We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gallows Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Fenstanton B&B and Inns
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Situate just of the A14 easy to find, and was a welcome sight on a very wet dark Friday evening after travelling a long distance. Nice welcome and the room was very cosy and clean. Jug of fresh milk for tea- great touch wish more places would do this rather than the horrible plastic pots of "milk".
Breakfast cooked to order. very good as well.
All for a very good price.
Recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    9
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
13
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

dont be put off by the name ! this is a very friendly and quaint guest house in a lovely english village,we were texted earlier in the day to see what time we would be arriving (the owner does not live on premises)we arrived a bit earlier than we anticipated but this was no trouble to a lovely woman called Sarah who meet us ,showed us to our room and informed us to the best pubs in the village!the room was clean,nicely decorated,the bath and shower are probably the best we have had when staying in hotels/b&bs etc,bed was very comfortable,breakfast was excellent,be warned though mobile phone and tv reception is very poor in the area and as it was a sunday there was nowhere to eat locally ,would recommend this place to anyone ,the King William pub is a very good,friendly pub within a couple of mins walk,plenty of parking nearby,one more thing our sat nav took us to a differant part of village,dont know why we imputted the one advertised

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gocart57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Making a decision between a bed and breakfast and a chain hotel was difficult for me. I have never been sorry to have chosen The Gallows Guest House. It is an excellent choice for a bed and breakfast atmosphere and allowed us to enjoy the immediate villages easily and with great memories to take home to North Carolina. We had a king size bed and a nice bathroom, our elderly father had a great double bed on the first floor. Sarah, the house mgr, was gracious and accommodating. Her English breakfast was great. Just a block down the street is free wi fi and excellent food at the King William. St.Ives, Houghton, Huntingdon, Cambridge, Hemingford Grey, minutes away and more fine dining.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We used this B and B after visiting relatives in St. Neots. Quite handy not too far from their home We arrived late but were welcomed by the owner who was very friendly and helpful. The premises are also handy for pubs and eateries in the village. We had a room at the front overlooking the road which was a bit noisy especially as the catch on the sash windows was broken. Room was well appointed but hair dryer had a broken switch which apparently had been pointed out before. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here for a family wedding in St Ives and our whole family took over the B & B, we were warmly welcomed when we arrived and immediately felt at home. All of the rooms were beautifully furnished and very clean and comfortable. This is a lovely little village with everything on your doorstep, we enjoyed an evening meal at the King William pub, all the locals are very friendly, we will definately be re-visiting this little gem.

Room Tip: All rooms face out on to the main road, so you can be prone to some traffic noise, but ut's real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The Gallows Guest House is situated next door to a pub in a quiet village with two or three other pubs. We were greeted on arrival and the person showed us to our room and suggested we use the local pub for dinner; this was also enjoyable in a perfect village setting.
The customer service we recieved at the Gallows was excellent and we were really made to feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We were asked what we would like for breakfast and as well as a cooked english we also were able to help ourselves to fruit and cereal.
The room was clean & tidy room and to a high standard of finish as well as a satisfactory size. The bed was comfy and the onsuite was clean and to our standard.
Parking is roadside but we didnt find this a problem as it appears only local traffic use this road.
Over all an enjoyable stay and good value for money we would return again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinkerbellT045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

First impressions were a bit dissapoiniting, our room was nice but on the main road,which was busier than I thought. The bin had dirty tissues in it, and the milk was out of date.The owners only come in the morning so we had to buy some milk. The room decor was nice and the ensuite was large. The breakfast was nice as well, I had trouble sleeping though because the bed was a bit hard for me and I'm not use to road traffic noise.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeycoolcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenstanton
6.5 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
13.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
5.0 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ramada Cambridge
Ramada Cambridge
#1 of 1 in Boxworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Blue Cow
The Blue Cow
#1 of 1 in Fenstanton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales
The Prince of Wales
#1 of 1 in Hilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Guest House

Property: Gallows Guest House
Address: 13 High Street, Fenstanton PE28 9LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Fenstanton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fenstanton
Hotel Class:3 star — Gallows Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing