We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant staff, lovely rooms and homely feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rose and Crown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
bathurst
1 review
“Brilliant staff, lovely rooms and homely feel”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This place is great! Everybody that works here is extremely nice and helpful. A variety of delicious drinks and food makes leaving this 400 year old establishment hard to do. This place is a must if you are ever in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank michaelburgess84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
I think the greatest compliment is when a guest says there is a "homely feel" at The Rose & Crown Hotel. Thank you so much for posting your review and for your recommendations. Let's hope we will see you again in the near future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    88
    46
    23
    14
See reviews for
49
113
11
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed at the Rose and Crown for 3 weeks and totally enjoyed myself. A lot of history in the building and still talk about the 400 year old stair case. It's right in the centre of town and over looks the market place. Staff are always extremely friendly and helpful all hours. I highly recommend the experience if travelling through this old time town. A must do and stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clynton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Three weeks stay with us and not one complaint! It was a real pleasure to have you stay and to serve you. It's quite amazing how many people remember our 400 year old staircase! It is certainly unique and guests do talk a lot about it. We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A comfortable, adequate hotel but in my opinion could do with some serious decor modernisation and better bathroom facilities, room I stayed in had very small shower unit which varied widely in temperature and had very low water pressure. Admittedly a brief 2 night stay but regrettably disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerardr537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel and we are glad you found the bedroom comfortable. However, we are disappointed that the shower caused you a problem. Although the hotel dates back in parts to 1435, the showers are all new and very sensitive. If you had phoned down and reported this to our Receptionist, they would have easily rectified the matter for you.

We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Fantastic and friendly staff, this pleasant stay as I passed through in the wonderful 1601 character building was really good, recommend anyone traveling in the area to stay here. We had a meal in the evening which was amazing and the breakfast was nice too. Thanks everyone

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OThompson1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
We appreciate you posting your review on Trip Advisor and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is excellently located with an ample size car park at the radar, rooms were very clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The quality of the food and the service were of a very high standard indeed. The staff were extremely welcoming. I will definitely be returning to this gem.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at the hotel. We appreciate all reviews and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

For a one night stopover I was more than happy, spacious room at the rear of the hotel with room to spread out and do a bit of work. Parking to the rear of the hotel was easy to find.

Evening meal was quite nice, breakfast delicious and served quickly. staff were very friendly, overall a positive experience and good value for money.

Room Tip: The welcome info indicates market traders to the front of the hotel from 4am 2 days a week so worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NornIronOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
The Rose & Crown Hotel is an ideal location for business people visiting Wisbech and we are delighted that you found your 1-night stay to your satisfaction. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Everyone else's review make the hotel sound fantastic BUT while I agree totally about the extremely friendly and efficient staff - all the waitress seem to be of Czech origin and were charming - and the food was superb the actual rooms leave a lot to be desired - in my book!

Not low cost - for a northerner - at £75 B&B rate - the room may have been refurbished 'only 2 years ago' but whoever did the design on it must have used early 50s choice of carpet material and wallpaper. The amount of water that had come through the ceiling of my room had not only left a serious stain but the paper had separated from the ceiling. One semi serious point is that the flex for the kettle was so short the kettle could not be placed on the adjacent desk - any child could in theory trip over the kettle lead resulting in a potential scald.

Do NOT go to the hotel on a Wednesday or Friday night unless you are assured the room you have booked does not overlook the marketplace as there are notices in the rooms stating all cars have to be out of the marketplace by 0400 as that is the time the traders arrive to set up. As the glazing is single that will be the end of any sleep!

The food was a revelation though - how rarely do you get a super super steak - well hung meat, a great size and simply beautifully cooked - simply delicious! The breakfast also has to rate as one of the best I have ever had in any hotel - wherever the location or the cost! Friendly bar with locals also using it and pleasant old ambience in the dining room too.

Although I love my food I doubt that I will stay at the Rose & Crown again, sorry but it is a miss for me! Faded glory - rooms need redecorating - bedroom door paintwork all a bit sad!

Room Tip: Do not book unless you are guaranteed a room that does not overlook the marketplace!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor and for highlighting some issues that obviously needed attention i.e. the ceiling where the leak came in. Unlike some parts of the country who suffered with major flooding, we were very lucky here in Wisbech to have got off lightly with a few leaks. The Rose & Crown dates back in parts to 1435. The ceiling was repaired and the room redecorated since your visit.

We are glad that you enjoyed our food and the good service you received during your stay. Do come back and give us another chance. I am sure you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisbech
1.3 mi away
Elme Hall Hotel
Elme Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wisbech
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wisbech
86 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Downham Market
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,057 reviews
13.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
19.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown Hotel

Property: The Rose and Crown Hotel
Address: 23 Market Place, Wisbech PE13 1DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rose and Crown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within the thriving town of Wisbech,Cambridgeshire,The Rose and Crown Hotel re-opened in June 2012 under new management and after extensive refurbishment. It proudly takes centre stage as the jewel in the crown of Market Square. The Rose and Crown Hotel, parts of which date back as far as 1435, exudes a refined, relaxed charm that will instantly put you at ease with its warmth and welcome. We offer 26 beautifully styled rooms including superior suites, doubles and family rooms, and provide exceptional dining experiences, a beautiful wedding location and excellent conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Rose and Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Wisbech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing