We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herbie's American Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Herbie's American Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We visited Herbies today at lunch time for the first time since it has changed to an American Diner. Overall we were very impressed, especially with the service which was excellent and the main courses which were both very good - chicken fajitas and rack of ribs. The starters were average - potato skins and nachos - although both were a good size I must admit to having had better - although that is not to say they were bad.

I would definitely recommend you try here if you like this type of food, which I do!

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    35
    20
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great place, go on give it a try...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had been meaning to try Herbies for some time. We eventually did. It was great.
The menu had so many appetising dishes it was difficult to decide on what to have. Eventually I chose the steak. I have to say it was the best steak I have had in a long time.
The service was excellent, the staff pleasant and attentive but not overly so.
The sweet menu, again so much choice and all sounded wonderful.
if you are passing, drop in and give it a go, you will not be dissapointed. we will definately go back again, and soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Swiftnick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Highly recommended, great food, great staff, great place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

A spontaneous trip to Herbie's and wasn't disappointed.
There was a wide selection of meals on the menu, normally It doesn't take me long to choose my meal but this time I was spoilt for choice. The food was outstanding, it arrived in no time at all.

I would recommend this place to any one. Suitable for all ages.

I will be returning again, in fact I might even return this weekend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bammer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask anymore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

On our way back from Duxford on Sunday we stopped off at Herbie's. we sat outside on the benches which was great. There is a large kids play area too.

It was a delight. Staff were great, attentive but not overly. Food was hot and tasty and well presented. We had small nachos to start which were hot, had tasty cheese and the best guacamole I've tasted.

Mains came out on time ( advised it would be 10 mins between courses). My full rack of ribs were served on a wooden board with homemade coleslaw and Onion rings. The ribs were soft, hot and in a good but thankfully not swimming pool amount of BBQ sauce. Didn't need a knife which is always a good sign.

My wife's blackened salmon (cajun spiced) was really fresh and tickled her tasty buds. We shared the jacket potato which was ideal for the ribs.

Banana Split on the desert menu!! More restaurants take note - this is the daddy on Sundaes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireSykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

i went to herbbise for lunch food was realy nice i had the sub roll was realy good and my partner had the bourboun bugger was realy nice to the staff were realy frendley and help full deserts were good to over all this would realy recamend it to every one keep up the good work

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Herbie's American Bar & Grill also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Melbourn, Cambridgeshire
 
Melbourn, Cambridgeshire
Melbourn, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing