We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for touring”
Review of Springfield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Springfield House
Ranked #2 of 2 Linton B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
491 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Good location for touring”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed here as it is very close to Duxford, Audley End and Cambridge.

Our room had a 6 foot bed, rather soft, but we did sleep well, there is a small flat screen TV with freeview, tea and coffee, with fresh milk offered, adequate en suite with aqualisier shower over bath.

It's in a very quiet location at the end of a no through road, with plenty of parking, nice pub a two minute walk away called The Crown Inn.

Breakfast is served in a very nice dinning room over looking the beautiful gardens, it was very well cooked, pipping hot and plenty to set you up for the day.

Your hosts are very friendly

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacandhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith R, Owner at Springfield House, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Hi. So glad you enjoyed your stay - yes Linton is a good location for a lot of local attractions.
Best regards, Judith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
26
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poway, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My friends and I had a great stay at this marvelous English country house and garden. I would definitely recommend it. Springfield house is close enough to Cambridge to make it a good base yet far enough away to make it feel like you are truly experiencing the "real England." Our room was on the second floor of the main house (there were 3 floors and 2 wings to this house). It overlooked a beautiful English garden complete with weeping willow and river views. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and quiet. The bed was fine and the duvet was luxurious. My main worry was would the water in England be hot enough for me as it is quite cold there compared to where I'm from. Needless to say there was plenty of (very) hot water available in the morning. We had tea and coffee making facilities in the room and there was a television as well. Granted it was a bit small but hey, I'm not visiting England to view their television! The one thing I was grateful for was internet access which I needed to keep up with emails, etc. Access to the wireless internet cost me nothing which is a bonus in my book! Breakfast was similar to what you'd expect in England (bacon, eggs, toast, etc). However, there was a great selection of fruit, cereal and yogurt...not to mention some darn good coffee! The owner is very amiable and helpful. She was full of great suggestions for us as to what to do and see in the area. Note: Do not forget to ask her about parking tips in Cambridge...these were helpful indeed! This B&B was one of the nicest my friends and I stayed at during our visit to the UK and was also one of the cheapest. We actually found Springfield house in Alastair Sawdays Special Places to Stay in the UK and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this gem to anyone.

Room Tip: If you can, book one of the front rooms. They've both got a great view of the garden and the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calibeatlesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith R, Owner at Springfield House, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Hi Dawn,
Thank you for the lovely review - so helpful for other guests. And we're glad you had a good stay - we really enjoy helping people make the most of their visit.
Best wishes,
Judith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

unlike some of the other reviews , we didnt find the stay very comfortable. the bed was old and too soft,it was a very interesting house but the stairs were quite steep so not recommended if you have difficuly climbing them.We didnt have any milk on our tray for the morning. The breakfast table was long with all the guests sitting together where we would prefer individual tables, it was laid out very nice with silverware but we found it to be a bit too "posh" for us.The garden was amazing more like a small park, there wasnt much to do in Linton but we were able to pick up a bus up the road which took us into Cambridge.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dissapointed65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith R, Owner at Springfield House, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Hi, I'm so sorry Springfield House wasn't right for you but i'm glad you enjoyed our garden.
Best regards,
Judith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The rooms were comfortable in this charming B&B. Breakfast was leisurely and well served. The large gardens were a pleasure. The village itself was an unexpected attraction - an excellent place to stay so near to Cambridge ... don't expect a 'power shower' but extremely good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights in December 2009 and was delighted with this little "gem". I originally searched for somewhere to stay in Cambridge itself but found that prices were very high even for very below average establishments.

Springfield House is tucked away at the bottom of a lane (easily accessed from the High Street). The owner is a lovely lady, kind, friendly and very helpful. breakfasts were delicious. Prices very, very reasonable The house is beautiful and the rooms are all large and well kept. the garden and grounds are lovely, I should imagine it would be an idyllic spot in spring/summer, December is not the best month of the year but even so it was still very pleasant. The village is easily accessible from Cambridge itself, there are two buses every hour to and from Linton, journey is approximately 25 mins. The Crown pub in the village serves beautiful food, desserts are to die for!! there is also a very good beauty salon which provides a range of excellent treatments for those who are interested, I had a wonderful facial, one of the best i have ever had, in fact. The countryside surrounding Linton is really beautiful and it would be worth spending a few days visiting nearby historic villages and towns, in addition to cambridge itself.

I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B which is mentioned in Alastair Sawdays Special places to Visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maureennich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, E.Sussex
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We have stayed at Springfield twice in the last 10 years and could not wish for a better place to stay. The bedroom was spacious with antique furniture and quality bedlinen. There were many homely touches in the room which made it truly feel like welcoming.
The breakfasts were top quality and served in an elegant dining room around a large antique table beautifully laid out with top quality tableware.
After breakfast you can stroll across the lawn down to the River Cam or take a circular walk around Linton and the surrounding countryside.
For evening meals there is an excellent Pub near-bye which serves a good range of Pub Grub.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bluejazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

I have stayed at Springfield House many times. It is a beautiful and elegant house, full of lovely antique furniture and big squashy beds!! There are at least four rooms, 2 ensuite and I've stayed in all of them. Each room has lovely tea tray with china cups, saucers and tea pots rather than the usual boring pot - its the little touches like this which I think makes it so special.

The grounds are also lovely, with the lawn sweeping down to the river. Unfortunately, I've never made it in summer but have been told by other guests (who also stay repeatedly) that is has some really nice walks.

  • Liked — Victorian Elegance, super hostess, great location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rips2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linton
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
4.1 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
171 reviews
5.2 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Three Hills
The Three Hills
#1 of 2 in Bartlow
16 reviews
3.1 mi away
Old Red Lion Inn
Old Red Lion Inn
#1 of 3 in Horseheath
122 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Black Bull Balsham
The Black Bull Balsham
#1 of 2 in Balsham
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield House

Property: Springfield House
Address: 14-16 Horn Lane, Linton CB21 4HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Linton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Linton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfield House is an 1840 Regency-style period home within the conservation area of Linton near Cambridge (approx 8 miles). There are two en-suite double bedrooms, one with a view of the River Granta and open countryside beyond, the other larger room overlooks a delightful enclosed garden. We also have a twin room with separate shower room. There are large gardens beside the river Granta, conservatory and drawing room are available for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Springfield House Linton, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing