We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ŵedding at Sheene Mill!”
Review of Sheene Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheene Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melbourn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I held our wedding reception at Sheene Mill on the 19th of May and it was absolutely fantastic! As others have said, Emma (and Hope in the later stages) were brilliant organisers and they really thought of everything. All our guests commented on what a lovely venue Sheene Mill was; especially the beautiful grounds and delicious, hearty food. The rooms, although a little tired in parts (excepting the bridal suite which is gorgeous), are a good size and comfortable, plus they are great value for the Cambridge area. I wouldn't hesitate in reccommending the venue for any occasion, be it a meal, weekend stay or a wedding. Thanks to all the staff there for making it the best weekend for our lives. Anna and Matt

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lovetravelling71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Arrived mid afternoon and was pleased with the location and weather.
Shown to our room - The Emmanuel Room designed by David Emmanuel - unfortunately quite a few years ago - very tired and cheap looking. Finishing touches done cheaply and not properly, stained carpet too. Screen door between bedroom and bathroom so no privacy whatsoever!! The only plus points were the lovely view and the comfy bed.
Nice bar/conservatory area.
Our evening meal was ok - nothing special though. Again the restaurant area is very tired and lacking atmosphere. The owners here are missing out on a great opportunity to get themselves a superb little hotel/restaurant. Some decoration, re-organisation and paint would make such a difference.
The staff on the otherhand were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us which was nice.
Wouldn't stay here again though as too expensive for what it is - 10 years out of date - but soooo much potential.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penguin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

We are the new owners of The Sheene Mill since 2/1/2013 and we are dedicated to transforming the building back to its former glory.

We are really sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as fantastic as we would expect. We have watched the building decline over the years as we live locally. Now we have the opportunity to fix all the things that were done wrong in the past... and we have already done a great deal in a short space.

I really hope that you can come and try us again.

Regards

Serena & Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We have just had our wedding at Sheene Mill and we really have had the best day of our lives. The staff are absolutely fantastic, Emma our wedding co-ordinator has been so helpful and so quick to reply to my many pre wedding emails which has helped so much. All of our guests have commented on how beautiful the venue is and we were so lucky with the weather we able to have our ceremony outside next to the full river and really take advantage of the stunning grounds. The food was fantastic and again we have had our guests comment on how lovely it was. I would recommend this venue to anyone, it really is beautiful. Thank you to Emma and all the staff at Sheene Mill for making our day perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I got married on the 6th May at Sheene Mill. It was fantastic, some of our guests booked in for the saturday and sunday night and everyone commented on how fantastic the staff were, the setting was beautiful with the river, the rooms were lovely, clean and spacious and the food was outstanding.

Emma and Hope our wedding co ordinators were fantastic and made our day so special. The service couldn't be faulted, all of the staff were amazing and we couldn't have asked anymore from them.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone, whether they are looking for a room for the night, an evening out as the restaurant is amazing or even for a beautiful wedding setting. It caters for everything.

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely, clean and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n_ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I am getting married at the end of September in a village near to Sheene Mill. On the way back from a meeting at our wedding venue we visited Sheene Mill to look at the quality of the rooms with a view to booking all of the rooms for us and our immediate family on the night of our wedding. I had rang the night before and was told all rooms were available on the night I wanted. When we looked around Sheene Mill we were told all rooms were available and during email correspondence after we were still told all rooms were available. We also wanted some rooms the night before our wedding and this wasn't mentioned to be a problem. I rang to secure the booking by giving my credit card details which were taken without hesitation. I then get the following email:
'I’ve just checked the system & unfortunately on the 21st we are fully booked as we have an event. However all rooms are available for the 22nd September.'
It was annoying that the night before was booked up but never mind,
I then get another email a few moments later:
'Sorry it’s me again,
It’s a good job I have checked as it hasn’t been put on our system, the Friday & the Saturday are booked out, one being an event & the other a wedding.'
Quite frankly I am disgusted that my credit card details were taken and availability was only double checked after. I feel completely mislead. The incompetence and disorganisation of the Sheene Mill staff has wasted a great deal of my time, something you are short of when planning a wedding! I pity the couple who have booked Sheene Mill for their actual wedding. Secretly I am quite glad to now have an excuse to stay somewhere nicer on my wedding night, we were happy to stay there because of the proximity to our wedding venue and the cheap rooms (we asked if they could offer us a better rate and were offered £80 a night-so always worth asking if they will give you this price). Do not be deceived by the photographs on their website, the hotel is actually quite tired. I await a promised phone call from the manager to assure me that my credit card details have not been misused.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank FigNewton86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Firstly my Sat Nav took me to the next Village and I used the Post Code!, I blame BMW for that and not the hotel. Incidentally the receptionist was brilliant as she talked me through on the phone and I finally found the hotel.
Checked in about 11:30am and the Receptionist showed us to our room. First impressions, not good, the room was very dated and the bed was hard as nails. The bathroom was very small, the shower didn't have a great deal of power but this is an old property so it wasn't the end of the world. Anyway quick change and down to the bar to meet all our other friends who had booked the other 8 rooms. First pint was poor so swapped to bottles, Stella was 6 months out of date. We advised the Bar Manager who kindly offered us a Peroni as an alternative and said he wouldn't charge us for the Peroni, we did laugh, did he think we'd pay for it?

Didn't sleep too well in hard bed, pillows were also very hard. The radiators made a lot of noise about 6am but at least we were warm.

Breakfast was very good so can't complain here and the general service at the hotel was good. To be honest all our party had similar thoughts to mine, although 1 room had a water bed, that could have been fun.

So in summary, not worth the £100 a night, more like £60.

Room Tip: Ask for the water bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essexbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

We are the new owners of The Sheene Mill since 2/1/2013 and we are dedicated to transforming the building back to its former glory.

We are really sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as fantastic as we would expect. We have watched the building decline over the years as we live locally. Now we have the opportunity to fix all the things that were done wrong in the past... and we have already done a great deal in a short space.

I really hope that you can come and try us again.

Regards

Serena & Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We got married on 21 April 2012 at the Sheene Mill, I cannot begin to tell you how perfect it was. From the moment we looked round, the Mill's wedding co-ordinators, Emma and Hope, were there to take care of every detail. Absolutely nothing was overlooked and the staff could not have been more accommodating to make sure we had the most special wedding day that was exactly as we wanted it.

Their help and experience was absolutely invaluable and made it so enjoyable to plan our wedding with them. Despite having a baby between when we booked and our wedding day, Emma was on the end of our every email and didn't give us the chance to get stressed about anything.

Unfortunately we are in a drought and the river is almost completely dry but the setting, despite this, is absolutely beautiful, this is just one of its many fantastic features which include, but are not limited to, the garden, the conservatory, the beautiful fireplace off the reception area, and the stunning individually designed rooms (the bridal suit was designed by Princess Diana's wedding dress designer and is beautiful). Please believe me when I say letting the temporary drying of the river impact your decision of whether or not to stay or book a wedding here is really a loss for you. Lets face it the river drying up is as a result of weather, and if such a superficial thing as not having the right whether is going to spoil the best day of your life perhaps your reasons for getting married are all wrong!

I must also say that the food is outstanding and for exclusive use of the hotel the price per head is definitely worth the money. Our guests commented on so many occasions about how fantastic it was and the fact that they had a choice for every course.

We, the new Mr and Mrs Porter, would like once again to thank everyone at Sheene Mill for helping us to enjoy the most special day of our lives with our friends and family.

Daniel and Rebecca Porter.

xxxxx

ps we will be back for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourn
9.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,416 reviews
6.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
336 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
12.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
10.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheene Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheene Mill

Address: 37-39 Station Road, Melbourn SG8 6DX, England (Formerly The Sheene Mill Restaurant & Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Melbourn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melbourn
Price Range: £80 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheene Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location, this Grade 2 listed mill is a superb spot to enjoy a Romantic Break, a Wedding, a Birthday Celebration or any event you can think of! Our strong kitchen team use only the finest seasonal produce, sourced locally to create genuinely imaginative modern dishes that delight and inspire. The eloquent food is matched perfectly by the attentive staff. Always on hand to help in any way possible, the Sheene Mill staff pride themselves in offering the highest standard of service throughout the bar and restaurant. Sheene Mill offers its guests the choice of nine bedrooms, each with en-suite facilities. Each room is individually designed and complements the original features of the building, all with views of the hotel grounds and tranquil mill pond, creating an atmosphere of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Sheene Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheene Mill Hotel And Restaurant
Sheene Mill Melbourn, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing