We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rose and Crown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed here in a standard double room overnight in June. The room was immaculately clean and decorated to a beautiful standard with character features. The bed was honestly one of the best hotel beds I have slept in. Bathroom was spotless and much more spacious than I expected.
The staff in this hotel were very friendly and helpful. I had room service for dinner and the breakfast was very nice. Free wifi was a bonus and the signal was good enough for me to watch stream a movie, which I was pleased with.
Overall a very peaceful and relaxing over night stop. Excellent value for money, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: My room face into the courtyard at the back. I had a very peaceful nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aoife A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Yes, our beds are the best for comfort and a guarantee of a good night's sleep! It is one of the comments we get a lot from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future Best wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    84
    42
    22
    13
See reviews for
47
107
10
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We would like to say a huge thank you to all the staff and management in the hotel restaurant. They really went the extra mile for my father-in-laws 81st birthday lunch. They surprised him with balloons, a lovely cake and a birthday card. The team here in the restaurant are first class, really friendly and the food is great. A little gem in wisbech thank you!

Room Tip: The character rooms at the back of the hotel are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your Dad's custom and he is one of our nicest customers. He is always so pleasant to the staff and the staff really like him and really wanted to do something special for him for his birthday. He was really surprised and enjoyed very much his special day!

Hope to see you at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived here after walking out of our last hotel... Not up to our standard !
We found this hotel after looking on Trip Advisor, and thought it looked really nice.
We explained to the manager of our predicament, that we weren't impressed with our last hotel, and that it was getting late in the evening to find a hotel..... Wisbech has a remarkable lack of hotels !!!
The manager assured us that she had 2 wonderful rooms and rah we would be more than happy.
As frequent travellers, we always check out the rooms before paying, as we have been caught out once to often.
My colleague room was a single room, single being the operative word. No room to swing a cat comes to mind, ridiculously small, with no view out of the spall window except a roof top nestled about 2' from the window.
My room although classed as a double was no better. It felt and looked dated... No thank you.
We returned to the reception desk to decline the managers offer, and again walked away.
Whereas the pub/hotel had a olde worlde atmosphere, and appeared to be a nice place to eat and drink, the rooms sadly didn't !!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review although I was surprised to read it considering you did not stay at the hotel. I do recall you, your wife and your colleague coming in to the hotel. It is unfortunate that on this occasion you were unable to partake of the full ambience of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, England
Level Contributor
415 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Good Points :-
Free car parking
Excellent free Wi-Fi
Nice food in the restaurant
Large room
Town centre location

Not so good :-
No lift - the stairs to the third floor killed me
Basic breakfast - no fresh fruit salad or grapefruit segments- waitress didn't ask if I wanted toast or what type of egg/no salt & pepper on breakfast table/gristly sausage
Wooden window shutters and openable window to bedroom banged about
Horrendous pillows - hard foam type

Room Tip: If you don't feel fit, ask for a low floor as the stairs are something else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have a lift due to the fact that we are a Grade II Listed Building. If, however, you had requested a first floor room, we would have endeavored to accommodate you. We have addressed your comments about the breakfast.. You have commented too on the positive side of your stay, so we hope the positives override the negatives.and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have known this hotel for many years. Over recent times it had become rundown but the present owners have done a wonderful job in restoring it to its former glory. It is a lovely old building, full of character, with a good selection of different types of room. Ours was a standard double which was more than adequate - well decorated, spotlessly clean and quiet. Unfortunately we only stayed for one night but would have been very happy to have stayed for longer. As we were attending a function nearby in the evening, we just had sandwiches (and a very acceptable glass of red!) in the Bistro's courtyard at lunchtime. Very nicely served with a dressed salad and coleslaw. We did meet people who had eaten there in the evening and they were complimentary. Breakfast was good and the staff we met were all very pleasant and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a month for work.. Amazing friendly staff made my whole stay comfortable and enjoyable!
Room was huge and very clean.. I struggle to find a hotel that I feel is clean so this was a blessing!! Big en suite..

Thanks for the hospitality Jim!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tashy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction in that time. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future and wish you all the best from the Management and all the staff. Kind regards. Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Room 305 - We booked the family room with a cot, which although it was on the 2nd floor (no lifts) it was of a good size and well appointed. The only disappointment was the quality of the bathroom's finishing. The bathroom reminded me of staying in a cheap B&B, so given the good quality for the rest of the hotel this was a slight disappointment. The reception, lounge and stairwell are absolutely lovely and well decorated and even the bookcase wall-paper seemed to fit in.

Breakfast was of a good standard and it was tailored to your wants. Dinner was even better though. The waiteress looked after us very well (we had a baby with us) and the food was really rather good. The wine was also of a good standard and overall if was good value for money.

The staff were courteous, in particular the male receptionist whose name i did not take (sorry), who helped me with all my bags to our room. But on occasion maybe the staff were not quite attentive enough, as we had to wait a few minutes at the bar and the restaurant before someone attended to us. But as we were there to relax, this was not an issue. All in all a lovely hotel, good value, great position in the town and for the local area and I would happily recommend it.

It is just a shame I could not recommend Wisbech itself, though the North Brink and Catherdral Areas are exceptionally attractive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derbyshirenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoseandCrownHotel, Manager at The Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for posting your review of your stay at the hotel. I am pleased you all had an enjoyable stay. On the evening in question, we were extremely busy in the bar and restaurant and I can only apologise if you felt the waiting staff were in any way inattentive. I recall having the pleasure of meeting you both and your beautiful baby when you expressed how well you were looked after.

Wisbech itself has beautiful places of interest including the Wisbech Museum, Octavia Hill National Trust House and of course Peckover House and Gardens.

We wish you and your family all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisbech
1.3 mi away
Elme Hall Hotel
Elme Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wisbech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wisbech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Downham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Premier Inn
Premier Inn
#3 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
11.6 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown Hotel

Property: The Rose and Crown Hotel
Address: 23 Market Place, Wisbech PE13 1DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rose and Crown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within the thriving town of Wisbech,Cambridgeshire,The Rose and Crown Hotel re-opened in June 2012 under new management and after extensive refurbishment. It proudly takes centre stage as the jewel in the crown of Market Square. The Rose and Crown Hotel, parts of which date back as far as 1435, exudes a refined, relaxed charm that will instantly put you at ease with its warmth and welcome. We offer 26 beautifully styled rooms including superior suites, doubles and family rooms, and provide exceptional dining experiences, a beautiful wedding location and excellent conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rose and Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Wisbech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing