We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fascinating and unique place to stay - unbeatable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fascinating and unique place to stay - unbeatable”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This is certainly an unforgettable experience for all the right reasons! We were mesmorised by everything about it: the story and history of the house and family - which is absolutely fascinating, the collections of artefacts and newspaper articles, the quirky doors and bathroom, all the luxurious finishing touches such as the big fluffy dressing gowns and tea and cake! We stayed in the Camelot Suite with it's huge, fabulous bed and crooked walls. We had a lovely warm welcome from both the owner and staff with lots of helpful advice about where to go and stay. Alderly Edge is a beautiful place, packed full of history and legends to explore. The location is perfect for both the village, which is literally around the corner with an excellent selection of restaurants and cafes and the surrounding countryside. We will definitely be visiting again because it really is unbeatable. I had a super 30th birthday surprise and I am certain we will not be able to surpass it but shall simply have to return for more! We can't reccommend it highly enough as an unforgettable and extra-special place to stay. Thank you for a wonderful weekend Ian!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    20
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
68
478
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Everything about our stay was truely excellent. We stayed in the Merlin suite for one night and I wished it had been for longer. The decor has been well thought and there are magical touches all around the suite from fresh flowers, cake, bath robes and a welcome tray. Ian is a fantastic host with lots of really useful tips for where to visit and see in the local area. We loved every minute of our stay and are planning when we can come back again. The surrounding area is full of beauty and the village of Alderley Edge is full of restaurants. The location is perfect - it's just round the corner from the centre of the village. This is without a doubt the best place I have ever stayed. If you are looking for a special place to stay look no further.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubbard23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUSTRALIA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We had a gorgeous 2 nights at the Wizards Thatch. Stayed in the Camelot Suite husband, myself upstairs and son 19yrs in the other room. It is a unique property, and the photos on the website are true. Comfortable bed, tea and coffee and biscuit welcome tray, very cute bathroom, mind your head. The garden is enchanting. We lit the candleabra and sat out in the garden with a bottle of red, divine. Great location, check out the Grill on the Edge - great service and food, easy walking to everything. Thank you Ian we had a lovely stay and it was a memorable 51st birthday for my husband.

Room Tip: The Camelot Suite was perfect for three or four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Where to start? We wanted something different, unique and enchanting and Wizards Thatch gave us everything in abundance. We stayed in the Camelot Suite and were instantly captivated with everything it contained, room to room. This place felt very much like home and we struggled to leave. Ian was a great host and let us enjoy a very laid back Sunday hours after we should have checked out. You can spend lots of time just reading the old newspaper extracts on the wall, watching dvds and playing board games - bliss with a bottle of champagne. The cafe's, bars and restaurants are only a minute's walk away so you can enjoy a breakfast take out or a meal whenever you like. We loved this place and have never found anywhere as hard to leave - we have already booked to go back. It's a real credit to Ian, his wife and everyone that takes such good care of it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This is the best place iv ever stayed in. It's quiet, very different and the town is beautiful with very nice restaurant. My husband brought me here as a surprise and I loved it and will definitely come back. The owner was very friendly and helpful to us.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchy813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Having had our wedding reception at Gawsworth Hall, I had been looking for somewhere nearby, romantic, and that little bit special for our first night of married life. Wizard's Thatch promised all of that and then over delivered in every respect.

We stayed in the Camelot suite, which was spectacular; oozing character but also comfort. The living room and bedroom are every bit as characterful as the website suggests, but there were a number of lovely extra touches, such as the ginger cake, the tubs of sweets, and so on.

To cap it all off, Ian was extremely helpful. As Camelot wasn't in use the following night, he made a point of telling us to be very relaxed about when we left, which was much appreciated.

Will definitely be back, probably for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonK284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed Saturday night in the 'Camelot Suite', this is our second visit, the first time we stayed in 'The Wizardry' and again we were bowled over with the attention to detail and sheer quality of the cottage. Its a real haven and we just didn't want to leave. The lively bars and restaurants are just steps away, its a perfect romantic weekend getaway. We have already recommended this to our friends and we'll definitely be back again soon. Ian is an absolute gentleman and a pleasure to deal with, he even called after we left to ensure our stay met our expectations - and it certainly exceeded them yet again! This place is a must stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
376 reviews
16.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,169 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
373 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Property: Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge
Wizards Thatch At Alderley Edge Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing