We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Sunday Lunch”

The Horseshoe Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 85 Restaurants in St Neots
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$47
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Set in the picturesque village of Offord D'Arcy between St Neots and Godmanchester, The Horseshoe successfully combines an old village pub and a gourmet restaurant. Known locally as The 'Shoe, the Grade 2 listed 395-year old period building has been extended but retains its original features and charm. The bars offer both low ceilings and rustic style, with exposed beams and Inglenook real fireplaces, whereas the restaurant has a part vaulted ceiling and a more recent design. The frequently changing menu allows you to experience internationally influenced dishes as well as the best of British cuisine. Dishes often carry a wine recommendation to help you choose the right selection. For around £25 to £30 per person, you can enjoy a three-course meal here, and should you choose something you don't like, they will offer you another choice! The Horseshoe really is lucky after all!
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We visit quite regularly for Sunday lunch, we always tend to book as it gets quite busy. The carvery is fab, and the chef who serves the meat etc is always really friendly and helpful. They are normally quite good at vegetarian options too and let you have the veggie main with the carvery veg, so that's always been popular with my non meat eating friends. They have only one just had pasta which was disappointing, but they did manage to come up with an alternative in the end. It's always very busy and the waiting staff are ok, but I can find the service a little slow on drinks orders etc, even with the footfall taken into account. The owners have done a great job with the pub and are really accommodating when we have been there. Would recommend :-)

Thank GMadcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Sincere Thanks for taking the time to provide a testimonial, it is much appreciated. We also appreciate your points raised and we are re-focussing on the choices and bar service during these busy periods. We have not done so many Pasta dishes on a Sunday due to the logistics of providing everything fresh. But we have a plan going forward. Over the last few weeks we have improved our veggy offering by making the choices a 'complete' meal with its own accompaniments, and bringing in Asian 'twists' such as the Biryani Pie from time to time. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
There are newer reviews for The Horseshoe Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 301 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Have eaten several times at the Shoe and the food is always excellent. However, I've noticed when dining during the week, especially in the evening, that they have minimal staff on according to what bookings they have. If you turn up without booking then there is a bit of a wait. Indeed, several people arriving went away when told they'd have to wait around 45 minutes. Therefore, make sure you book!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hello David W. Sincere thanks for taking the time to provide a testimonial. Your compliments regarding our food quality is much appreciated. You are also right that it is good advice to book a table in advance at The Shoe, even a phone call en route makes a difference. We normally have sufficient staff on duty for all occasions however it is true that we have been slightly short handed on a couple of evenings over the last two weeks due to staff absences. Even on these occasions no-one should have waited more than 20 minutes. However we take all feedback seriously and our team are trying harder to deliver consistent good timely service. Many thanks again. Ian & Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a pleasant meet up which we do every 3 months. There were 13 of us. A organiser, I do find the request for pre-order a pain and many of the Girls prefer not to. I can see why they ask but if we had come in in smaller groups it would not have been requested; after all, they did know that 13 of us were coming as it had been booked for a long time. I think they were slightly understaffed as we had to wait a while for things, but the food was good and it was nicely presented and we shall go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We much appreciate Alison's feedback as it helps us improve our communication processes. The pre-order choice is simply an option that can help the customer be served more time efficiently and more in unison if there is a larger group. All food is freshly prepared and some dishes do take longer than others. No-one has to advance order and taking the order at the table is fine with us if the customer appreciates that everything is cooked from fresh ingredients. As can be seen we take all feedback seriously and strive to improve daily. We much appreciate Alison's compliments about our food. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a lovely meal for Mother's Day. The service was excellent. Good choice of food from the carvery.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzi953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Running parallel with the A1 main road heading north towards Scotland is High Street, Offord D'Arcy. At No: 90 you will find this super inn - restaurant. I have eaten here quite a few times now and still cannot find fault with the food or service. From lunchtime snacks to a beautifully cooked dinner, the quality doesn't vary. There is a small, comfortable bar area and the restaurant area is planned to give the customers room to move. There is a large car park and you enter The Horseshoe from the car park side. It is only a short drive north from St. Neots or south from Huntingdon but whatever way you come from, it's well worth the trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horseshoe Restaurant also viewed

St Neots, Cambridgeshire
St Neots, Cambridgeshire
 
Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon
St Neots, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Horseshoe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing