We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and friendly, good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dorset House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Shelford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dorset House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Shelford
Sidmouth, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly, good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

Situated in a pretty location convenient for Cambridge, this guest house was spotlessly clean and the facilities were good for the price. The proprietors were friendly and helpful and there were good local pubs for evening food. It is fairly close to the M11; so there was some road noise, but not enough to worry us inside the house. We certainly slept better here than we have anywhere except home. All in all we thought it was very good value.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    0
    0
    10
See reviews for
9
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

We have given full marks to this guest house, it's in a lovely area close to Cambridge, not far from Stanstedand and very close to the Duxford air field. Excellent breakfast in a lovely sunny positioned dinning room, enough to last throughout the day. The owners are very friendly, and go out of their way to be of assistance.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedtoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

This hotel was by FAR the cleanest, most well organised ,b&b I have EVER stayed in ,and I have stayed in lots ,the lady was lovely ,very welcoming,the room was immaculate,the breakfast was lovely ,why this hotel has comments like it has I really do not know, I read them 3 days before we were due to stay and I was in panic ,I had no need to panic ,I would stay there anytime and if we go in the area again we will certainly stay there again ,I would like to say a big thank you from myself and my family ,a LOVELY lady ,a Perfect b&b

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthYorkshireLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p5h
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

This B&B is in the small village of Little Shelford on the south side of Cambridge. The village is very beautiful, and we particular enjoyed taking a short walk to the Navigator pub to enjoy some rather delicious Thai food.

We stayed in the "small double" bedroom, which was perfectly comfortable. The only thing particularly small is the en-suite bathroom, but other than that the room is very nice with great views over the garden.

The landlady is a real character, she couldn't do enough for us and made us feel very welcome. The B&B does have a few rules, but we didn't have any problems with that.

And last but not least, the breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
150 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Nice location on the outskirts of Cambs, nice building and very clean if chintzy old fashioned rooms.

What really makes this place stick out is the very poor concept of customer service that the owners (particularly the female) have. To be told upon arriving to "re-park the car to make it absolutely straight" and "remove your shoes", is rather strange but it was a sign of worse things to come.

The hosts charge quite a lot for accomodation that is in a remote location and treat guests like they are a complete inconvenience. As other guests have mentioned BEWARE THE CURFEW!!!! We returned in the middle of the day to collect medication as one of our party was ill and were shrieked at by landlady "WHAT ARE YOU DOING HERE?" This is not only an old fashioned unacceptable practice in this modern age but also very rude.

We felt completely uncomfortable as a result of this behaviour, it was like treading on egg shells around someone who was unstable and decided to leave.

The breakfast wasn't great, rather greasy.

Looking back, the sheer madness of the place now makes me laugh, but at the time we felt really unsafe in such a volatile environment. I am clearly not the only guest to share such an experience.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrLawBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Little Shelford hotels

St-Niklaas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

Very friendly hostess. She makes you feel like being home from the first minutes on. Although the man of the house was hospitalized, the lady of the house supported us an excellent breakfast and allround service! We couldn't ask for more luxury in a B&B. Highly recommended! Greetings from Belgium!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

we ran away. the landlady is surreal. Positively the worst place I have ever been. She runs a curfew . beware not to turn up between 10am and 5pm..you will get shouted at. She is so rude it was funny. I suggest someone does a documentary on this place. Its a gem

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank fencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppycambs, Owner at Dorset House, responded to this review, 6 August 2009
I would like to point out that at no time in 19 years have i raised my voice to any guest.These particular guests wanted to stay in bed until it suited them,not have their room cleaned and come and go as they please.I pointed out that my helper came in every morning at ten fifteen to clean the rooms. I could give them a slightly later breakfast if they wanted it.They chose to go to find a travel lodge,i said thankyou and goodby.How could they say it was surrealy bad when they had only just arrived.?There was no shouting or rudeness on any part. We have a beautiful spotlessly clean well kept house in lovely grounds,run a very successful bed and breakfast and thankfully disgruntled guests are few and far between,most being lovely people and a pleasure to have in our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Shelford
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
4.0 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
3.3 mi away
Helen Hotel
Helen Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset House

Property: Dorset House
Address: 35 Newton Road, Little Shelford CB22 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Little Shelford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Shelford
Number of rooms: 91
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing