We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect wedding venue!”
Review of Sheene Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheene Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melbourn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Never have I ever seen such a beautiful setting for a wedding venue to be held at. I attended my friends wedding last night and the entire evening was just PERFECT! The food was stunning! and the entire place was like a fairy tale with fairy lights and candles. So romantic!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stephanie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We will ensure that the team hear about the great effort that was made and we hope to see you again in the future. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have visited this restaurant twice since moving to the area and on both occasions have had a fantastic experience.

Our first experience was a surprise 60th birthday dinner for my mother-in-law back in January of this year. I liaised with the events manager Emma to organise the evening and she could not do enough for us. We had a number of quite complex dietary requirements, which they took on board and we did not need to remind them on the evening; they immediately spoke to the people concerned to ensure there was plenty of choice from the menu. They were also willing for the guests to choose between a set menu and the usual evening a la carte menu.

As for the food on the evening, this was outstanding. My main of venison was cooked to perfection and I have never tasted such a flavoursome jus.

Our second visit was today (bank holiday Monday) for a relaxed long lunch with friends. Again, the food was delicious. All I would say is that the service was not quite as attentive as on previous occasions; we asked for water for the table on two occasions however never received it. When it appeared on our bill the waitress did apologise which was appreciated. There was also not a great waiting presence throughout the meal; we were not asked whether the food was ok and we had no opportunity to ask for more drinks until our mains were cleared.

In terms of service our second visit was perhaps not quite as good however without a shadow of a doubt I would return for t he spectacular food and it is certainly an excellent location for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Frangipan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

We are all delighted to hear that you had a wonderful event at The Sheene Mill. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you in the not so distant future. Regards Adam Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My daughter's wedding was held here last Saturday, and I can only say that the venue was perfect. The day was organised and choreographed by Emma, the wedding organiser, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Her whole team were friendly, helpful, and extremely efficient. Several guests approached us afterwards to say that it was the best wedding they had ever been to. The food was delicious and plentiful. The layout of the buildings is ideal for a wedding, with lots of different areas for guests to get together 'away from the main action' should they wish to and the gardens look lovely at this time of year, The icing on the cake (excuse pun) was the view from the decking at the rear of the hotel after it got dark, as the lake and grounds were beautifully (and subtly) illuminated. Well done Sheene Mill for making it such a special day..

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words. I will make sure that Emma and the team are all aware of what a great job that they did. We hope to see you in the future. Regards Adam Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Went here for afternoon tea last Sunday, first impressions fantastic, lovely setting table looked out onto the beautiful lake and table presented nicely. The first waitress that served us our drinks was very friendly. The disappointment came when they brought the food out. There was only 2 sandwiches: ham and mustard or smoked salmon. I have been for a few afternoon teas now and there has always been a variety of different sandwiches. None of our table of 5 like smoked salmon and was a waste. The selection of cake was extremely poor and some very dry and hard. We then got told that even though the bill included an optional 10% service charge we had to pay it and that it was not optional.
I was really looking forward to this afternoon especially as it was for a birthday and just felt extremely let down. This hotel is in a beautiful setting but the food and service does not reflect this.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Lindsey1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

I am sorry to hear that there appears to have been mistakes on our behalf with your afternoon tea. I can assure you that the spec and also communication has been discussed, improved and implemented already. We hope that you can return to enjoy afternoon tea with us in the future. Regards Adam Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had our wedding reception here on the 1st March and I can honestly say hand on heart, I couldn't fault a single thing. The rooms are totally charming and individual and all our guests were really happy with theirs. The staff here are extremely friendly, attentive and professional - nothing is too much trouble and the venue are lucky to have such a brilliant events manager in Emma. She was fantastic and made the whole process so smooth and stress free. All our guests were so impressed by the food, which was on par with many top London restaurants, by no means standard fare you sometimes get at a wedding. The breakfast of eggs royale we had the next morning was one of the best breakfasts we've ever had and it was the perfect end to an incredible celebration. This is a beautiful venue and with great hospitality, can't wait to go back. Top marks to everyone at Sheene Mill!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReenaRibena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

You found the hidden gem! We are so happy that your whole experience was enjoyable and we hope to see you in the near future. Regards Adam Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We recently had a reception here after the sad occasion of a funeral. It was the perfect venue; the beautiful setting, the attentive staff, and the food all made for a very good send off. Even the weather was kind to us and guests enjoyed sitting outside on the decking by the little lake. The occasion certainly lifted everyone's spirits! Thank you Emma, the events organiser.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mpandrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words. I will pass this on to Emma and the team. Regards Adam Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Amazing night. Me and my boyfriend wanted a night away and wanted to treat ourselves. We ate at the restaurant before staying over. Food was gorgeous! Presentation and taste was just great. Such a nice feel to the whole place. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

Room were full of character. Clean and comfortable. We had a great view from our window out onto the lake.

Breakfast also top notch. Eggs Benedict-delicious.
Will def be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dani15187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. Just because you see us as top notch doesn't mean that we wont stop pushing for more so we hope to see you in the future. Regards Adam Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourn
12.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
9.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
6.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
343 reviews
10 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheene Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheene Mill

Address: 37-39 Station Road, Melbourn SG8 6DX, England (Formerly The Sheene Mill Restaurant & Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Melbourn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melbourn
Price Range: £75 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheene Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location, this Grade 2 listed mill is a superb spot to enjoy a Romantic Break, a Wedding, a Birthday Celebration or any event you can think of! Our strong kitchen team use only the finest seasonal produce, sourced locally to create genuinely imaginative modern dishes that delight and inspire. The eloquent food is matched perfectly by the attentive staff. Always on hand to help in any way possible, the Sheene Mill staff pride themselves in offering the highest standard of service throughout the bar and restaurant. Sheene Mill offers its guests the choice of nine bedrooms, each with en-suite facilities. Each room is individually designed and complements the original features of the building, all with views of the hotel grounds and tranquil mill pond, creating an atmosphere of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Sheene Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheene Mill Hotel And Restaurant
Sheene Mill Melbourn, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing