We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, comfortable, home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Whitehouse Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 3 St Neots B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

About 30 mins before my arrival I received a text from Fleur (the owner) asking if I'd like a chicken dinner. OMGoodness was that welcome. B&B don't as a rule provide evening meals and yet Fleur was happy to do this and I am grateful that she did. My room was very comfortable. Bathroom was spotless with everything working as it should. Overall amazing value, and great service. Thanks Fleur, I'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

I can confirm what so many others have written before. This is a top rate B and B. My bedroom, although small, was very comfortable with an excellent bathroom and wonderful soft towels. Downstairs there was a well equipped kitchen and sitting room where I enjoyed a delicious take-away casserole dinner provided from a local firm and recommended by my hostess at incredible value. I strongly recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorset-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the Whitehouse Guesthouse and had a fantastic time. We were well looked after and the reception we recieved was lovely and welcoming. I would be happy to recommend this guesthouse to friends and family and we will definitely be returning the next time we decide to visit Cambridge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahRyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Whitehouse Guesthouse for 3 nights ( was only going to be 2 but we extended) and we can't speak highly enough about our experience. Fleur and Paul, the hosts, were so friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay memorable.
The facilities were great and having a kitchen was fantastic as we were able to cook our own evening meals, breakfast was included in the price and was truly amazing.
Maybe the bedrooms are a bit on the small side but this was not really an issue as there was a cosy sofa in the kitchen to watch TV on. (We chose the twin room which gives you a bit more room). The shower was great with plenty of pressure and hot water. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: Pick the twin room if you are not after a romantic getaway. Lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cpt58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We only stayed at the Whitehouse for one evening but were very happy with our stay. The bedroom was a bit small but the ensuite was excellent. Having a kitchen available to make a cup of tea and some toast in the evening was a bonus. The full English Breakfast was great and the hostess was very friendly. I wouldn't hestitate to recommend this for a stay.

Room Tip: See if the full double room is available as ours was OK but a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Booked a room online for a colleague, based on the reviews and then realised I'd booked the room, through my own ineptitude, for the wrong night. Not only was Fleur, most willing not to charge me for the error, she went out of her way to help me find another place for my colleague as her and her husband Paul, being fully booked didn't have any rooms available for the night in question. Fleur really made what was a stressful situation almost pleasant, and if this was any indication of how a paying guest would be treated I can whole heartedly recommend staying at the Whitehouse, as they go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. I will definitely be seeking a room on the right night should our representatives be in that area again! Top marks Fleur & Paul!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Berni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed this weekend at The Whitehouse so we could go and enjoy time in Cambridge, only half an hour away.
We had a lovely friendly welcome from Fleur who told us instantly that she'd given us a bigger room than the one we'd booked. She also told us all about the local eateries for the evening. We chose the local italian in St.Neots.
The rooms are very comfortable, contemporary and uncluttered. Our en-suite shower room was very clean with complementary essential extras in case you had forgotten yours! It was a good shower.
We shared our breakfast table in the kitchen with three other guests (all of us chatting away, really nice and friendly). It was a small kitchen belonging to the stable rooms we were in. It was help yourself teas and coffees and cereals, but also a great cooked breakfast came, yum!

We wouldn't hesitate to return there; great value for money, soft towels, runny eggs in the morning. All good. Thoroughly good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Neots
4.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Wyboston
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Eaton Oak
The Eaton Oak
#2 of 3 in St Neots
89 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (Colmworth Park) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Nags Head Hotel
Nags Head Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Neots
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitehouse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitehouse Guesthouse

Address: The White House Paxton Hill | Great Paxton, St Neots PE19 6RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St Neots
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St Neots
Price Range: £69 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Whitehouse Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitehouse Guesthouse lies in the village of Gt Paxton, just a short distance from the historic market town of St Neots. We provide a unique opportunity to enjoy a luxurious country break in the glorious Cambridgeshire countryside. The Whitehouse is the ideal retreat, offering guests the opportunity to relax and unwind in this beautiful setting whilst still enjoying an excellent central location to St Neots, Huntingdon, Cambridge and London. Whitehouse Cottage has been fully renovated with 5 rooms that can sleep up to nine guests. Room 1, 2 & 3 are all en-suite rooms with room 4 & 5 sharing the large family bathroom. All the rooms and bathrooms have been renovated to a high standard with large walk in showers with rainfall shower heads There is also a new lounge area with a open fire with direct access to the rear garden with table and chairs and a barbecue. There is also a large family fitted kitchen and dinning area for guests to prepare their own food whilst they stay with us. Courtyard cottage was purpose built in 2010.This has 3 en-suite rooms that can sleep up to six people. With its own kitchen/dinning and lounge area for guests to prepare their own food whilst they stay with us.Outside in the Courtyard is outside furniture for you to relax and unwind. Apartment 7 Barley Court PE19 7AB in St Neots is a 2nd floor apartment right opposite the Riverside Park. Accommodating 2+2 in a double room and Double sofa bed in the lounge. With two allocated parking spaces this apartment is just a couple of minutes walk over the river bridge into St Neots. Apartment 2 Marina Heights PE19 2PH is in the heart of St Neots and over looking the Marina. Accommodating 4+2 in 2 double rooms and a double sofa bed in the lounge. With allocated parking for one car. Ideally located for all the restaurants and bars in and around the market square. The main bedroom has the added benefit of a balcony where you can relax and unwind. Damage deposit £150 on lets. New for 2017 is River Terrace PE19 2BG. This is a three bedroom mews house in the heart of St Neots. Accommodation 6 in a king sized room and two double rooms on the ground floor with the living upstairs. The lounge has the added benefit of a large balcony with rattan furniture overlooking the Riverside Park and Marina. Also comes with two allocated parking spaces and Virgin Media wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Whitehouse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whitehouse Guesthouse St Neots, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing