We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb restaurant in a lovely part of the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant in a lovely part of the world”
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Can't comment on the hotel element I this place but happy to report a second positive experience of the food offering.

Called in on the way back from a day out and ate from the Sunday roast menu which it has to be said offers great value, great choice and superb quality. Service friendy and switched, food well presented and plentiful and atmosphere great. Alderley Edge can be a bit pretentious and it is delightful to report that such attitude isn't apparent at The Merlin at all - it's relaxed, friendly and extremely welcoming and I would recommend a meal there to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LeeF81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    44
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
16
71
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This hotel we found on the web, because we were visiting Tatton Park Flower Show and needed somewhere to stay close by so that we could get an early start. It was better that we hoped for. The breakfast was lovely and we had two evening meals, ( one was for my birthday ). The food was superb, and it seems quite a popular place for locals to eat as well.
I hope we will be in the area again and wouldnt hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed at The Innkeeper's Lodge The Merlin in order to break a long car journey. The hotel/bar/restaurant is attractive, contemporary and modern with 2 great log fires in the bar area, with many of the lovely Victorian building's architectural features retained. The manager who booked us in was extremely helpful and polite, stressing that if we needed anything we had her mobile number to call her. We were happy to hear that we would be able to get a table in the restaurant for a meal after a long day in the car. Our room was large, furnished in a comfortable, contemporary style at the front of the building looking over the garden, with a modern en-suite. Ample quality bathroom products and refreshments were provided. We had no trouble getting a table in the restaurant although the restaurant was busy, and the staff were extremely helpful and polite. We ordered a main and a dessert. My partner was happy with the size and quality of his steak and the Spelt, Barley Risotto had a curious set of spices - although the whole spices of clove and whole cinnamon bark tend to mostly be lifted out of Indian dishes when used - but it wasn't unpleasant. My partner was very happy with the crumble and custard, however I found a hard piece of transparent plastic in my ice cream Coupe (the madeira cake chunks weren't listed on the menu as an ingredient and the amount of icecream served was on the mean side) - I pointed out the problem with the dessert to the lovely waitress and she kindly offered a complimentary coffee which we didn't take her up on as we don't actually drink coffee and wanted to head to bed as all we really wanted was an early start the next morning. The bar hours on a Sunday are published as ending at 10.30pm so we can understand why there might be some music until then, but the music continued in the bar below our room until well after then - after a long time we were so tired we fell asleep - the music had finished by the time I woke up again at 0100hrs feeling extremely tired. It is good to get some air with the window open at night, but the road noise is louder when the rush hour starts. I think The Merlin's bedroom accommodation is probably best suited for larger parties of people (stag and hen nights, girls weekends away) and not ideally suited for exhausted travellers who need a quiet night before a long drive. I think The Merlin needs to address the problems of bar noise affecting its overnight guests. The young staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemmySouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
retford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed here one night with our young son in room 9 which was a family room. The bar and restaurant downstairs was very nicely decorated in a contemporary style. The bedroom was decorated in a typical boutique style..but it looked like it had been done maybe five years ago as the were bits and pieces missing..eg, the nozzle on the hair dryer was missing, the handle on the shower door was missing making it difficult to open it if it had been closed. The toilet roll holder needs attention to stop it spinning, and the tissue dispenser on the bathroom wall had no tissues in it. Considering that there were three of us staying in the room, only two cups and two glasses were supplied, and the same with the disposable cups in the bathroom.
There was no full length mirror, nor was there a mirror where you could sit down to do your make up...it was also rather dark. It would have been helpful to have a stool to sit on by the wall mirror for hair drying.
The paint in the bathroom was heavily stained by water as if someone had left the shower on hot for ages without the extractor on. There were splatters of someone else's toothpaste on the mirror frame in the bathroom and someone else's soap suds on the shower dial.

As a point to mention to the management...if a child were to bolt the bathroom door from the inside there is absolutely no way of getting into them which we thought was bad. Not really sure why you need a bolt on a bathroom door in an ensuite room , but there you go!
The fold down bed was ok but had rather large side gaps and mechanism which a child could easily hurt itself on

Breakfast was continental style and was very good with a wide selection of bread, pastries, meat and cheese, yogurts, cereals, muffins, fruit.
service at breakfast was a little disappointing and we had to ask twice for coffee refills, cleaning staff were actually more friendly and attentive than the person who was meant to be attending.
Overall we had a pleasant one night stay.. With a bit of attention to detail and cleaning better it would live up to its four star rating.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therichis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The Merlin was easy to find and situated conveniently near a major roundabout although it still had a rural look. The room was comfortable with an excellent shower. The food was very good for both evening meal and breakfast. The staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive, and we felt welcome and refreshed after our journey. Altogether we'd recommend it as a stopover, and for anyone living nearby as a good venue for a meal, or even a drink or two.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel may be the quietest - and we'd advise that it's better not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyRabbit09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We travelled from Edinburgh to Alderley Edge this weekend for a family birthday and stayed for 2 nights in the Merlin. From check in to departure we felt the service we received was excellent. As as family with a toddler, the staff were all very attentive and help. The first celebration dinner was the restuarant in the Merlin- the food and service was again excellent for out group of 14 in the private dining area. Would recommend to anyone. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 5 very small if you require a cot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akvaleriote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed at the Merlin for a friend's birthday party.

Booking process was a little complicated as when I rang The Merlin they cannot take room bookings as it is run by The Inn Keepers Lodge. I had to ring a different number and did not get a confirmation email or letter.

As we arrived the bar was really busy but we found a parking space and were seen to promptly.

They gave us the key and told us the direction of the room. They did offer to help with our bags but as we were only staying for one night we didn't need help.

We were given room 5. The room was small and had a strong smell of air freshener. The room was clean.

Once we had a shower we realised why the air fresher was there. The shower didn't drain properly and the bathroom smelt quite damp.

We ate there for the birthday party in a private room. The food was average and the service was fine.

When we checked out the following morning at 12, which is a decent check out time, especially after a party. Several of the other room doors were open for cleaning. every room we looked in was much bigger than room 5.

Room Tip: Not room 5 it is the smallest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaycharlie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.9 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
377 reviews
1.2 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
2.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
373 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
97 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge
Address: The Merlin | 5-9 Wilmslow Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Wilmslow and picturesque Alderley Edge, this elegant lodge gives you all the charm of a country hotel only 12 miles from Manchester.Dating back to the 1880s and dripping with original features and luxurious touches, it's amongst some of the most characterful accommodation in Cheshire. In fact, it was once one of the grandest private residences in wealthy Alderley Edge. Today it offers 10 comfy, modern rooms and a cosy pub and restaurant, where you can savour fresh, seasonal food in the warmth of a crackling open fire.Alderley Edge may boast the highest number of millionaires per square mile in the country, but there's much more to this pretty village than star watching. It's built upon a sandstone escarpment that overlooks the Cheshire Plain, where walkers will find many picturesque routes criss-crossing its beautiful scenery. The National Trust's Quarry Bank Mill and stylish Knutsford are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merlin Hotel Alderley Edge
Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing