We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gallows Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Fenstanton B&B and Inns
Chatham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice to be back”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We enjoyed another overnight stop at the Gallows. It has had a fresh lick of paint since our last trip. It is lovely to relax in this original beamed period property. We packed directly outside again and traffic as before was very light overnight. Breakfast was delicious. The housekeeper arrived very quickly to greet us after our call to her ( number on the front door) and the whole place was stick and span. The Tv is a little dated but free WiFi . Perhaps some small faults could be found but we paid more at the nearby hotel chain for a dirty, shabby room and no breakfast. The gallows gives excellent value for money. Our elderly parents, who came on our other visits, much enjoyed the comfort and quality in their ground floor rooms and they are not easy to please!
The street also has a Post office, chemist, corner shop, bakery and pub which does food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    9
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
13
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago for 2 nights and it is probably by far, the best place i have stayed! The Guest House is beautiful inside with original beams and there is a courtyard garden outside. The price was extremely reasonable and the lady who greeted us and served us throughout our stay was very friendly and polite and cooked us an amazing breakfast! The room was very clean and quiet and i felt very comfortable. I have family who have moved to the Cambridge area and i will definitely be staying here every time i visit. It took us about 10-15 mins to drive into Cambridge. I would 100% reccommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Greeted by the rude innkeeper, who told us to be very quiet as there was a young family in the room next door (who kept US up all night as it turns out). The room was awfully out of date, the tv was tiny and buzzed all night and the controller was very difficult to use and had no battery cover on it. The beds didn't have a headboard and slid around the room. Furthermore, no duvets were provided, we only had blankets on the bed which I feel isn't particularly hygienic (although they were clean). The view from the bedroom was grim (a very dank looking industrial estate). The bathroom was quite definitely the worst element though... There was no shower curtain and the toilet was positioned under a very low roof meaning that we bumped our heads continuously. Compliments on the breakfast however, this was reasonable. Overall this guest house is okay, nothing horrific, but I would not stay again on account of the fact that it was too expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York Beach, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a lovely old house dating back 300 years! Many renovations have been made to the guest rooms and they are quite nice! Beamed ceilings and wooden floors. Very nice ambiance! Charming and Quaint!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We visited for one night in December for an event nearby and prebooked by email. Our room was very comfortable and clean with a nice en suite and a walk in wardrobe with lighting, mirror and ironing facilities. The B&B is on the highstreet, which was very pretty with a very cosy pub, The Wellington, within walking distance that also had a restaurant. We drove a couple of miles to Hemingford Grey for dinner at the exceptional pub/restaurant The Cock -highly recommended. We paid £65 for our room which was great value and included a very nice continental and cooked English breakfast next morning. The owners do not live on site but were there to welcome us to the B&B and cook us breakfast next morning. We really enjoyed our stay and would book again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We loved this beamed house with inglenook fireplace. The delightful lady who let us in was very helpful and cooked a delicious breakfast and put out all the extras of cereals, fruit etc.
We had a very large double bed. Comfortable bed but we would have preferred a duvet to the blankets. Some traffic noise upstairs but not too disturbing and we understand the rooms downstairs are double glazed.
The room was warm and clean. Coverlet beginning to show it's age but shiny wooden floors. If I'd was fussy the shower could have had the limescale cleaned off but fluffy white towels.
We found the position convenient and parked easily directly outside opposite a pub and a great bakery a few doors along.
We stayed here after a terrible experience at the Fenstanton Travellodge ( dirty and uncomfortable) which had cost us more without breakfast!
We will certainly stay there again and want to bring other family next time. I might just pop a duvet in the car though although my husband slept like a log.

Room Tip: Downstairs is double glazed. There is no fitness centre or pool but cannot remove the 1 star rating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were going to a friends party in Fenstanton and this B&B was just up the road. Luckily we could leave our car in their drive as there is no parking with this B&B. The room was ok, a little tired looking. Tv was dated and the controller had tape over the back or the batteries would have fallen out. The bed was sheet and blankets, which I prefer a duvet as you never know what other people have done with the blankets! The bathroom was ok, but only shower gel and bubble bath (no shampoo) which is the first time I have been to a hotel or B&B without any. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was nice, with all you would need. We asked for 9.30 but was told latest was 9.15. Think as it was sunday they could have stretched extra 15mins but it wasnt a problem. This is ok for a one night stay but dont think I would have wanted to stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane2715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenstanton
3.3 mi away
Ramada Cambridge
Ramada Cambridge
#1 of 1 in Boxworth
496 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Swavesey
1.7 mi away
The Dolphin
The Dolphin
#3 of 4 in St Ives
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Huntingdon Fenstanton
5.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
0.2 mi away
The Blue Cow
The Blue Cow
#1 of 1 in Fenstanton
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Guest House

Property: Gallows Guest House
Address: 13 High Street, Fenstanton PE28 9LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Fenstanton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fenstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gallows Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Gallows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing