We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Night”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had a truly memorable stay here on the night of our wedding. The location is great and the decor unique. The four poster bed was very comfortable. Ian was a fantastic host from the time of our booking to our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SW555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    20
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
68
477
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
braunton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Probably the best place my family have ever stayed . Truly beautiful . We stayed in the camelot .if we are ever up near Manchester again we will definitely stay there . Great restaurants in the high st but we got a takeaway delivered because we wanted to stay in and not miss out on the experience

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clive j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at the wizards thatch for two nights booked as a surprise birthday treat for my wife , We had a very warm welcome from sue who showed us around the wizardry suite we were both amazed it is just a magical place its full of unusual objects. The wizards thatch is located in Alderley Edge plenty of shops and eating places .Ian the owner is very helpful and will take time to show you the other suites.We would definitely love to go back its just a very special place and we Highly recommend the Wizards Thatch. P.S the ginger cake was great .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyBoaters835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

It was like stepping back in time, what a magical place, we stayed in the Wizardry, I had seen the cottage on four in a bed, must say Ian and Ali where the nicest couple on the programme, didn't get to see them in person as they were away but did speak on the telephone several times, making sure we where fully aware of everything. I wasn't sure whether the ginger cake was to eat or just one of the many knick knacks of the cottage, so didn't eat. Don't do like we did if you stay in the wizardry spend 15 minutes trying to find the light switch for the stairs, there isn't one. You sit there and suddenly you spot a light switch(lights and lamps all over) or treasure you didn't notice before this went on for our full two day stay spotting new things all the time.
We had Sunday roast at Alderley Bar & Grill this was divine and the staff were so nice and attentive, we also would sit outside for afternoon drinks and watch the world go by as they
have outside heaters.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbowpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

After visiting earlier this year we couldn't wait to return. This time we stayed in the Camelot suite, previously we stayed in The Wizardry. This time round we took our friends and the suite accommodated us all comfortably (4 adults). The suite was spotless and the fresh lilies were an added bonus! Ian, the owner, is charming and very welcoming and the village of Alderley Edge is full of delightful restaurants and bars. Can't wait to return to my favourite hideaway!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Definitely quirky and a magical place to stay especially for romantic break or young chidren. it's intimate, eclectic and crammed full of knick-knacks. Loved the big comfy sofa in the Wizardry lounge and little extras like welcoming Jamaica ginger cake. Makin bedroom so luxurious and the batch towels are the softest and thickest I've ever used.

Perfectly placed for centre of Alderley Edge which has plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants. You can have a light breakfast delivered to the suite but most do what I did which is go into the village to eat.

Room Tip: Each suite is unique but I loved the Wizardry which is spaceous and would be great for couple or sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuirkyTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

As a frequent UK-US traveller, I look for special places to spend a transatlantic stopover night rather than book into a boring airport hotel.

The Wizards Thatch is a true gem and worth the 10 minute taxi ride from Manchester Airport. From the moment you arrive at the thatch covered entrance to when you open up the 300 year old door of your suite you know it's going to be an exceptional visit. I stayed in the Wizardry which is like stepping back in time with a vast variety of historical artifacts openly on display. Although Alderley Edge has a great variety of restaurants, my recommendation would be to grab a curry from the Balti House and a bottle of good wine from Corks Out (both within a 4 minute walk) and enjoy them back in the ambience of your room.

It is very rare to find a 99% Tripadvisor rating - but in this case it is thoroughly deserved.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCooperATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
369 reviews
16.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,157 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
369 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Property: Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge
Wizards Thatch At Alderley Edge Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing