We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic place”
Review of Sheene Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sheene Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melbourn
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A fantastic place”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have been visiting the Sheene Mill for almost twenty years and have seen it through a few ups and downs. However, under the current leadership it is back to its' very best. We eat in the restaurant reasonably often and if is consistently good - good food and wonderful service.

Against this back drop we decided to have our silver wedding party at the hotel - taking over the hotel for the evening. We had the most fabulous time. Emma who organises the events is superb, she works incredibly hard to make sure that your event is just as you would hope it should be. Serena who now runs the hotel is also highly visible and works also to make sure what you feel that they really do care that you have a wonderful time.

We took all the hotel rooms and our experience was good. Yes, they are quirky but then again by his is hardly surprising, it is an old building. Certainly they are clean and very comfortable.

The food for our party was outstanding, as was the service. If you want your guests to feel that they are being well looked after this is really is the place for you.

So I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sheene Mill, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    48
    28
    17
    11
See reviews for
47
94
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at The Sheen, as we wanted to be close to Cambridge, yet in a nice quiet rural / village atmosphere. The Sheen exceeded our expectations in most ways.
Our room, the David Emanuel room was very nice. A spacious room with beautiful decor ( designed by David Emanuel). The Food would have to rate as first class with it being such a high standard in both the quality of its cooking and it's presentation.
The staff made us feel very welcome, especially John (from the kitchen) who all helped to make our stay so memorable. Thank you all for such a pleasant stay.
Our only negative comment is due to the Hotel adding an "optional 'Service Fee' of 10% to the Restaurant fee........this has taken the shine off what was an awesome stay.
I found this to be extremely 'cheeky' for the establishment ( any establishment) to assume that I would pay a tip and automatically add this to my bill.
I had these ( one for each nights meals) removed and suggested to the Receptionist ( who was one of the staff who gave us exceptional service during our stay ) that I had intended to tip because we had had such a pleasant stay....and this tip I would have offered to the staff directly, not to be added to an overall bill that may or may not reach those who I actually wanted it to.
I also may have wanted to give more or less than a 10% tip to various members due to the amount of Service / contact we had with each individual.....regardless, it should be for the guest to decide whether or not to tip...not for it to be automatically add / assumed.
I appreciate that adding it to the bill is an easier method to pay....and this should be offered should the customer wish to tip, again not automatically add.
For us, this took the shine off what was otherwise a wonderful stay, in a wonderful Hotel, in a wonderful village......and we will try to book in again when we next visit the UK.

Room Tip: Check your bill for 'optional' fees
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at Sheen Mill in June 2014. The hotel is a quaint English country style hotel with a stream and ducks/swans. The staff are very friendly and on a lovely summers day it was very picturesque. We are at a wedding (not at Sheen Mill) so had a quick drink there before heading to the wedding. We asked for some bar snacks and crisps and were given 2 small bowls (about 10cm in diameter) of crisps, I am presumed handmade crisps, some were not crunchy but later found out from our bill they were £1.50 a bowl. The crisps were very average and at that price would have preferred a bag of Kettle crisps or similar! The staff leave at 1am so there is no room service or bar opened, plus there are 2 bottles of water/tea coffee in the room and no mini bar. So with no mini bar/hotel closes and no staff then you have to wait till breakfast for any food or additional water. The rooms however need seriously updated, it was like staying in an elderly persons room, tiny bathroom, dark, avocado bathroom suite, slightly fraying carpet, no aircon (however there was a fan in the cupboard. There was a dressing table with mirror and hairdryer which gave put lets watts then the fan. I tried to plug my own hair styling appliances in near the mirror however there was no plug sockets nearby and their hairdryer plug socket was behind a fixed partition. The bed however was very big and comfortable. Would I go back? yes for lunch, no to staying overnight.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misskh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just a note to thank you and your ‘team’ for a very pleasant lunch yesterday, good food and good, friendly service and a delightful ambience.
Just a note to thank you and your ‘team’ for a very pleasant lunch yesterday, good food and good, friendly service and a delightful ambience.
Well it had to be 200 minimum!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Procter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

stayed at Sheene Mill for a wedding celebration, lovely location overlooking a large lake, food was very good, friendly staff. we stayed overnight, as did a lot of the other guests, only thing the room we had at the top of the hotel, which had great view, had no stand up shower only a hand shower head over the bath. But we had a really nice time. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My two friends and I went to Sheene Mill for lunch last Friday. It was the second time my friends had been and my first. The setting is really beautiful with a river and lots of bird life including a very grumpy swan.. The menu was slightly confusing with little stars signifying the special offer two and three course lunch deals. But the staff explained it to us and we worked it out. I think just an extra sheet with the itemised specials would be easier.

The food when it arrived was absolutely delicious. I was very very impressed . I had a Lemon Possett for dessert and it was the best dessert I have ever had ... I am going to be cheeky and pop in and ask for the recipe. The service was great and the staff friendly. We had a lovely time and I can't wait to go back.
Top place... well done

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliayona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

All my high expectations were reached for our wedding at Sheene Mill in May 2014. If you are looking for a venue where the staff and service are of exemplary level this is the perfect location.

From start to finish, Emma, the wedding coordinator could not do enough for us. Each and every question was answered with speed and accuracy and our requests were listened to incorporated into our day.

Credit to Serena and Jordan, they have reformed The Sheene Mill to its former glory. The aesthetic changes made throughout the time from booking to wedding improved week on week. Serena also created the perfect balance of presence on every visit, making you aware she was very much hands on in the hotel, without unnecessary intrusion.

Staff on the day were fantastic and extremely well managed. They moved seamlessly from person to person and attending their needs discretely and with great efficiency.

The food was fantastic and commented on by so many of our guests. Great portions, cooked to perfection and the head chef was of great assistance with our menu choices and changes.

On reading previous reviews it is true that the bar is a little overpriced however in comparison to other wedding venues and remembering this is a hotel it is somewhat relative to where this compared to.

Again to provide a full 360 review, some of the hotel rooms are a little small and a little tired. It is important to consider that this is a boutique hotel and guests need to consider they are not going to be provided with the generic bedding, room structure, amenities of a Hilton Honours. The unique dressing of the rooms add to the charm of the location.

I can not speak highly enough for Sheene Mill and already considering reasons such as birthdays, anniversaries etc to have another celebration there.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank XJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenemillreception, Owner at Sheene Mill, responded to this review, 14 September 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words in your review. We hope that you get the chance to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourn
6.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
9.3 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheene Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheene Mill

Property: Sheene Mill
Address: 37-39 Station Road, Melbourn SG8 6DX, England (Formerly The Sheene Mill Restaurant & Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Melbourn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melbourn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheene Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location, this Grade 2 listed mill is a superb spot to enjoy a Romantic Break, a Wedding, a Birthday Celebration or any event you can think of! Our strong kitchen team use only the finest seasonal produce, sourced locally to create genuinely imaginative modern dishes that delight and inspire. The eloquent food is matched perfectly by the attentive staff. Always on hand to help in any way possible, the Sheene Mill staff pride themselves in offering the highest standard of service throughout the bar and restaurant. Sheene Mill offers its guests the choice of nine bedrooms, each with en-suite facilities. Each room is individually designed and complements the original features of the building, all with views of the hotel grounds and tranquil mill pond, creating an atmosphere of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sheene Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheene Mill Hotel And Restaurant
Sheene Mill Melbourn, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing