We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Eaton Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Eaton Oak
Ranked #2 of 3 St Neots B&B and Inns
Bedford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

waited at the table for 40 minutes and then had to go and find someone to take our orders. When the waitress (manageress?) arrived to take our orders she acted as if we were an inconvenience. Food was very bland when it finally arrived. Poor service throughout, food quality worse than a pub chain and not cheap either.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    22
    19
    12
    5
See reviews for
19
22
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Nice clean welcoming hotel on the outskirts of St Neots. Just a 20 minute walk down the hill to the town centre. Choice of several pubs and restaurants. The room was clean and well stocked, but with a very weak shower (no different to most o the rest of the UK). Pub restaurant foor options seemed good and reasonably priced (although i didnt have dinner there).
Breakfast freshly cooked to order, with good quality ingredients and friendly staff. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamBilgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed for two nights and will happily go back agan. Extreamly clean, very comfortable ensuite rooms. The breakfast was excellent. Great value for money. Very pleasant staff. Could not have asked for more from this pub/hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

We've stayed here before and it's always great value with extremely courteous and helpful staff. There's no other reason to stay anywhere else if you're in the area. Only comment would be that the shower curtain can grab you if you're not careful! Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jmbmwr1200gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

we have stayed at this hotel/pub/resturant a few times now.The beds are really comfortable,evening meals are good ,breakfast excellent and the staff are helpful and friendly .Last but not least really convenient for major roadways . we will be back

Room Tip: stayed in a few ,all as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kohn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

My husband and I stopped at The Eaton Oak recently as a convenient stop-over following a night out with friends.

From the outside the Eaton Oak is pretty as a picture, covered in ivy and colourful hanging baskets.
The welcome at the bar was warm and friendly. The barman dealt with our check-in in double quick time and showed us to our room.
The room itself was a little disappointing. The decor was dark and dated. Most of the lights didn't work, and those that did didn't really do much to brighten the room. The shower head was a bit grotty and could do with a good clean. The toilet flush didn't work properly, and it took about half a dozen flushes just to pull the toilet paper away. In the end we decided to use the toilet brush to force it down the pan, only to discover that clearly we weren't the first people to have had that idea, and some people had clearly tried pushing more than just toilet paper with it!
That aside, the bed was comfy and the linen crisp and clean, and we got a good night's sleep. The room would benefit from double or secondary glazing at some point, being as it is on the main entry and exit road to the A1, but admittedly the road noise is worse in the day than at night.

The restaurant in the evening was great. The food was plentiful and delicious, and the prices very reasonable. I ordered the fish and chips and the plate that arrived would have fed half the town! My only complaint is that there was so much I couldn't manage a dessert and I was so much looking forward to the strawberry and meringue roulade.

Breakfast at the Eaton Oak was very good. There was a reasonable selection of cereals and fruit juices, and a wonderful full English breakfast. Teas/coffees and a selection of toast was also forthcoming.

Overall, the Eaton Oak is sufficient, but it really is the pub/restaurant that redeems it. The accommodation acts as somewhere to put your head down at night. If they sort out their maintenance issues and have a bit of a redec it could be a really nice little B&B, but at the moment, would I choose to stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMuffin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We just stayed two nights at The Eaton Oak in Room One. It is situated on a roundabout, although not really busy or noisy or night. About 1 mile from St Neots centre

Good Points:
· Easy access from A1
· 4 mins drive from St Neots centre and river.
· All staff exceptionally polite and cheery.
· Cooked breakfasts were cooked fresh to order, cooked very nicely and excellent ingredients.
· The one evening meal we had was good too.
· 3 real ales on tap and nicely kept too.
· Comfortable informal seating areas with chairs, high bar stool tables and leather sofa's.
· Nice and private outside courtyard garden to eat or drink in when fine, which it was.

Room 1.
· A large room with an enormous very comfortable (if squeaky) bed.
· TV and radio reception were both good
· However, the corridor and Room 1 both had a slight camphor/mothball smell throughout, although not overbearing.
· The room needed re-decorating and re-furnishing, although had not quite reached 'shabby'.
· Bathroom nice and clean, although due for an overhaul (chipped bath and missing floor grouting)
· Curious green square carpet tiles for headboard full width of room - dust collectors and i would think probably a nightmare for asthmatics.
· Clothes steamer did not work..
· Dressing table light did not work.
· Shower hose leaked.
· None the faulty items were repaired when reported the first day.

£70 a night B&B per room for the two of us.
Would I stay here again? - definitely if Room 1 was refurbished.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beltandbraces59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Neots
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (Colmworth Park) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buckden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eaton Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eaton Oak

Property: The Eaton Oak
Address: Crosshall Road | Eaton Socon, St Neots PE19 7DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St Neots
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St Neots
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eaton Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Eaton Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eaton Oak St Neots, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing