We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal, great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I went out for a meal in the restaurant with some ex work colleagues. We have been coming to The Merlin every few months for several years. The last time we came we went home extremely disappointed, but decided to give it one last try. Wow, am I glad we did. The menu has been improved, the old atmosphere restored, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Particular mentions for Sam, who served us, and Tom, who was the chef and cooked our meals, all of which were superb. It's not the cheapest restaurant, but it is well worth paying a little extra when the food is of a high standard, and this is matched, maybe exceeded, by the quality of service. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your meal at The Merlin, Innkeeper's Lodge, Alderley Edge and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    44
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
16
70
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Merlin is an above average restaurant with accommodation and serves an excellent salt beef sandwich. Our room was huge over looking the car park. Noise from the restaurant was not intrusive, the bathroom well appointed and spotless. Breakfast was excellent, a continental breakfast that included cold meats, fruit and Danish Pastries. The only downside was a lumpy mattress which went boing when either of us moved. At £76 for one night it was the most we have paid for an Innkeepers Lodge, as the object was a good nights sleep I will have to mark it down slightly due to the mattress.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Your review is very helpful to us, and we will take note of the points you have made following your visit to The Merlin, Innkeeper's Lodge, Alderley Edge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I booked here for my wife's 30th Birthday and would highly recommend this hotel. We stayed two nights and dined in the Merlin. We both had the 28 day dry-aged rib-eye steak which was the best steak I've ever eaten. We felt very relaxed in both the bar area and dining room with great decor. The rooms were brilliant, spacious and clean.
We both enjoyed our stay here and would definately stay again. The location is fantastic inbetween Wilmslow (great for shopping), and Alderley Edge (brilliant for bars). I have never felt more relaxed staying in a hotel in this country, and the staff made that possible especially Greg, Joules, Rebecca & Pandy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Merlin, Innkeepers Lodge Alderley Edge.. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I had some trouble finding the hotel as its badly signposted. I would suggest improving this. On arrival at the Innkeepers Alderley Edge I must admit, that from the outside, the hotel looked a bit run down. I wondered if I had made the right decision to stay there. The welcome from reception was very warm although had to pay for the room before being given the key.Then had to pay for the meal separately from the hotel bill. A little bit inconvenient. The rooms are very nice with plama TV, coffee maker and good power shower. The strong point at the Innkeeper's is the food. Absolutely different class. I had seafood starter and linguine main course. It was so good, I could have eaten it twice. Chef is brilliant and unbelievable standard for only £20. Restaurant very nice as is the bar area. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. I enjoyed my stay here and I would stay again. Overall I think the hotel is good. I think there could be a few minor improvements made to take the hotel to another level. The outside of the hotel needs refurbished to reflect the interior and a Innkeeper's sign wouldn't go a miss.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigMcLaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Innkeepers Lodge Alderley Edge . Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I booked this one as it was in a perfect location although I was slightly worried that it may not live up to its 4* rating as the Inn Keepers Lodge hotels are usually 2*/3*. The room was very large, well decorated and offered a very nice bathroom. The bedroom feels a little sparse and could do with some brightening up (pictures/ flowers etc).

Communal areas are ok.

Breakfast was very nice (paid extra for the full cooked), however if staying for more than one night, the continental looked absolutely fine.

Checking in via the pub bar is a little odd but it is at the end of the day, a bar.

Quite expensive for an Innkeepers Lodge but better than I thought it would be.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaywlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The Merlin, Innkeepers Lodge Alderley Edge . We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights for a short break and were impressed from the first phone contact (thanks Rebecca) and all the time we were there. Welcome was great, the room was large, comfortable and quiet. The staff were all lovely, friendly and helpful, Gary and Julian especially. We ate in the restaurant both nights, again very welcoming, good atmosphere and great food. Would definitely recommend the Merlin and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Merlin a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The hotel is fabulous, service & food are impeccable. We were looked after by Lee & Adrian, who were helpful & attending to all of our needs. This is the perfect place to spend a winter weekend, wrapped up by an open fire!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Merlin, Innkeeper's Lodge, Alderley Edge a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.9 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
376 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,558 reviews
1.2 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
373 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
95 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge
Address: The Merlin | 5-9 Wilmslow Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Wilmslow and picturesque Alderley Edge, this elegant lodge gives you all the charm of a country hotel only 12 miles from Manchester.Dating back to the 1880s and dripping with original features and luxurious touches, it's amongst some of the most characterful accommodation in Cheshire. In fact, it was once one of the grandest private residences in wealthy Alderley Edge. Today it offers 10 comfy, modern rooms and a cosy pub and restaurant, where you can savour fresh, seasonal food in the warmth of a crackling open fire.Alderley Edge may boast the highest number of millionaires per square mile in the country, but there's much more to this pretty village than star watching. It's built upon a sandstone escarpment that overlooks the Cheshire Plain, where walkers will find many picturesque routes criss-crossing its beautiful scenery. The National Trust's Quarry Bank Mill and stylish Knutsford are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merlin Hotel Alderley Edge
Innkeeper's Lodge Alderley Edge Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing