We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“34 on golf weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbotsley Golf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Neots
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Rooms of good standard. No whaw factor anywhere. Both courses in good condition although I think ladies and long handicappers would struggle on the main course.
The food just passed as ok, no one could eat the steak on first night as to tough, breakfast very basic.
Strange that spa & gym is located at second course not at main hotel.
Plenty of better choices for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Abbotsley Golf Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Arranged a golf trip for 12 and this venue's accommodation on site with two golf courses and reasonable pricing were its on paper appeal. I am glad to report it delivered on that appeal. The accommodation was clean and modelled on the Premier Inn experience with a few bolt ons. The food was plentiful and with a varied choice across the three courses. Good selection of beers/lagers/ciders in the bar which stayed open well in to the night. Staff were courteous and patient and did a great job coping with 12 thirsty golfers. As to the golf courses the main course was excellent and a strong challenge for our mid to high handicappers. The Cromwell course was noticeably easier but a good contrast. I would recommend this venue for a golf society who want a reasonably priced weekend which ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: I stayed in the new block which was excellent
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qualitycounts64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hotel fine food staff friendly abbotsley course is good not sure about the Cromwell .would I come back unlikely
As. County club once your round over not much else to do need pool gym at the main hotel
But not bad value for money

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We spent Friday to Monday here on a golf break. Excellent place would come again, really good value. Could have a couple of real ales on the pump. We played six rounds of golf on the two courses, the Cromwell and the Abbotsley both were in great condition. A bit to much golf for the old chaps as thet got tired. Well worth a visit if you

play golf.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodgie-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

24 of us enjoyed 3 days here in April. 2 good golf courses, acceptable bedrooms, good food and friendly staff. This is an ideal venue for golfers but not really suitable for non-golfers. Overall excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CastorBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A group of us stayed over Easter and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is clean with generous-sized rooms, fairly basic but acceptable. The food was better than expected and although we were on a 'package' there was a fairly large choice. We had a problem on one evening when a few of us were unable to have hot showers/baths because the water ran out. Management said that this was unusual and caused by the group wanting to shower at the same time (surely this happens often when a golfing group use the hotel?) They compensated us with 2 bottles of wine (undrinkable plonk) between the 20 of us but also offered to make other rooms available to us that still had hot water. One minor grouch, the en-suites had one tiny tablet of soap, for two people. Why would a hotel risk disappointing guests for the sake of a few pence for extra soap? It's petty.
The golf courses were OK and perfectly acceptable for a golfing weekend with friends. Nobody will rave obout the courses or add them to their 'must play' list but they are OK.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellersgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We booked a room on booking.com and the pictures showed a nice comfortable room. Unfortunately there was a conference on midweek meaning that we were shoved into their annex. For somewhere that is meant to be up-market and host weddings I was unimpressed.

It was cold, bed sheets were dated and there wasn't even a duvet/blanket to be found. The toilets were clean but dated and the room looked like it hadn't been used in years. The televisions wasn't modern and was unwatchable due to the fact it was sat below the bed, way below eye level. This hotel that I had seen on websites was no where to be found and was nothing like the pictures. Cheap bathroom amenities (toilet paper) ,consumables and fittings

Tea and coffee making facilities were a joke, now you may laugh but I always like a nice biscuit after I've travelled a distance to a hotel, there were none.

After speaking to the receptionist regarding a possible room swap I was told that none were available and that we were already in the overflow annex which is the part of the hotel you use when the conference you have running takes up the nice part of the hotel. I questioned why I had to stay in the part of the hotel you seldom use and not the other guests.

It wasn't a nice place to be or even spend the night so we decided to leave. I have never left a hotel in my life as I tend to research the website for pictures and read reviews on trip advisor, my room clearly isn't shown on either.

After a month I received my deposit back, nobody addressed the problem, nobody apologised for our disappointing stay so I felt obligated to leave this review.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miss_kambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen L, Manager at Abbotsley Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

I am sorry that you didn't like our Hotel.I am very proud to be able to say that our team off staff work tirelessly to make sure that all guests are made welcome and will go out of their way to make ensure that your stay is comfortable.Some of the comments that you are making are quite untrue.
All our beds have duvets,and there are extra blankets and pillows in the wardrobes.Our linen is provided by a reputable laundry company.There is always tea coffee and hot chocolate available in your room.As far as a 1star rating for location goes we are as the name suggests a golf hotel and we are situated in the middle of 250 acres of countryside which is about as good as it gets. We do not have an annexe, you had been allocated a room in the hotel block which is less than 10 years old and there were no conference bookings that evening.
I hope that anyone reading this will take a look at our other reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Neots
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
8.2 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Wyboston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
734 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
491 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buckden
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsley Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsley Golf Hotel

Address: Potton Road, St Neots E19 6XN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St Neots
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Neots
Price Range: £59 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbotsley Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbotsley Golf Hotel is located within 250 acres of beautiful parkland. It offers en suite rooms, restaurant, 3 golf courses and excellent leisure facilities. The Abbotsley course is an 18-hole championship course where various national and regional tournaments have been held. It is regarded as one of the finest in the area. All of Abbotsley Golf’s rooms have a TV and tea and coffee making facilities; many have beautiful views over the golf courses and gardens and a bath. Abbotsley has 3 bars, 2 with Sky Sports TV, and guests can enjoy a fitness room, a comfortable lounge area, a pool table and free high-speed internet in the bar area. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Abbotsley Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsley Golf Hotel St Neots, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing