuzzi bath was a bonus. The breakfast was ok but could have been better but all in all cant complain and would recommend.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend due to it's proximity to Silverstone, for which it is ideal, only a 15 minute drive to the circuit. And within walking distance of The Bell there are 3 pubs, an Indian restaurant, 3 takeaways and a convenience store.
The staff at this hotel really were great, they're a true asset, friendly, courteous and helpful on arrival, and through out our stay. They even put on an early 7am breakfast for us race-goers to fuel up upon, which was really appreciated.
That's the pleasing side....
The hotel itself is right on top of a sharp bend on the main road, and due to Winslow's rural location we had heavy farm traffic thundering past our room near continuously til the small hours, then starting again at dawn.
The room we had was tired, tired decor, a tired bathroom with fittings coming off the wall, tired beds that had seen comfier days, and towels that had the texture of 120 grit sandpaper.
It did feel like the hotel itself was letting the great staff down.
Would I stay again? Yes; nothing was so bad that it detracted from what the people who run the Bell Hotel are clearly trying to achieve.
Would I recommend the Bell? Yes; if you're needing a stopover for Silverstone, it's ideal.... For any other vacation? Like the farm traffic, I'd pass by.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This was just a one night stop. Sometimes you take pot luck with this type of pub with rooms hotel. We were lucky. It is very traditional, a Georgian (18th century) building with sympathetic, older modernisation. Our room was clean, but not spotless and comfortable with everything working as it should.

Being an old building, there are plenty of steep stairs, but part of the charm.

We had dinner in the restaurant, which is good quality pub food. On arrival, we were told that there would be a delay as they were extremely busy. In fact, the food turned up within 15 minutes, was freshly cooked, generous portions and tasty.

Breakfast was a bit indifferent - cotton wool scrambled eggs, overcooked bacon and "emulsified fat tubes" sausages (fans of 'Yes Minister' will recognise what I am talking about).

Good value and free onsite private parking. One that I would stay at again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinw1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winslow
2 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,479 reviews
6.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
326 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Buckingham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Buckingham
Travelodge Buckingham
#2 of 4 in Buckingham
124 reviews
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
6.9 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: Market Square, Winslow MK18 3AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Winslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winslow
Price Range: £57 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell Hotel comprises of 39 bedrooms, with a function room, bar, Restaurant, Carvery restaurant, Pie Shop and Afternoon Teas. The hotel is ideally located for anyone wanting a Milton Keynes, Buckingham or Aylesbury hotel or for those visiting local attractions including Silverstone, Stone, Waddesdon Manor and Bicester Village. Bar Food is served daily until 9pm, with breakfast options available until 3pm including our breakfast buffet until 10am. Our restaurant is Toby's at The Bell which serves fine English Cuisine in our traditional restaurant. We also have a carvery available on a Friday and Saturday evening, and Sunday lunch. Afternoon Tea is available Tuesday - Saturday in our lovely Verney Bar and coffee lounge. The Bell Pie Shop serves award winning pies available to take away, or dine in from our bar menu. Our 39 bedrooms are all individually decorated in a traditional way. We have single, double, twin, family and executive rooms with Jacuzzi and four poster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Winslow, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing