We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous setting - great restaurant”
Review of Sheene Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheene Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melbourn
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous setting - great restaurant”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I went there for our Wedding Anniversary dinner and it couldn't have been better. Great setting, wonderful service and good food. Well worth a visit and the staff are so friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tottrhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    48
    28
    17
    11
See reviews for
47
94
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Relax and unwind in this warm and friendly grade 2 listed hotel, set in stunning gardens, you can chill in the snug or sip wine by the duck pond.With a holiday feel in summer or cosy, homely feel in winter, with it's open fires and subdued lighting. We took full advantage of the restaurants wide menu and the food didn't disappoint, very nice and of a high standard, plus great value. The staff are attentive, helpful and friendly, adding an almost family attmospher. The rooms are clean and fresh with breakfast included in the very reasonable price. I really liked this little place, and would stay again. Would I recomend.......Yes, without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were a large group of 13 and the staff and food were very good as was the ambience. The only thing that shocked me was that a couple of days later we received a phone call stating that we had not paid for a round of drinks. Whilst the restaurant admitted it was their fault they still charged us the full amount. I think charging us cost price as a good will gesture would have been more appropriate, after all we could have refused to pay as it was their fault.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyStevenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steeple Morden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We held our Silver Wedding lunch on Sunday 23rd June 2013, here and I could not recommend it enough. The food, the service, the staff were all excellent - and they even managed sunshine!
A lovely, lovely day and I am already wondering what event to celebrate next so we can come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Many years ago I worked at Sheene Mill and was very impressed when I went back for a weekend.
Lovely outside decked area to sit and chill by the mill pond with Will the swan.The staff were all very pleasant and looked after us throughout our weekend.
The menus are very impressive and when the food arrived it didn't disappoint..excellent all round.
I had heard it was under new management and after the customer care,quailty of the food and lovely surroundings I hope The Sheene Mill is back on the map.
I would highly recommend visiting Sheene Mill for a fantastic experience with eating or a weekend break.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank streekybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Lovely restaurant in beautiful surroundings, just a shame about the service!

Food was very nice, starters arrived and couldn’t be faulted, but sadly it then went all down hill from there.

Our mains arrived beautifully presented, well the one and a half meals they brought to us as sadly my girlfriend meal was missing its vegetables. We were then blatantly ignored for the next hour by the waiting staff who were happy to serve the other 7 tables with their drinks and food, leaving myself drink less for the most part of the hour. When we did manage to catch a waiters eye it was for them to clear our table leaving us both sitting there for another 45 mins before asking us if we would like some desert!!

Somewhat to the waiters surprise we refused to have desert as we had appointments in Cambridge the next morning and didn’t want to be still sat at the table awaiting our deserts.

Paid the bill, minus any gratuity and left.

EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS LEVEL OF SERVICE AND WILL NEVER RETURN!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Paul,

I am very sorry to hear that you felt as though you were left out. I can assure you that we have taken this feedback seriously and put strict timing checks in place to prevent this from ever happening in the future.

I'm sure that if you gave us a chance in the future we would provide you with the dessert that you weren't able to have on us!

Regards

Adam Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Now under new management with Serena and Jordan, this is well worth a visit. We have been several times for a meal and have not been disappointed. Interesting menu, excellent food and very good value on Mondays where there is a limited choice 3 course meal for £17 - needless to say you need to book!

It is a lovely location overlooking the mill pond- staff are friendly andparking is easy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourn
6.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
9.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheene Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheene Mill

Property: Sheene Mill
Address: 37-39 Station Road, Melbourn SG8 6DX, England (Formerly The Sheene Mill Restaurant & Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Melbourn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melbourn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheene Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location, this Grade 2 listed mill is a superb spot to enjoy a Romantic Break, a Wedding, a Birthday Celebration or any event you can think of! Our strong kitchen team use only the finest seasonal produce, sourced locally to create genuinely imaginative modern dishes that delight and inspire. The eloquent food is matched perfectly by the attentive staff. Always on hand to help in any way possible, the Sheene Mill staff pride themselves in offering the highest standard of service throughout the bar and restaurant. Sheene Mill offers its guests the choice of nine bedrooms, each with en-suite facilities. Each room is individually designed and complements the original features of the building, all with views of the hotel grounds and tranquil mill pond, creating an atmosphere of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sheene Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheene Mill Hotel And Restaurant
Sheene Mill Melbourn, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing