We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truely magical place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A truely magical place.”
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

Minutes away from the center of Alderley Edge the wizards thatch transports you back in time and a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The property has been lovingly and sympathetically restored with a great deal of attention being paid to every detail. We stayed in the wizardry, it was comfy, cosy, and full of interesting artefacts. Looking forward to returning and trying out one of the other suites.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen-D-Longmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    19
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
66
475
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Everything we hoped it would be and more. We had such fun on our one night spent here. There was nothing more we could have asked for or wanted. We were just sorry we were only staying the one night. A very special place. I am very fussy, but the accomodation was spotless. Well done and many thanks. We will definitely revisit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

What an truely unique and amazing place Wizards Thatch is. My lovely boyfriend had booked it for us as a complete surprise as he had found it online and decided I'd love it!
How right he was, I felt like the Princess in The Princess and The Pea - the bed was SOOO big and comfy.
I loved the attention to detail, and spent hours looking at all the antiques and curiosities that provide the atmosphere and sense of escapism that Wizards Thatch gives you.
The location is brilliant for Alderley Edge high street which we ventured out to in the evening - although it would have been just as wonderful to stay in as it's so romantic.
We were lucky enough to be shown around all the rooms, and it's fair to say they are all as quirky and oppulant as each other.
Ian was a wonderful host and we both hope to be able to return in the not too distant future.
We will DEFINITELY stay again when we next travel to Cheshire.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

User Friendly Review:
Fantastic hospitality, stunning place, amazing atmosphere and history and best night sleep in the biggest bed EVER. We stayed in the Wizardry- authentic and enchanting without a hint of cheesiness!

What I Really Want To Say:
We went to Wizards Thatch on a week night expecting something good and got something AMAZING. We stayed in the Wizardry Suite for one night to get away form it all and escape for a night, sometimes it can be hard to just relax and forget about work but this place was so calming it was easy to forget the world. I spent the whole time beaming - the atmosphere felt so cozy and warming. Time seems to stand still while your there and we had no desire to even go out for tea- we took our own dinner (microwave friendly as there is no oven, not that it matters) and we didn't want to leave the next day.
We received a warm welcome from Ian, the owner who gave us a tour of the suite before we settled in and told us a bit about the history. After that we were given a key and left to do as we pleased- the place is so quirky and full of so much memorabilia to look at and read it is enchanting. A large DVD and CD collection and TV in the corner of the gigantic four poster was a nice touch. The suite is so quirky and stunning- whilst full from top to bottom it is equally spotless and well kept. We will DEFIANTLY be going again and DEFIANTLY recommend. Perfect, and oh so romantic!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We have been to stay 3 times at Wizards thatch, when you close the door you are in a different world, my wife loves the cosy Harry Potter style cottage, you could spend weeks looking at all the nik naks and books etc.
Ian is the most welcoming of Hosts,the rooms are a delight the beds sooo comfy.
Down side is parking.
Also I must recommend the Alderley Hotel almost opposite, amazing food.
For a romantic night or weekend ,Wizards Thatch is a must.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sanchez341958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmaenmawr
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Really relaxing, warm and comfortable rooms. Slept really well. Really close to village and all eating places, shops, bank etc. Warm welcome provided and plenty of local information. Beautifully restored 400 year old property, so plenty of character, uneven floors, beams etc. Amazing attention to detail and four poster bed in main bedroom. Plenty of drinks and treats provided.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jocarupen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buxton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Having stayed in many places over the years it takes something rather special to move me to write about a place I have stayed. Wizards Thatch is more than rather special. It is the most romantic, cozy and quintessentially English cottage we have ever been lucky enough to find. You can use so many descriptive words to tell the reader how lovely this quaint cottage is, but the truth is non could do it true justice. Suffice to say that when staying away we always choose somewhere special to eat out in the evening. None could be more special than our choice the night we stayed at the cottage....we stayed in. If you want the accommodation experience of a lifetime my simple advice is book Wizards Thatch. It is, well,..... see for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VeggieDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
361 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,518 reviews
16.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Kingsley Lodge
Kingsley Lodge
#1 of 5 in Wilmslow
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Property: Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge
Wizards Thatch At Alderley Edge Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing