We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”
Review of Elme Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elme Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I am sure the hotel won't mind me saying the lodge rooms are basic..magnolia paint and chipboard furniture...room 122 was scrupulously clean...the bed was comfy..it was warm enough...the shower was hot...cooked breakfast was really tasty served by a nice young smiley waitress...£65 is a bargain for what you get...I would certainly recommend it and definitely go back next time I'm in the area...downsides...no food after 9pm and the bar closed at 10pm....but I went to wether spoons in the town which serves food until 11pm....all round good value hotel...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muguetu, Guest Relations Manager at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review of your stay in our Lodge Annexe, we are so glad you found the room and services good value for money.
The Lodge is fitted out with Ash Veneer joinery shop bespoke furniture and is designed to withstand the rigours of a very busy building. The core of this furniture, like all modern furniture is constructed from a high quality particle board, not chipboard.
The main Hotel has more of the traditional furniture & feel, this has various bedroom colours, however these rooms are more expensive than the £65 budget Lodge rooms.
Our kitchens operate from 06h30 till 21h00 daily, but we do accept reservations outside of these hours. Unlike Pubs, we close our bars to the general public after the last guest leaves and this could be as early as 22h00 on a quiet Sunday evening. Our resident lounge remains open for as long as our residents remain either with or without food or drink. To avoid the possible disturbance caused by "walk-ins" We do not re-open our kitchens or bars once they have closed for the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    117
    44
    16
    17
See reviews for
76
163
25
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

GOOD POINTS = room was lovely and spacious, bed was comfy but had blankets not duvet so little old fashioned, nice dressing room and large bathroom, very quiet and easy to find, food was nice, staff very friendly

BAD POINTS = Room took a while to heat up, the 2 nights we were there we had no hot water and had to call down and in the end personally go down to ask why, having paid extra for the spa bath was a waste of money as we couldn't use it for our two day stay and the shower was also cold! only one set of towels we asked for more they never arrived, the room was not serviced either, broken glass in one of the windows also broken tiles on the bathroom floor, breakfast was ok but limited, as for value for money no it wasnt, would we stay again not at £248 a night no

Room Tip: the honeymoon suite is a nice size with great light and seating but over priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taralwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muguetu, General Manager at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your review, you may have forgotten that your room rate included a four course Valentine's dinner for two and you did ask to extend for a second night along with your friends as you were having a "Wonderful Time" At no time did you request additional towels or a duvet. The hot water was only mentioned when I spoke with you at check out time when I explained that you and your friends used the Jacuzzi extensively several times throughout your 2 day stay, there could have been an occasion where you simply ran the hot water storage cold, as the system is not designed to keep up with four guests, but according to our electronic service counter the Jacuzzi was used for 2 hours and 54 minutes during your stay
A "do not disturb" on the door is taken literally by our cleaning staff and a call to reception would have sufficed to have your room cleaned any number of times during your stay.
You might bear in mind that we were unable to let the rooms the following night because of the cigarette smoke residue that remained in the room. We have yet to levy the special cleaning charge in line with our no smoking signage in the room.
I find it strange that you and your friends would book and pay for a second night, if your first night was so unsatisfactory without mentioning during your stay any of the problems you now publish on the web.
We could have corrected any problems (if any existed) quite easily at the time during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Very pleased with the hospitality from this venue we was made to feel very welcome from the start. The food was absolutely amazing and the room was excellent would definitely recommend and we will be visiting again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muguetu, Manager at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing your Valentine's night here at the Elme Hall Hotel..
We are so pleased you found everything to your liking and enjoyed bothe your stay and the special dinner.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

What a great find... We had previously stayed in Peterborough, but the Agricultural Show meant everything was fully booked. We managed to get the last two rooms at the Elme Hall.. Phew, did not fancy sleeping in the car.
Great ambiance, lovely sofa Lounge with large TV and work areas, great free WiFi internet. Great shower pressure and comfortable beds.
Evening 3-course dinner great value at around £12 good honest Norfolk Fayre served by very friendly staff. A really excellent place with all our needs well catered for..
Clean and warm despite the rotten weather. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: Main Hotel rooms are executive style, Lodge annex modern, but really well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jogn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muguetu, General Manager at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
It was nice to read your kind review following your recent stay, glad the Lodge and main Hotel proved comfortable for you and your colleagues. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed her for a couple of nights this week while the LAMA Show was being held at Peterborough showground, Ihave to say it turned out to be a very pleasant stay the staff could not have been more helpful. The food was very good and the breakfast great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeeperLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muguetu, General Manager at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay, so glad all went well at the Peterborough Show and that you found Elme Hall entirely to your satisfaction. I have passed your comments on to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We attended our firm's Christmas party and stayed in the Main Hotel, although other work colleagues stayed in the new Lodge Annexe. Our room was very tasefully furnished with everything needed for our overnight stay. The most striking feature is the efficiency of the serving and cleaning staff. Our Christmas meal and indeed the Breakfast, was served with a smile and ultra efficiency. The rooms and the rest of the Hotel were of a very clean and immaculate appearance, It almost felt like we were the first to ever use our bedroom.
We had a wonderful time at the Christmas function as we had on previous years, the food was excellent, served hot and very wholesome, the atmosphere was great in the Ballroom and the D.J. on extremely good form. I have urged my company to get booked early again for next Christmas.
In a nutshell, a truly wonderful experience, it made our Christmas start with a swing,other Hotels should take note of how it's done!

Room Tip: The Lodge Rooms are modern and new the main Hotel are Traditional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muguetu, Public Relations Manager at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Glad you enjoyed once again your Christmas experience at elm hall, we are looking forward to seeing you all again this year..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at the Elme Hall Hotel Lodge half board for a few days last year as part of an organised coach tour. The new Lodge rooms are excellent with all the “bits & bobs” needed for a comfortable stay. Wonderful Breakfast spread and very Great evening dinners. Ballroom was spectacular and staff really friendly and helpful, accommodating and facilities are always “Top Notch”
We’ll be back in 2014!

Room Tip: All Rooms in Lodge are New
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muguetu, Guest Relations Manager at Elme Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Hello and thank you for your kind review, we all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisbech
1.3 mi away
The Rose and Crown Hotel
1.3 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wisbech
85 reviews
11.8 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Downham Market
100 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,029 reviews
18.2 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elme Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elme Hall Hotel

Property: Elme Hall Hotel
Address: 69 Elm High Road, Wisbech PE14 0DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elme Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elme Hall Hotel and conference centre offers the ultimate in traditional comfort and client facilities. Recently constructed the building's traditional design is matched by our traditional hospitality and attention to detail. Appointed with the latest technology Elme Hall Hotel offers the following facilities: luxury accommodation including bridal suites, conference suites, function rooms, civil marriage license and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elme Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elme Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing