We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Horseshoe Restaurant

The Horseshoe Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 79 Restaurants in St Neots
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$43
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Set in the picturesque village of Offord D'Arcy between St Neots and Godmanchester, The Horseshoe Inn Restaurant successfully combines an old village pub and a gourmet restaurant. Known locally as The 'Shoe, the 395-year old period building has been extended but retains much of the original features and charm. The bars offer both low ceilings and rustic style, with exposed beams with Inglenook fireplaces. The frequently changing menu allows you to experience internationally influenced dishes such as Thai green curry or fillet steak with potato rosti, spinach and a blue cheese and brandy sauce. Dishes often carry a wine recommendation on the menu to help you choose the right selection. For an average of $25 per person, you can enjoy a three-course meal here, and should you choose something you don't like, they will offer you another choice! The Horseshoe appears to be lucky after all!
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

On a business trip with a collegue we decided to use Trip Advisor to select our restaurants for the week. Our first night was here. Even though it was a Monday night there were still several occupied tables. We started with an couple of real ales from the large selection which were very nice. Starters were soup and whitebait, mains pork loin and the pie of the day all were fantasically cooked and presented. We even had a discount for ordering before 7:30 which was unexpected. The staff were friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anybody going to the area and will definately be back next time I am.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Much appreciated! Our team love feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    88
    23
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambs
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We dined here for the carvery for Fathers Day. The restaurant was obviously busy but everything appeared well managed and run. Food was very good, no complaints. The restaurant is clearly very popular and i can see why.

Nice big beer garden with small play area as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Much appreciated! Our team love feedback! Hurry back won't you?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurghada, Egypt
Level Contributor
106 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“First time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

As new to the area , we decided to visit for the first time ,and not dissapointed ,very nice inside ,not crowded in like some ,our choices for food was excellent ,3 fish and chips and a chicken and ceasar salad ,all very good ,,richard made us very welcome ,and will definitely go again Thanks for a good evening .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Sincere thanks for your 5 star review! Really means such a lot to us. Happy Team! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We frequent the Horseshoe and I felt should let people know how wonderful it is. The staff are always friendly, the food always excellent. We think the main menu is a little overpriced for the type of place it is (a very nice pub) but the early bird menu is great value for money (£10 for a meal and a drink) and is definitely worth paying the extra for a special occasion from the a la carte menu. Good wine and good ales. Huge beer garden and sport in the bar if you want it (separate bar if you don't!). Maybe slightly louder music and some special events (live music/family days) would increase atmosphere and bring more people in during the week as a suggestion as atmosphere doesn't always feel great, but if you want Sunday lunch book early - is always full!

Helpful?
Thank Jugson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Your review is much appreciated. Our front of house staff love it when they get compliments as indeed does Chef & his team. Your comments are noted. Our main menu features locally sourced fresh produce and everything is prepared from basic ingredients. Even the starters and desserts are chef prepared and cooked or baked on the premises. Nowadays being a 'nice pub' is not enough to survive so we focus heavily on great fresh food and service. We tried regular live music, unfortunately the cost of PRS licensing and band fees meant it was not commercially viable. We will, however seek to improve our background music and family days are a good idea. Sincere thanks again for your comments. Ian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McQueeny156
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a lovely place, found via tripadvisor and I was disappointed. Great service, great good and great atmosphere. Will definitely be back

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McQueeny156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian K, Owner at The Horseshoe Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Sincere thanks for taking the time to give us a testimonial. We do, of course, hope you meant 'not disappointed', looks like a typo missed out the 'not'. 'Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horseshoe Restaurant also viewed

St Neots, Cambridgeshire
St Neots, Cambridgeshire
 
St Neots, Cambridgeshire
Great Paxton, St Neots
 

Been to The Horseshoe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing