We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sisters weddong”
Review of Elme Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elme Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sisters weddong”
Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely wedding here, we stopped here for the night after it. Couldn't fault the hotel at all! We stopped in the lodge part of the hotel was very clean, room was a high standard and bed was extremely comfy I slept all night and I never do that.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atkins8373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muguetu, Manager at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay and your Sister's wedding, it's alway nice to see a review by someone who has actually stayed and experienced our facilities.
We are pleased you found the New Lodge comfortable and fulffiling yours needs, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Regards
Keeley-Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    124
    48
    16
    17
See reviews for
78
175
26
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wisbech
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Where can I start to describe our awful honeymoon stay. On arrival we were advised to put the radiators on since it was cold in our room; it was and neither was there so much as a complimentary glass of wine. The four poster bed looked as if it had been put together by my children with velcro curtains to finish. For a honeymoon suite I have to say that the bed creaked alarmingly! We could also hardly move for the signs attached to almost everything advising us us not to use the bath and that the kettle may contain very hot water when boiled. Although the hotel appeared to be practically empty we were given a room as close to the nearby traffic as possible which kept us awake longer than the creaky bed!!! Disappointed there was no room service as everything was closed up for the night at 10.30pm, the dinner menu was so poor we ate out, breakfast was a plateful of barely cooked fried food.We stayed on 4th April and will never do so again, I can't believe I paid £180.00 for this!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't choose any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muguetu, Owner at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us back in April, unfortunately I was at first unable to link the name of the reviewer as it differed from the guest name.
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations and we would have gladly put things right earlier had the shortcomings been brought to our attention at the time.
Regarding this room, it has since been fully refurbished as you will see from subsequent guest's favourable comments .
Regarding the signs warning of Scalding Water in the kettle, this is part of our risk assessment, and health & safety policy. As we also have young children staying in our rooms, the bed drapes are attached with velcro rather than a dangerous cord, for the same reasons we do not leave alchohol in the rooms.
The heating was preset at a comfortable level and because of the changeable spring weather we advised how to adjust it up or down to suit your comfort levels using the "In-Room" thermostat.
Being a Wednesday night we were unaware that this was a Honeymoon stay and would have suggested booking a Dinner in the Restaurant which normally takes last orders at 22h00.
Regards Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Me and my Wife held our Wedding reception here on the 14th July 2012 and we have nothing but praise for everything Elme Hall has done for us to make our day perfect. Our Wedding Co-ordinator Keeley was fantastic and was happy to do everything we wanted, even when we wanted an unusual setup of the rooms it was no trouble at all.

The Buffet was delicious and there was plenty of food to go round, the staff were very efficient and cleared all the plates very quickly.
The bar staff were fantastic, even when they ran out of some of the popular drinks for the party they quickly went out and got some more.
They were also very accommodating for some guests in wheelchairs and was always available when we needed something.
The Bridal suite was lovely and breakfast the next morning was delicious with plenty of choices including fresh bread.

We would definitely recommend anyone thinking about using elme hall as their venue go and have a look round.

Thank you for making our special day perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muguetu, Manager at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Hello James,
I am pleased that you are both so happy with your decision to hold your Wedding Reception and Party with us. We are fully aware of the importance of the special day, the expence incurred and the great expectations of everyone on the day. I am glad our flexible approach and the fine tuning to your particular personal choices helped us achieve our common goal of a memorable day for everyone
.I have passed your comments on to my team and we wish you both all the best in the coming years.
Keeley-Jade
Special Events & Wedding Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We had our huge party here on 5th May 2012 where we hired all the function rooms as well as the gallery ballroom, with most of the bedroom suits for staff and important customers to staff over after.
The service from this Hotel was fantastic, the staff were professional, friendly and good at what they do. They kept the food and drink flowing and the party goers happy. The party was a huge sucess, everyone enjoyed themselves and those that stayed, especially our customers who are important to making our business a success, were very impressed with the hotel, which refects very well on our business. Breakfast the next day was specially laid out in the Gallery Ballroom for all our own guests and a fantastic breakfast buffet was laid out, which was top qualityand wide in choice..
The management and staff very do go that extra mile to make things perfect. We thank you for what you did, and hope to do it again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justyboy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for your nice comments, as you know I took this booking over from another member of staff at very short notice. I am so glad we anticipated your requirements and everything went as you had hoped.
I will pass your comments on to my Team.
Regards
Keeley-Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Went for a Sunday Roast, but a tiny menu which did include roast beef or pork. Service and food was very average which was disappointing as the hotel looked good from outside.
I remember this place when it was a private residence - funny going into it as a hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derekf110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muguetu, Owner at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Hello,
Thank you for your review, you mention the "Tiny" Sunday Lunch menu included Pork and Beef as though surprised. You will remember the other Meats like Lamb and Turkey which were also listed along with the Vegetarian options.
The Sunday Lunch menu is a "Very Average" price (£8.75) but we also run a full A La Carte and Brasserie menu in the other restaurants on a Sunday as well (booking essential though)
You may be a bit confused about the Hotel's previous life. We bought the building as an unfinished project 18 years ago and it has never been anything other than a Hotel and certainly never a private residence. If you contact me or call in some time I would be happy to give you a tour & a potted history of the Elme Hall Hotel.
Regards, The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshbydelaZouch
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Recently stayed for 2 nights when working in the area. The bedroom accommodation in the new lodge was well furnished, very clean and comfortable and the bottled water to complement the usual tea/coffee making facilites was a nice touch.
Customer service was excellent - always made to feel welcome and well looked after.
Good range of food available at breakfast - cereals, fruit, ham and cheese, pastries and a choice of cooked food - a bonus was the freshly brewed coffee which was far superior to most hotels.
Dinner was most enjoyable - a three course meal which was well cooked, nicely presented and good value.
As the hotel also serves food all day to non- residents, I would be happy to call in if passing.
Would be happy to stay again if visiting or working in the area.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms are relatively new
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muguetu, Front Office Manager at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, reviews are very useful to us and aid in honing our performance.
I am glad you enjoyed your experience at the Elme Hall Hotel and will pass your comments on to the staff.
Regards
Keeley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed at Elme Hall for 4 nights from 5th May and had a room in the new Lodge.

Although giving the owner just a couple of hours notice, the team at Elme Hall had the room ready for us when we arrived with a welcoming smile and a nice touch of good old fashioned service being shown to our room as well.

The reception we received on arrival was first class; check-in was easy and refreshingly the staff clearly do not read from a script - at all times during our stay we found them to be helpful beyond the call of duty.

Our room was much larger than expected, spotless and faultless in every way; comfy seats and coffee table to sit and relax with complimentary tea, coffee, bottled water and biscuits. The room had a wonderful bathroom with corner bath with shower over – exactly as we had requested. We didn’t think it could get any better until we discovered the food!

We had breakfast every morning – you can ask for whatever you want it seems! On one of the mornings we had to rush off early and they offered us bacon sandwiches, fruit juice and fruit ‘to go’ so we wouldn’t go hungry which we were very grateful for. Evening meals were tasty and very reasonably priced and with so many different areas in the hotel, you can choose whether you want the luxury of a quiet lounge and a glass of wine to sit and read the paper or a vibrant bar.

Clearly, a lot of money has been spent on this fantastic hotel offering everything you could possibly need. We observed couples, singles and young families and everyone we spoke to during our stay complimented Elme Hall.

Having spent over 50 nights in hotels in and around the area in the past year, I cannot believe we didn’t find Elme Hall earlier!
Reading other reviews, we felt it right to give our opinion of Elme Hall and we certainly cannot agree with anything they say.
Based on our experience of Elme Hall compared to other hotels, this is by far the best customer service we have ever received – just how it should be.

In summary, this is a fantastic family hotel with a prestigious feel and suited to all.
The accommodation is first class, food tasty and good value and nothing is too much of a problem for the team at Elme Hall.
Whatever you want - all you have to do is ask. It really is that easy!

This is our hotel of choice from now on and look forward to staying again – in fact, we have already booked a 2 night stay next weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisAndAlisonHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muguetu, Front Office Manager at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Hello and thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we are glad that you had a pleasant and memorable stay. I will pass your comments onto the staff and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Keeley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisbech
1.3 mi away
The Rose and Crown Hotel
1.3 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wisbech
86 reviews
11.6 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,057 reviews
14.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
9.1 mi away
Travelodge Kings Lynn Long Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elme Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elme Hall Hotel

Property: Elme Hall Hotel
Address: 69 Elm High Road, Wisbech PE14 0DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elme Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elme Hall Hotel and conference centre offers the ultimate in traditional comfort and client facilities. Recently constructed the building's traditional design is matched by our traditional hospitality and attention to detail. Appointed with the latest technology Elme Hall Hotel offers the following facilities: luxury accommodation including bridal suites, conference suites, function rooms, civil marriage license and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Elme Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elme Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing