We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible food!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbotsley Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbotsley Golf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Neots
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible food!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stay for one night , so much disappointment ! , Wi-fi didn't work, staff in the morning not helpful at all, breakfast was late and not even tasty,3 star hotel i ve expected a higher standards I wouldn't recommended to anyone

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    44
    37
    10
    9
See reviews for
12
14
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Neots, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stay for one night the room was cold as we entered due to a outside door not closing properly.booking a double room my partner and I didn't expect two single beds pushed together. Staff in the morning not helpfull breakfast was average and again in a cold dark room as blinds were still closed. Would advise anyone to stay in a travel lodge rooms far more comfortable and half the price.
Two words very disappointed!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spartan167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Neots hotels

Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Had a good weekend here two good golf courses in ex condition ,rooms were good enough for what we wanted (great shower) food bit of letdown same menu both nights had two good nights out in st neots plenty of pubs to keep us all happy overall a great venue for golf weekend break

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TheJaapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed mid-October for a one night golf break. This was a return visit after an enjoyable break last year. We paid an upgrade to play two rounds on the Abbotsley course, which I would recommend to any other visitors. There's no easy holes and the back nine in particular asks questions from tee to green. Considering the time of year the course was in very good condition. Other plus points included the food, with a tasty three course meal enhanced by homemade bread (rather than a bland stale roll) and a hearty breakfast. The bar facilities were great too, with a pool table and dart board that kept the competitive sports going into the night. The hotel is functional but the rooms were clean, tidy and did the job after an enjoyable first round. The reception staff were really helpful and efficient too. The only negative was that the staff in the restaurant were a little overwhelmed since the place was packed. As a result "service with a smile" was hit and miss. But then I'm sure I'd struggle to beam from ear to ear dealing with a room full of hungry golfers! In summary, great golf, good food and a comfy bed all packaged up at a very reasonable price. I look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaeK124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P, Manager at Abbotsley Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi Raek124, thank you very much for your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you here again soon. We were, as you said very light on the ground with staff last week but we have now put measures in place so we avoid this happening again. Please let me know next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

15 of us stayed at this hotel and golf course resort and as a group we all found this to be fantastic value and located in amazing surroundings it was well worth the stay. We arrived for 3days and 2nights and we're welcomed by the reception staff who were very friendly as we're all the staff especially Samantha and Emma who made sure we were well looked after at breakfast and evening meal time.The food was varied and top quality and a wide choice of breakfast options and starters,mains and desserts in the evening.The rooms were clean and spacious with a freeview tv and although some of us were in the annexe overlooking the putting green the other rooms around the complex were also very nice and all with tea and coffee facilities . Having read some of the reviews before we went I can say that I would be happy to go back as it was a pleasure. The golf courses are good and well maintained and yet the Cromwell course had spiked greens which was a bit rough but everyone had to deal with this. The abbotsbury course while a challenging course was better looked after and it showed ..let's not talk about scores ha ha..3 lovely walks though...go and enjoy..

Room Tip: Get in the annexe area around the putting green ...room 009 is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P, General Manager at Abbotsley Golf Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Hi Paul, thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure having you all here and we look forward to seeing you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Wilbraham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

As a change to our usual venue it was decided to try this course and myself and a couple of friends who have long distances to travel stayed over. Rooms were quite basic but spotlessly clean and more than adequate. Golf course was very good indeed and worth a visit for that alone.
Evening meal was OK and breakfast was lovely. Give it a try!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Being unable to find accommodation in Bedford I looked further afield and came across Abbotsley Golf Hotel which had good/reasonable reviews at a decent price.
It is a little out of the way (you definitely need a car) and approx 20 minutes from Bedford.
I arrived at 6:20pm and check in was friendly and efficient. I was warned there were a couple of large golfing parties in and they would be dining at 7:30. I was also told that the menu changes at 6:30 from bar meals to a la carte - I dumped my bags in my room and made immediately to the bar. I ordered the home made burger (£10) and a pint from a good selection of beers - one hand pump (Abbots Ale). The meal arrived in less than 10 minutes and was excellent. Home made chips and the burger was indeed home made - coarse ground beef cooked perfectly.
After another pint I went to my room which was one of several in an outbuilding surrounding a small putting green.
The room was of good size, clean, with en suite (shower only) and noisy extractor fan. Television reception was excellent with the usual array of channels. The bed was extremely comfortable and gave me the best night's sleep I've had in a long time. This was helped by the quietness of the place.
Breakfast on a Sunday starts at 8am and needing to be back in Bedford early went to the airy dining room (more like a conservatory) at 7:55 only to find it open and a few people already tucking in - excellent. The breakfast menu is varied and although not partaking of anything cooked myself it did look appetising and was pretty quick in being served up.

All in all a very pleasant stay. Would I stay again - definitely.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms surrounding the small putting green will probably be quieter than those in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KD_Trencherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Neots
2.6 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (Colmworth Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#3 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
9.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buckden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsley Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsley Golf Hotel

Property: Abbotsley Golf Hotel
Address: Potton Road, St Neots E19 6XN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St Neots
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Neots
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbotsley Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbotsley Golf Hotel is located within 250 acres of beautiful parkland. It offers en suite rooms, restaurant, 3 golf courses and excellent leisure facilities. The Abbotsley course is an 18-hole championship course where various national and regional tournaments have been held. It is regarded as one of the finest in the area. All of Abbotsley Golf’s rooms have a TV and tea and coffee making facilities; many have beautiful views over the golf courses and gardens and a bath. Abbotsley has 3 bars, 2 with Sky Sports TV, and guests can enjoy a fitness room, a comfortable lounge area, a pool table and free high-speed internet in the bar area. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Abbotsley Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsley Golf Hotel St Neots, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing