We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better value elsewhere!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Neots
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbotsley Golf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Neots
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Having done several golf breaks over the last years we were keen to try somewhere new. Was also the first time we booked through Your Golf Travel instead of Golfbreaks.com. The representative suggested this particular resort, giving it a glowing recommendation. I must say from the off that for the £195 per person we spent, we have been to much better venues with far better facilities. On the particular weekend that we had our golf break there was a wedding at the venue and the entire focus of the staff was focused on the wedding. The main restaurant was closed on the night of the wedding so we had to have dinner in the golf bar and the following morning we had to find a waiter/waitress to serve us as we were ignored for 15 minutes whilst they attended to the wedding party. I understand that wedding parties probably generate far more revenue than golf breaks and if that is the case then the hotel should stick to the weddings, not offer both and neglect the people on the golf breaks. The rooms are really rudimentary, never before have we had a twin with two single beds, always been two doubles. Very basic and comparable to Premier Inns and Travel Lodges, no personal touches at all. The only plus side of a disappointing golf break was the two golf courses which were really interesting and challenging.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen L, General Manager at Abbotsley Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for your comments about your golf break. For £195 you had 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast and 3 rounds of golf, pretty good value I would say. Our rural location sets us apart from Premier Inn and Travel lodges with no golf courses. As you will know we are a golf break hotel and cater for what our customers ask for. Weddings are part of our product as you will find with most golf hotels. We are always aware that every customer should be treated with the best attention and I am so sorry that you had to wait a little while for your breakfast order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Rooms of good standard. No whaw factor anywhere. Both courses in good condition although I think ladies and long handicappers would struggle on the main course.
The food just passed as ok, no one could eat the steak on first night as to tough, breakfast very basic.
Strange that spa & gym is located at second course not at main hotel.
Plenty of better choices for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Arranged a golf trip for 12 and this venue's accommodation on site with two golf courses and reasonable pricing were its on paper appeal. I am glad to report it delivered on that appeal. The accommodation was clean and modelled on the Premier Inn experience with a few bolt ons. The food was plentiful and with a varied choice across the three courses. Good selection of beers/lagers/ciders in the bar which stayed open well in to the night. Staff were courteous and patient and did a great job coping with 12 thirsty golfers. As to the golf courses the main course was excellent and a strong challenge for our mid to high handicappers. The Cromwell course was noticeably easier but a good contrast. I would recommend this venue for a golf society who want a reasonably priced weekend which ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: I stayed in the new block which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qualitycounts64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hotel fine food staff friendly abbotsley course is good not sure about the Cromwell .would I come back unlikely
As. County club once your round over not much else to do need pool gym at the main hotel
But not bad value for money

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We spent Friday to Monday here on a golf break. Excellent place would come again, really good value. Could have a couple of real ales on the pump. We played six rounds of golf on the two courses, the Cromwell and the Abbotsley both were in great condition. A bit to much golf for the old chaps as thet got tired. Well worth a visit if you

play golf.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodgie-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

24 of us enjoyed 3 days here in April. 2 good golf courses, acceptable bedrooms, good food and friendly staff. This is an ideal venue for golfers but not really suitable for non-golfers. Overall excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CastorBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A group of us stayed over Easter and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is clean with generous-sized rooms, fairly basic but acceptable. The food was better than expected and although we were on a 'package' there was a fairly large choice. We had a problem on one evening when a few of us were unable to have hot showers/baths because the water ran out. Management said that this was unusual and caused by the group wanting to shower at the same time (surely this happens often when a golfing group use the hotel?) They compensated us with 2 bottles of wine (undrinkable plonk) between the 20 of us but also offered to make other rooms available to us that still had hot water. One minor grouch, the en-suites had one tiny tablet of soap, for two people. Why would a hotel risk disappointing guests for the sake of a few pence for extra soap? It's petty.
The golf courses were OK and perfectly acceptable for a golfing weekend with friends. Nobody will rave obout the courses or add them to their 'must play' list but they are OK.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellersgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Neots
2.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
9.5 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
500 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Wyboston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Eaton Oak
The Eaton Oak
#2 of 3 in St Neots
88 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Whitehouse Guesthouse
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsley Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsley Golf Hotel

Address: Potton Road, St Neots E19 6XN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St Neots
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Neots
Price Range: £37 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbotsley Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbotsley Golf Hotel is located within 250 acres of beautiful parkland. It offers en suite rooms, restaurant, 3 golf courses and excellent leisure facilities. The Abbotsley course is an 18-hole championship course where various national and regional tournaments have been held. It is regarded as one of the finest in the area. All of Abbotsley Golf’s rooms have a TV and tea and coffee making facilities; many have beautiful views over the golf courses and gardens and a bath. Abbotsley has 3 bars, 2 with Sky Sports TV, and guests can enjoy a fitness room, a comfortable lounge area, a pool table and free high-speed internet in the bar area. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbotsley Golf Hotel St Neots, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing