We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Just stayed for a night but it was just what we needed - a friendly hotel with good staff and a very nice brekfast. The room was a bit small without a wardrobe but as we were passing through that didn't matter - would have been a tight fit if we were staying longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotEssexman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

Arriving at the hotel we were a bit apprehensive as it looked run down from the outside but what a wonderful surprise it was. You can tell the place has recently been refurbished and it looks great. We arrived earlier than expected but they were happy to accomodate us and let us into our rooms early. My b/f's mum has tablets that need to be kept in a fridge and the manager even managed to find her a little fridge put in her room. The rooms were very big and the ensuites were also big and roomy.
We were also told we could come down anytime we liked for breakfast in the morning. This was defintely a plus as we came to Wisbech for a wedding and was expecting a late night.
The only problem was noisiness and this is the reason why I did not give them 5 stars. They were having a company party at the hotel and people were being nosy into the early hours of the morning. Luckily I was very tired so managed to sleep through most of the noise.
If you are ever in Wisbech I would recommend this hotel but make sure they aren't having any functions there.

Room Tip: Ask for room 101 - it is not near the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annekedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We had my brothers wedding here and the family and I cannot fault the venue, staff, food or service at all. With 12 years in hospitality I am normally very picky however on this occasion I couldn't find fault. We stayed the night before and was made very welcome, offered assistance to rooms with bags and suit carriers. The rooms were clean, well maintained, spacious and modern. The shower was great and the bed was very comfy. On the big day, the manager John and his team couldn't have helped any more, even to the fact of offering breakfast a bit later so we didn't have to get up so early as we stayed in the bar rather late. The breakfast was amazing, great fry up but there was an option of fruit and cereal aswell to take while waiting for hot food as freshly cooked. All round John and his team couldn't have been better during our stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottishladtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

My sister and I stayed there in August, to attend a family wedding. The reception was held at the hotel.

We booked a twin room for two nights, about three or more months before the wedding. My sister has slight mobility problems, the hotel has no lift, so her Grandson looked at the rooms, and chose one for her.

Four weeks before the wedding, we were told that there was no room available for the first of the two nights. The parents of the young couple were so upset that they looked for another venue - but could find nothing. We were told that we would be booked into a B and B; and given a bottle of wine and the services of a porter and driver as an apology. The Manageress confirmed this when we arrived.

We arrived on the Friday, and about 6pm were given a lift to the B and B, by Danny. We weren't expected, and both my sister and I felt that we would not have been given a room if we'd been a young couple. The room we were given was on the second floor, and naturally there was no lift. By the way, the B and B was excellent. Fabulous breakfast.

About 1130 on Saturday morning, we were told that our room at the White Lion was ready. That was a great relief, as we were having our hair and faces done in our room at midday. Danny, who had taken us over there the previous night, and also seemed to be chief barman, cook, handyman, and receptionist, collected us. The room was not the one originally offered, it was on the second floor, which was difficult for my sister.The twin room was actually a double with the two beds separated, so the only hanging space was above one of the beds, and the other had a double headboard along most of the side of it. It was on the street, which is a main road, and had flies on the windowsills. The shower room was amazing, black marble and glass, plenty big enough for a bath but had nowhere to put towels and actually getting hot water was difficult. It needed two visits from staff to get a shower. It was a hot day, and we were offered a drink as soon as we arrived. It took an age to arrive.

We were asked if we were happy with the B and B, but not by the Manageress who'd spoken to us the previous day. It was the Manager. We were, but said we were not expected and did not receive the promised bottle of wine. More apologies, and a promise that we'd get the wine in our room that night.

The wedding and reception were great. Bar service was very slow - all of us said they'd sell a lot more if they racked up the service.

There was no bottle of wine in our room that night.

Breakfast was ok. Nowhere near as good as the B and B.

When we booked out, we did expect that the Manager would be there to apologize for the fact that our expectations were not met. He wasn't, it was poor Danny. We explained again about the lack of promised wine. We were offered one immediately, but said we didn't want one - it would get warm in the car, so got a discount equal to the cost of wine from their bar.

We would not go back. It's overpriced, and needs a decent manager.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cretamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed two nights at this hotel and it was fab! It has recently been refurbished and the rooms were nicely furnished, beds very comfy and everything very clean and modern. The rest of the hotel was tastefully furnished but homely. We experienced the food (several times) and it was excellent; breakfast was lovely and very well presented. It was obvious that the staff enjoyed working there under an excellent manager because of how relaxed friendly ( but very proffessional) they were. Overall we had a great weekend and will certainly be returning there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shammy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Recently refurbed to a good standard, warm inviting rooms and friendly service. Plenty of free parking is a refreshing bonus.

Whether business or family stop-over I would recommend, in fact relatives are visiting in September and will be stopping in this comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Book in advance,often busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmmbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We were attending a family Jubilee party here and decided to stay to make the most of the night.

This is a lovely Georgian style building in the centre of Wisbech which is being lovingly restored by its owners. It has to be said that there were lots of steep stairs to the bedrooms but I understand that a lift is planned as part of the renovation project. There is a public bar that serves bar meals and a lovely south facing enclosed beer garden at the rear. There is also a decent walled car park with security camera's and we felt quite happy to leave our car there.

We opted for a standard double room with breakfast which cost £79 (I think). The room was relatively small but quite adequate, very clean and well furnished. There was a lovely large bed, with a telephone, flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer and free wi-fi! There was a desk with ample drawer space and an opehanging area for wardrobe storage . The bathroom, or more correctly a shower room, was modern and reasonably sized with a good power shower and free toiletries. My only criticism would be the lack of storage space for bags.

When we opened the window we could hear a little noise from the party in the other half of the building (our family party) but nothing once the window was closed and once in our room we otherwise heard very little at all.

Our breakfast was wonderful, it was made freshly to order and as such a little wait was involved but it was well worth it. In the meantime you could help yourselves to cereal, fruit etc and a pot of tea and/or coffee was brought to your table. Couldn't fault the food or service at breakfast.

If you like big anonymous chain hotels with modern funiture this is not the place for you. Its an independent hotel with Georgian Architecture and this era is the basis of the furnishngs too, although with a modern twist in the bar etc.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJAVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisbech
0.1 mi away
The Rose and Crown Hotel
1.3 mi away
Elme Hall Hotel
Elme Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wisbech
476 reviews
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Kings Lynn Long Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Oliver Cromwell Hotel
14 mi away
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
973 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Elm Tree Inn
The Elm Tree Inn
#1 of 12 in Wisbech
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Address: 5 South Brink, Wisbech PE13 1JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Price Range: £55 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing