We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Had a lovely stay in the Camelot Suite. Gorgeous room with everything you could need.
Ian was most helpful and attentive. This is such an unusual and unique place not to be missed.
Just go and experience!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieBWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    18
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
66
470
8
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Simply a lovely cottage to spend the weekend or a getaway. Very clean and cosy, with really soft terry towels. Ian is as usual super friendly and always willing to help with any questions one may have. We had a wonderful stay and we come back every year. We stayed at the Wizardy Suite which has a double bed and a separate single bed in another room. ts easy to get food (Pub across the street) and a range of restaurants along the main road.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Myself and my wife decided on a spare of the moment break and thanks to the comments on Trip Advisor we choose to stay at Wizards Thatch. We wanted somewhere less than an hour away and slightly different than your normal hotel.We stayed in the Wizardry and it certainly ticked all the boxes.The attention to detail and quality of decor were superb. My wife has had both of her hips replaced three weeks ago and had a brilliant nights sleep in the very large and comfortable four poster bed. Ian the owner and the housekeeper made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We will recommend this unique experience to our friends and family. We are both looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The Wizardry has it's own private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high wycombe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed in the Wizardry suite and, like everyone else who's stayed here, were delighted. It seems a pity to give away the detail of this suite so I won't! Suffice to say that the pictures cannot fully do it justice. We were undecided whether it seemed more Hobbit house or Womble abode; either way, it really is an escape from everyday reality. You've got to try the chocolate tea too!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aishlynsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

wonderful overnight stay in the Wizardry....will defo recommend it to everyone and would love to stay again. I agree with all the other reviews, you won't be disappointed. we liked it so much we got a takeaway instead of going out......we can go to a restaurant anytime , but we only had the one night at WT...
the Wizard tearoom did a great breakfast , & nice walks up there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trentham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I had booked 1 night in the Camelot Suite for my husbands birthday. Then I decided that 1 night would not be enough and I was right. Even the weekend was not enough time to spend in such a wonderful place. Ian met us and showed us round. The suite was fantastic. There was so much to see.The DVD and CD collection alone would have kept us going but then there were all the up to date magazines to read and the sheer beauty of the place to admire. We ate at the Wizard one night which was as good as it always is and the Merlin in the village the next night (first time there and would go back). We had breakfast in the suite and it was lovely to be able to do this in comfort and privacy. Wizards Thatch is so well situated to stroll into the village which we did. As we were leaving Ian showed us ine of the other suites the Merlin which was also lovely. We will definitely be back and I have already recommended it to friends. Not only was the place brilliant, Ian was friendly bit not al all intrusive and booking was so easy doing it directly through Ian. Thank you for a very magical weekend

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We were greeted by the owner and true gentleman Ian. He shown us around our suite (Camelot) we were also shown another suite (merlin) both were equally as breath taking - words cannot describe the attention to detail that has been given to this truly magical house! It really is home from home...only better! We had planned to go out in Alderley Edge which is a simply stunning town, we were recommended all the hotspots but after a soak in the bath and enjoying the luxury products provided we decided that the suite was too special to leave! We ordered a pizza and were spoilt for choice by an extensive DVD and CD collection! Although it's hard to concentrate when your in a room that boosts so much interest! Every room is special and I can honestly say I have never been so blown away. I can not express how much we enjoyed our stay and we are looking forward to returning again soon. The Wizards Thatch really is best of the best!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
16.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
1.7 mi away
Kingsley Lodge
Kingsley Lodge
#1 of 5 in Wilmslow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Property: Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge
Wizards Thatch At Alderley Edge Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing