We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheene Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheene Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melbourn
Certificate of Excellence
switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My two friends and I went to Sheene Mill for lunch last Friday. It was the second time my friends had been and my first. The setting is really beautiful with a river and lots of bird life including a very grumpy swan.. The menu was slightly confusing with little stars signifying the special offer two and three course lunch deals. But the staff explained it to us and we worked it out. I think just an extra sheet with the itemised specials would be easier.

The food when it arrived was absolutely delicious. I was very very impressed . I had a Lemon Possett for dessert and it was the best dessert I have ever had ... I am going to be cheeky and pop in and ask for the recipe. The service was great and the staff friendly. We had a lovely time and I can't wait to go back.
Top place... well done

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliayona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    46
    28
    16
    10
See reviews for
47
90
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

All my high expectations were reached for our wedding at Sheene Mill in May 2014. If you are looking for a venue where the staff and service are of exemplary level this is the perfect location.

From start to finish, Emma, the wedding coordinator could not do enough for us. Each and every question was answered with speed and accuracy and our requests were listened to incorporated into our day.

Credit to Serena and Jordan, they have reformed The Sheene Mill to its former glory. The aesthetic changes made throughout the time from booking to wedding improved week on week. Serena also created the perfect balance of presence on every visit, making you aware she was very much hands on in the hotel, without unnecessary intrusion.

Staff on the day were fantastic and extremely well managed. They moved seamlessly from person to person and attending their needs discretely and with great efficiency.

The food was fantastic and commented on by so many of our guests. Great portions, cooked to perfection and the head chef was of great assistance with our menu choices and changes.

On reading previous reviews it is true that the bar is a little overpriced however in comparison to other wedding venues and remembering this is a hotel it is somewhat relative to where this compared to.

Again to provide a full 360 review, some of the hotel rooms are a little small and a little tired. It is important to consider that this is a boutique hotel and guests need to consider they are not going to be provided with the generic bedding, room structure, amenities of a Hilton Honours. The unique dressing of the rooms add to the charm of the location.

I can not speak highly enough for Sheene Mill and already considering reasons such as birthdays, anniversaries etc to have another celebration there.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank XJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this review, 14 September 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words in your review. We hope that you get the chance to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were recently at the venue for a wedding with our 8 week old son. The venue is set in a beautiful area, but the place itself is let down by a few things. It is had very narrow doors which could clearly have done some with repair and no space or facilities for anyone in a wheelchair or with a push chair. The drinks were vastly over priced with a glass of coke costing over £4 which they then promptly poured from a £1.50 bottle right in front of us.

When I approached staff for a location to change our son's nappy, we were pointed to the nearest toilets. There were no changing facilities anywhere and the toilets themselves were so small, you couldn't even kneel to change them on the (rather dirty and urine soaked) floor. When I re-approached the staff, I was treated with utter contempt and asked why I couldn't change him on the floor of the conservatory, surrounded by numerous wedding guests.

Having a child here was clearly nothing but an inconvenience with zero provisioning for those with families, we did see one other father choosing to change his son on the floor out of protest, which pretty summed up the general attitude towards the place. Still, at least the swans outside looked happy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliensurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
I'm sorry that you feel as though we don't like children... this isn't the case. As you can appreciate the building is 400 years old and doesn't provide many opportunities to create baby changing areas etc. We know this is a downfall of our venue but we do always try and accommodate as much as possible. We are undergoing improvements to our toilets and plan to incorporate and folding baby changing station into this.

Regards Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding breakfast here 25 years ago virtually to the day, and thought it was high time we went back. This time for dinner and an overnight stay. Our room, Emmanuel, was quirky and functional with lovely views over the gardens and river. We took pre-dinner drinks on the terrace and complimentary canapés were provided, which were delicious. We both opted for the scallops and fillet steak and were shown to a lovely little table tucked into an alcove in the restaurant. The scallops were very tasty and served with a pea purée and a few pea shoots and foam. I could not help thinking however that the dish was lacking something and wish I had queried it at the time. It was only when the menu arrived again to select puddings that we realised that no pancetta was served with the scallops, as was advertised on the menu. This was pointed out to the waitress at the pudding order stage who simply said she would 'tell the chef'. A twofold disappointment here really, insofar as there is clearly no quality control in the kitchen as staff failed to notice something as obvious as pancetta missing from the top of scallops and secondly, we
clearly did not get what was advertised. A gesture of sorts should have been offered here but was not and we did not want to make a fuss and potentially spoil our evening. The main course of steak was superb however, the loveliest we have enjoyed in a while and we could not fault it. We shared some ice team/sorbet for pudding which was nice. Waiting staff were friendly and efficient.
Enjoyed a comfortable night's sleep and woke up to bird song and a lot of rain. We took breakfast early, certainly before other guests and the fresh fruit, 'pastries' and cured meats selection was quite disappointing and very limited. Cooked breakfast to order is provided though which, apart from the bacon which not only did not look very appetising (not grilled) but also lacked flavour, was okay but overall the breakfast experience here is nothing to write home about.
We will come back here again however, maybe for lunch and bring the grown up children next time.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acrobatic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at The Sheene Mill for one night as we had friends who live near by who was having a 40th birthday party at The Heath in Royston. All our local friends said this was the nicest and most posh hotel in the area, albeit, not much choice.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the receptionist who took us straight to a standard room. We paid £105 for the night including breakfast, continental or full English.
The room was very small with a nice new bed. A beautiful view out to the back of the hotel overlooking the river Mel. The gardens were beautifully kept.
The wardrobe doors, bathroom door and the front door all clashed so there were wear and tear marks on all the doors. All these doors were old and need updating. The room had a hair dryer from the seventies and a small TV. The bathroom needed updating and the shower head was pretty useless as hard water had clogged up 80% of the nozzle. Bonus is they have Aromatherpy Associates soap in the bathroom. Also shower caps and shampoo are provided.
No one is on watch at night so they provide a front door key for you if you arrive back late.
Sleeped like a baby and woke to the sound of birds and swans.
We didn't eat in the restaurant for dinner but had breakfast in the morning. Lovely looking restaurant with nice features. They serve it until 10am. Arrived at 9.50 and had the entire place to ourselves. I'm not sure how often this restaurant is used as the wine glasses on our table were full of dust. No waitress was around so we checked another tables glasses and they were the same, and another and another. Ended up blowing in them and cleaning them ourselves. Easy thing to do if they just lay the tables to sit there is to have the glasses upside down to avoid this. Also our table had no serviettes so I had to grab a pair from the table next to me. Tea was served in a pot but no milk was provided so we had to go to the main serving area and pour from a large jug into the teacup and walk back to the table.
They supplied a menu with around 10 cooked options and continental options were laid out in the restaurant. I had the full English and my fiancée had porridge with honey and berries. The porridge came out with no honey or berries so we sent this back. The waitress apologised on the chefs behalf. The full English breakfast was ok but I was not offered tomato ketchup which I believe is always an option for full English breakfast.
The person on the front desk was also our waitress and also our porter so she works very hard. The staff are very friendly but the lack of small details like the dusty glasses, old bashed up doors, clogged up shower head, missing ingredients made this hotel lack the 4 out of 5 it deserves.
We have another party in Dec this year in the area and we are going to give them another chance to redeem themselves. I have booked a superior room this time round for £115. I will negotiate this price for next time as I feel from the small problems we had and now being returning customers they will look after us. We may also book the restaurant for Saturday night next time.
Overall I liked the location but those small things which cost nothing to replace can make you think twice about returning.
The local cab service in the area is so expensive. A taxi to The Heath was £13, returned at 1am £18. It is 7 mins up the road!

Room Tip: Go for the superior room for £10 more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dazzarapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We attended a wedding here recently and venue is excellent and lively settings. What let the whole day down was the cost of drinks at the bar. £4.50 for a pint of coke poured from a 1.5ltr bottle that costs 1.50. A pint of beer is cheaper than that. It is now a venue that you can walk to and have to drive, so they are taking advantage of this fact.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We celebrated our wedding at Sheene Mill on Saturday and it was the most amazing experience, I could not recommend it more!

Emma, the wedding coordinator, is really helpful and she comes with a aura of organised calm which is something I've never been able to master myself! We literally 'dumped' all our decorations with a to do list and when we arrived the place looked absolutely beautiful and just how I imagined!

Our sneak peak at our photographs show off the amazing setting at its best and we had so many compliments from guests about the lovely venue.

Thank you to all the team at the Sheene Mill for great service and a fabulous day!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 666MrsS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We will ensure that the team hear about the great effort that was made and we hope to see you again in the future. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourn
6.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
7.9 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheene Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheene Mill

Property: Sheene Mill
Address: 37-39 Station Road, Melbourn SG8 6DX, England (Formerly The Sheene Mill Restaurant & Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Melbourn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melbourn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheene Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location, this Grade 2 listed mill is a superb spot to enjoy a Romantic Break, a Wedding, a Birthday Celebration or any event you can think of! Our strong kitchen team use only the finest seasonal produce, sourced locally to create genuinely imaginative modern dishes that delight and inspire. The eloquent food is matched perfectly by the attentive staff. Always on hand to help in any way possible, the Sheene Mill staff pride themselves in offering the highest standard of service throughout the bar and restaurant. Sheene Mill offers its guests the choice of nine bedrooms, each with en-suite facilities. Each room is individually designed and complements the original features of the building, all with views of the hotel grounds and tranquil mill pond, creating an atmosphere of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sheene Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheene Mill Hotel And Restaurant
Sheene Mill Melbourn, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing