We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let me tell you about the Restaurant”
Review of Sheene Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheene Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melbourn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Well, ok. Yeah, let me tell you about this place.

Seems to be run by a young, slightly scary couple. I'm being mean here, they were nice. The woman is very well made up you see, a little bit too much, like if I were to strike a match she'd go up in one huge fireball. Haha, no, I'm joking. But hey I'm in Melbourn, this place is for rich farmers with an NVQ in horticulture or something.

The food.. .yeah... I'm sure it was good, I don't remember it that well but I had no complaints. The table was clearly outdoor furniture with a fancy table cloth, set in a poorly designed conservatory extension. But did that detract from our evening? Maybe my evening but no one else's.

Something really stole the show for me, something that bought this place a 4 star rating from me (which is a good rating, thanks in advance) which was the swan. I basically never donate to charity but I did donate to this swan's fund. He provided me with endless entertainment as I sat for what seemed like an aeon in the waiting lounge (waiting for my table). He pecked the glass, danced around, generally demanded attention. I imagine if you went outside into the child's scrapbook of a garden with its garish purple and green lights, you'd swiftly have your behind kicked by this bad bad swan.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Jean,

Thanks for your review. I hope I'm not the scary owner you mentioned lol... I don't think we are as you visited us in October 2012 and we only took over in January 2013.

Well the good news is that lots of things have happened since your visit. We still have "Will" the Swan, the food has got even better with new menus, the rooms have all received some TLC and I'm sure that we would now get that 5 star rating from you!

We hope to see you again!

Regards

Adam Jordan
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We recently celebrated at the Sheen Mill for lunch prior to going on holiday from Stansted. It is a lovely spot, a beautifully furnished dining room, with a simple elegance. Stunning views over the lovely rear gardens and pond. The table decorations and floral arrangements contribute to a very refined atmosphere. The menu is extensive and the dishes very well balanced (we didn't opt for side dishes, they really weren't needed). Each plate was beautifully presented and the food imaginatively arranged with excellent use of edible flowers to make the plates look especially pretty. The produce was of the highest quality and they are proud to name their suppliers. The service was fine, but not especially warm on this occasion (that said they were preparing for a large wedding reception). The desserts were particularly delicious (I have a very sweet tooth). All in all it was a lovely place for a celebration. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creteboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Went for lunch to celebrate my birthday and everything was perfect, including the weather.
The meal was superb, the setting fantastic and the service excellent. We will certainly visit again. I recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a special treat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jacjoy115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My boyfriend came up trumps by arranging two nights at this hotel and proposing to me! He couldn't have found a better place at which to do it. It's a beautiful old property in wonderful surroundings ... so romantic! The staff were young, friendly and professional (the barman even stopped to say hello when driving past us in the village on our last morning!). The restaurant food was beautifully presented and delicious.

My new fiancé has done me proud! I wonder if he'll now arrange the wedding ...

Room Tip: The hotel is under new management and I believe the rooms are gradually being refurbished. We overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise77734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My son had his wedding at the Sheene Mill recently. The setting was stunning, the staff headed by the wedding co ordinator were delightful, giving excellent service throughout the day and at breakfast the next morning. The all helped to make it a memorable occasion for all our family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floramarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at The Sheene Mill. The staff were all smiles and couldn't have been more helpful, the room was delightful and I was lucky enough to enjoy a view of the pretty millpond. The glamourous young proprietors were on hand to offer a truly personal service and dinner was absolutely delicious. I loved the quirky building with it's cosy lounge and in contrast it's contemporary outside seating area with cushioned corner sofa to enjoy the charming gardens. Although there was a little noise from the nearby road, this is completely outweighed by all other aspects and I would recommend this establishment without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamlyn Dixon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

-Room advertised as being superior & designed by David Emanuel probably was a many years ago know looks tired .Bathroom um if you want privacy while you take your morning ablutions there is none the bathroom door consists of a latice work double swing door not practical at all.
- Bottom sheet was stained with a dried wet patch ! nice.
-Breakfast .....Be warned if you are asuming that you will receive a full english which is included in the B&B price you will be wrong an additional £5.95 will be charged.You will be offerd the continental breakfast consisting of a 2 poached eggs on toat and a Selection of cold meats nil void unless asked for, crossants burnt , danish pastries undeliverd so nil void ! need i say more .
Over all felt total ripped off and miss sold 2 night stay B & B £230.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finleysnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you so much for your review.

We have made several changes since your visit which I am sure you would be delighted with. We hope that you return to see the changes!

The Emmanuel suite has had significant investment to ensure that it is up to our high standards. All breakfast options are now included with your staff... for FREE.

I am sure that with the changes made a visit in the future would delight a great deal more.

Regards

Adam Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourn
12.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
9.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
6.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
343 reviews
10 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheene Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheene Mill

Address: 37-39 Station Road, Melbourn SG8 6DX, England (Formerly The Sheene Mill Restaurant & Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Melbourn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melbourn
Price Range: £74 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheene Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location, this Grade 2 listed mill is a superb spot to enjoy a Romantic Break, a Wedding, a Birthday Celebration or any event you can think of! Our strong kitchen team use only the finest seasonal produce, sourced locally to create genuinely imaginative modern dishes that delight and inspire. The eloquent food is matched perfectly by the attentive staff. Always on hand to help in any way possible, the Sheene Mill staff pride themselves in offering the highest standard of service throughout the bar and restaurant. Sheene Mill offers its guests the choice of nine bedrooms, each with en-suite facilities. Each room is individually designed and complements the original features of the building, all with views of the hotel grounds and tranquil mill pond, creating an atmosphere of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Sheene Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheene Mill Hotel And Restaurant
Sheene Mill Melbourn, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing