We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of Sheene Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheene Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melbourn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My son had his wedding at the Sheene Mill recently. The setting was stunning, the staff headed by the wedding co ordinator were delightful, giving excellent service throughout the day and at breakfast the next morning. The all helped to make it a memorable occasion for all our family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floramarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at The Sheene Mill. The staff were all smiles and couldn't have been more helpful, the room was delightful and I was lucky enough to enjoy a view of the pretty millpond. The glamourous young proprietors were on hand to offer a truly personal service and dinner was absolutely delicious. I loved the quirky building with it's cosy lounge and in contrast it's contemporary outside seating area with cushioned corner sofa to enjoy the charming gardens. Although there was a little noise from the nearby road, this is completely outweighed by all other aspects and I would recommend this establishment without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamlyn Dixon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

-Room advertised as being superior & designed by David Emanuel probably was a many years ago know looks tired .Bathroom um if you want privacy while you take your morning ablutions there is none the bathroom door consists of a latice work double swing door not practical at all.
- Bottom sheet was stained with a dried wet patch ! nice.
-Breakfast .....Be warned if you are asuming that you will receive a full english which is included in the B&B price you will be wrong an additional £5.95 will be charged.You will be offerd the continental breakfast consisting of a 2 poached eggs on toat and a Selection of cold meats nil void unless asked for, crossants burnt , danish pastries undeliverd so nil void ! need i say more .
Over all felt total ripped off and miss sold 2 night stay B & B £230.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finleysnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you so much for your review.

We have made several changes since your visit which I am sure you would be delighted with. We hope that you return to see the changes!

The Emmanuel suite has had significant investment to ensure that it is up to our high standards. All breakfast options are now included with your staff... for FREE.

I am sure that with the changes made a visit in the future would delight a great deal more.

Regards

Adam Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A truly magnificent venue. Staff worked so hard to make everything special. Food excellent. The whole day was beautifully managed and we had the added bonus of sunshine. Nothing to fault at all. A huge thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My daughter held her wedding there and it was a fantastic day. The setting was wonderful the staff could not do enough for you.
I cannot praise Sheene Mill enough from the dealings beforehand up to and including the morning after we could not have wished for more. They made the day even more perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiezclibbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I went there for our Wedding Anniversary dinner and it couldn't have been better. Great setting, wonderful service and good food. Well worth a visit and the staff are so friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tottrhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Relax and unwind in this warm and friendly grade 2 listed hotel, set in stunning gardens, you can chill in the snug or sip wine by the duck pond.With a holiday feel in summer or cosy, homely feel in winter, with it's open fires and subdued lighting. We took full advantage of the restaurants wide menu and the food didn't disappoint, very nice and of a high standard, plus great value. The staff are attentive, helpful and friendly, adding an almost family attmospher. The rooms are clean and fresh with breakfast included in the very reasonable price. I really liked this little place, and would stay again. Would I recomend.......Yes, without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourn
12.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
9.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
6.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
343 reviews
10 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheene Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheene Mill

Address: 37-39 Station Road, Melbourn SG8 6DX, England (Formerly The Sheene Mill Restaurant & Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Melbourn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melbourn
Price Range: £75 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheene Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location, this Grade 2 listed mill is a superb spot to enjoy a Romantic Break, a Wedding, a Birthday Celebration or any event you can think of! Our strong kitchen team use only the finest seasonal produce, sourced locally to create genuinely imaginative modern dishes that delight and inspire. The eloquent food is matched perfectly by the attentive staff. Always on hand to help in any way possible, the Sheene Mill staff pride themselves in offering the highest standard of service throughout the bar and restaurant. Sheene Mill offers its guests the choice of nine bedrooms, each with en-suite facilities. Each room is individually designed and complements the original features of the building, all with views of the hotel grounds and tranquil mill pond, creating an atmosphere of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Sheene Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheene Mill Hotel And Restaurant
Sheene Mill Melbourn, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing