We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful time!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We have just got back from a weekend at the Wizards thatch with some of our best friends. What a little treasure!! Its spotlessly clean, very quaint and cosy. Just round the corner from the many bars and restaurants, and Ian is a star. Very friendly and on hand it you need him. We ate at the Wizard at The Edge, which was faultless. Go on give it a go!! Thanks Ian and wonderful housekeeper for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Camelot suite was wonderful for four people!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    21
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
68
479
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
neath
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Fantastic 2 night stay at the wizardry. Would recommend to anyone who finds life interesting.
Ian was a wonderful host even when we turned up late and locked our keys in the house. Nothing was too much trouble, we will be returning for sure.

Village location excellent for eating out we ate ate the Turkish rest which was excellent. Really to many to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelb655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We've just arrived back from a wonderful and peaceful break at the Wizards Thatch, it rained the whole two days, but this didn't dampen our spirits as the location was truly beautiful. We've decided two days wasn't enough!! My partner Antony and I spent over an hour looking around the Thatch at the unique antiquities that each told their own story.

We stayed in the Wizardry and there is not one negative comment to say about it, it was magnificent, from the warm hospitality we received when arriving to the phone call once we arrived home to ensure that everything was satisfactory, a real personal touch.

Local restaurants were wonderful the Lebanese was wonder and we also ventured out into the next village to a place called the stolen lamb which was 10/10!! I would highly recommend both of these.

Walks around the edge were wonderful too.

all in all 10/10 and we WILL be back!

Room Tip: TIP - book directly though the thatch, it's usually cheaper and the check in/check out time are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clanger27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Oldest house in Alderley Edge. Thatched cottage on road to the Edge. Suites are quaint and quirky. Very comfortable and warm (it was cold and very wet when we stayed ) and nice to have a sitting room and little kitchen. Our suite - the Camelot - had an ensuite loo as well as separate bathroom. Breakfast isn't provided although you can request continental which will be left in fridge for you. But the village is well supplied with coffee shops and cafes. There is a little and equally quirky outside area complete with pond. Sadly we shared with heavy smokers and the fumes seemed to get into the hall. Sure thats unusual tho. There are loads of DVDs books and mags including local guide books and maps. Its well located for walking, shopping eating and drinking. Great for a romantic weekend. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at Wizard's Thatch in the Camelot Suite for one night to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. We live only minutes away from Alderley village and yet when we closed the door it felt like we were a world away. The Camelot Suite was very welcoming and cosy with an array of thoughtful extras, such as, fresh milk and water in the fridge, a great selection of teas, coffee, biscuits and to my delight old school sweets!. The suite has two bedrooms, the master being on the first floor with a lovely bathroom. The main feature being the beautiful four poster bed, every in the suite has been selected to create a wonderful atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobberleymuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

After having trouble with Booking.com we went straight to the owner Ian at The Wizard's Thatch who was hugely helpful. I see no benefit in going through an agency and would in future just book directly with Ian!!
Very walm and friendly welcome and departure, and we felt really at home throughout our stay.
We stayed in The Merlin Suite which was just lovely. Set on two levels it had all the gadets you need to feel at home when youre away. Very clean throughout, modern bathroom, cosy (but not in a cramped way), beautifully decorated, really homely touches of books, magazines, CDs etc.
Felt like going back in time, which in this crazy world was just what we needed!
Would definately go back, but would spend more time actually in the suite, just to appreciate the ambience of it all.
Thanks to Ian for helping us out and making our stay a truly memorable one.
Wishing the Wizard's Thatch the best of luck for the future!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally_clegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Had a lovely stay in the Camelot Suite. Gorgeous room with everything you could need.
Ian was most helpful and attentive. This is such an unusual and unique place not to be missed.
Just go and experience!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieBWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
377 reviews
16.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,558 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
97 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Property: Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge
Wizards Thatch At Alderley Edge Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing