We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food but uncomfortable seating”
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Ranked #40 of 83 Restaurants in St Neots
Price range: US$10 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The White Horse is a 13th Century Coaching Inn, that offers visitors and neighbours everything from simple bar snacks to fresh homemade cuisine as well as a good selection of wines and ales, and not to mention our delicious Sunday Carvery. The White Horse is a great place to enjoy the evenings and weekends with friends and family.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“good food but uncomfortable seating”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

the carvery is great but the dining area is very uncomfortable so I couldnt wait to finish my lovely food so that we could go back into the bar area and sit in comfort. I would have given an Very Good rating if it wasnt for the lumpy hard seats!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nandm71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    18
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food friendly staff”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I came to the white horse with 3 other of my friends on Thursday night and I have to say it was all very appealing and a nice warm environment. We came to this pub in May this year and was not very pleased however we tried again and was very pleased food was amazing looked and tasted a lot better for food I would recommend as one of the best in the area service was quick and staff were polite overall a great experience very happy the pub has come a long way

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barryjohn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place - just hold the gravy!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I took an Australian friend to the White Horse Inn, Eaton Socon, near St Neots, recently on a Saturday night. It was her 'shout' and she wanted to experience an atmospheric old English inn. The White Horse certainly ticks that box, with its beautiful red Virginia creeper-clad brick walls, and its cosy bars full of old beams, horse brasses and friendly locals. The restaurant is attractively laid out and decorated, the service was friendly and prompt, and the menu looked good - typical pub fare. I had the pie of the day - chicken - and my friend had lamb shanks. These came with plenty of fluffy mash and some almost raw veg, but all drowned in an ocean of Bisto-style brown gravy. What might have been a lovely crunchy pie crust was a soggy mess, as was the salad which for some reason was also on the plate. I wouldn't say I would never go back there - but I'll ask for gravy in a jug, not drowning the plate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EleniDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Landlady is lovely, decor is beautiful and location is lovely.
Food is a bit "wanky" but not in a horrible way just not for us

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank yvonne694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton Socon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“exel valuulant”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

fresh cooked food served by wonderful staff. wonderful atmosphere all you could ask for in a pub by far the best eating place in the area

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rodney b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Eaton Socon, St Neots
Eaton Socon, St Neots
 
St Neots, Cambridgeshire
Eaton Socon, St Neots
 
St Neots, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing