We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rose and Crown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We chose the Rose a and Crown for a one night stay on our way to Norfolk. We arrived on the most horrendous evening of tilting rain and it was a welcome port in the storm. The hotel has lots of character, the stairs are wonky but beautiful, the room was superb and spacious. Everything was clean and looked gorgeous. The lilies in the courtyard managed to survive a hammering rain. The owner was welcoming and generous with his time and we had an unexpected treat in the form of Martin Allen, singer and guitarist, to ourselves, as everyone else had stayed indoors! A memorable stay. Check it out, especially if the entertainment is repeated.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked this room as part of a wedding party being one of 14 rooms booked for that night. We booked a superior room which was discounted due to the block booking but were extremely disappointed with it. We had stayed the previous night at a local B&B and have to say that even for the discounted price the B&B was 5* in comparison. 5 out of 8 light bulbs were not working in the room, it overlooked a filthy tiny courtyard with a notice asking guests to keep their window shut when not in the room as pigeons fly in!! There was one teabag each and one coffee sachet with 4 milks - not the fantastic selection we expect when booking a superior room and again woefully different to the wide selection of beverages and biscuits offered at the B&B. We had a half tester bed and although this was fairly comfortable the drapes were missing with all the tracks and rings just hanging there. The only redeeming feature was a lovely modern shower room but 3 small bottles of toiletries no matter who manufactures them does not make a room superior. Breakfast was ok we were lucky to be served this to our table whereas guests arriving 5 minutes later had to help themselves from a buffet table system. The actual building itself is charming with wonky stairs, nooks and crannies and a plethora of local history informaton gathered on the walls. We did express our dissatisfaction when we checked out and the manager/owner did go up to the room with my husband to check the allegations.He thought as we had already had a discount for the block booking we had received a good deal but did eventually take a further 10 pounds off the bill and blamed his housekeeping staff for the lack of working bulbs and poor complimentary beverages.We have stayed in many establishments over the years and find it poor character when a manager blames his staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Disappointed with standard of large double room. Overpriced for area n facilities offered... shower room very small and nowhere to hang towels. Breakfast poor brought from aldi.... overheard staff talking about buying extra supplies, not enough menu choices for hotel star standard. Sauces/sugar lumps not supplied wiv serving spoons. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curryluvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I booked last minute. When we arrived discovered our room was on 3rd floor. My husband has mobility problems. Receptionist founded us one on 1st floor. Can only say the Staff were delightful, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Only had breakfast as visiting friends in the area, it was freshly cooked. Both morning the girls were very efficient and friendly.
I liked the quirkiness of the building so nice to have some character after the business chain hotels
I have stayed in before.
We had a very pleasant stay in Wisbech. A very fine town.

Room Tip: Ask for one on 1st floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarvernPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Originally I intended to spend one night here, but due to illness, (nothing to do with the hotel but a certain Indian Restaurant which I will not be reviewing because censorship isn't that liberal yet) had to spend a second night. I was very well looked after indeed. Is the place super-flash? Fortunately, no. Fantastically modern? I'm pleased to say not. Faceless? Definitely not. The Rose and Crown buildings are mainly over 400 years old, with bags of character. The food was excellent (although my style was cramped by the aforegoing lurgi), the room perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean, the lounge second to none in Olde Worlde charm - they give you a little bell to tingle if you want another brandy - the foyer elegant and the overall atmosphere brilliant. But the main Smarty Points are earned by the staff. What a bunch of friendly, caring, smiley, smart, efficient troops. Now, I don't know if the female members have to pass a Beauty Test to get a job, but it certainly looks that way, and it's far better then your drinkie-poos being brought by somebody that looks like Mother Shipton, I can tell you. But the big question, as always, is "would I go back?" Wi'out a doubt, luv, wi'out a doubt!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are really charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dafydd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We picked this Hotel as it was rated the best in Wisbech, and looked really nice right in the centre of town. And it had a free car park. All plus points.

The reception was warm and welcoming, but we had not appreciated we would have to carry our luggage up 56 old uneven stairs! Our room at the very top (costing £75 a night B&B) had one small window that opened - but had to be propped open with a roled up towel! The bathroom floor had dirty marks behind the basin and in the corner by the bath. The "gold" taps and drain in the hand basin were very well worn. The rubber at the bottom of the shower screen needs replacing as it is coming away. The shower flow was weak. The tv was too small to be watched from the bed. There was only one tea bag each and one coffee sachet each. (Very mean for the price).

The breakfast room was very elegant - but the breakfast itself was not. Overcooked leathery bacon, cheap sausage and TINNED mushrooms! The toast came just on a plate (no toast rack). And coffee from a help youself thermos. Really not good enough.

So disappointing that a lovely looking hotel should offer such poor facilities.

The next night we stayed in a Premier Inn (£33 bed only). Spotless bedroom and facilities and as much tea and coffee as you want. This is the future of hotels. You must up your game if you want to compete.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WJJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

400 year old stair case surrounded by an even older coach house.

For these British old buildings you have to expect the odd creak and oddly shaped rooms as the land lord tries to marry 1600 design with 21 century function. Wifi through out average breakfast coffee from earns. If it's market day and you didn't know be warned if you parked out front the market inspector was less than friendly.
In the bar there is no real ale on tap.
For breakfast it was cooked well and quickly but the ingredients were less than top quality. The sausage was deep fried and not from a butchers. Coffee from a large thermos inns age where people buy a coffee for 3-4£ onbthe street there is no excuse for real coffee served to the table. Could be great but these days needs to do better.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank AJJ1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisbech
1.3 mi away
Elme Hall Hotel
Elme Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wisbech
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Wisbech
91 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
769 reviews
11.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#10 of 15 in King's Lynn
299 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Oliver Cromwell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose and Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown Hotel

Address: 23 Market Place, Wisbech PE13 1DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Wisbech
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wisbech
Price Range: £68 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rose and Crown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within the thriving town of Wisbech,Cambridgeshire,The Rose and Crown Hotel re-opened in June 2012 under new management and after extensive refurbishment. It proudly takes centre stage as the jewel in the crown of Market Square. The Rose and Crown Hotel, parts of which date back as far as 1435, exudes a refined, relaxed charm that will instantly put you at ease with its warmth and welcome. We offer 26 beautifully styled rooms including superior suites, doubles and family rooms, and provide exceptional dining experiences, a beautiful wedding location and excellent conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rose and Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Wisbech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing