We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect romantic break...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect romantic break...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the wizards thatch for one night as part of her birthday celebrations.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Ian who couldn't have been more helpful. He showed us to our suite(the wizardry) and as it was raining took us a way which was he stated was less drippy. Although that may seem like nothing, it made me feel the our well being was of his upmost importance from the word go!

Entering the wizardry through a low door we were shown through all the lighting arrangements and amenities the suite had to offer. Ian was also very knowledgable on alderley edge itself telling us about the local restaurants and attractions.

When Ian left and we began to explore the Suite. The sheer depth and history of the place was amazing. There are some extrordinary antique pieces in there.

The downstairs sitting area was lovely and cosy and great for relaxing. There's something about the place that just strips away the speed and madness of normal life and envelops you in peace.

Upstairs there are 2 rooms, one single/dressing area and one double with separate bath and separate w/c rooms. The double housing an enormous 4 poster bed which is the comfiest bed I've ever splept on.

Although Ian did give us a lot information regarding Alderley Edge we just didn't want to leave the property. We got a take away delivered and spent the evening soaking up the lovely romantic atomosphere the suite offers

All in all a magical stay that I would happily recommend to others and gladly return for another visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnboy1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    18
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
66
470
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Having lived in Alderley Edge for a short time we often walked pasted the Wizards Thatch and wondered what it was like inside. I arranged to stay for a weekend in December and we were warmly welcomed by Ian who showed us to the Merlin Suite. It was truly amazing! Very old but with just the right level of modern touches to make our stay fantastic!

The location is perfect for the great bars and restaurants of the village and the parking around the corner really isn't a problem at all!

We had a great weekend...and to top it off I proposed...and she said "Yes!" !!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olimango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We used this fanstasy island to both prepare and recover from our our wedding. Ian could not have been more helpful in assisting me in choosing the room for my then fiancee to prepare in. Then it was no trouble whilst we were at the ceremony for his housestaff (undoubtedly aided by the numerous teddy bears) to move her things into another of the three suites for our first wedded nights together. Uniquely decorated it was a most romantic place to decompress and unwind. Short walks into the beautiful village allow you to find breakfast, lunch or dinner in any of several eateries. We were unfortunately ill during our stay, but the chemist was not far and Ian called in and offered to turn up the heating for us which was much appreciated. Cannot mark pool for it had none, and room service comes to a microwave, toaster, kettle and reasonably sized fridge. Overall loverly sideways step from reality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeahavenScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

A fabulous and enchanting experience. It may only have three rooms but they are packed with character and it really is an extraordinary place to stay. It's rooms (lounge and bedroom) are spacious and well appointed, the four poster bed is large and comfortable and the uniqueness of the decor is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Having been dreaming of visiting The Wizards Thatch for a while I was lucky enough to win an overnight stay in a magazine competition. Unsure which of the 3 suites to book I spoke with Ian (the owner) on the phone who kindly talked me through the highlights of each one - I eventually chose The Camelot due to the romantic huge four poster bed.

On the phone, and in a post reservation email Ian offered us advice on things to do in Alderley Edge. This invaluable advice on the best bars, restaurants and country walks enabled us to research and plan our stay to get the best out of our first visit to this beautiful Cheshire village.

We arrived at 2.30pm on a crisp Sunday afternoon and Ian greeted us at the property. You feel a million miles away from any hustle and bustle on the pretty country lane yet are literally a stone's throw from the delights of Alderley Edge high street.

We were the first guests of the day to arrive and so, after a tour of our suite from Ian, we were offered a tour of the other suites (Merlin & The Wizardry) which we excitedly accepted. All 3 suites are eccentricity stunning - cosy, romantic and so unique. You really do feel like you have your own county cottage for the night.

With the cosy eclectic clutter, low wooden beams and numerous nooks and crannies you assume there will be dust but the entire suite is absolutely spotlessly gleaming and clean. The CD player had a compilation of love songs all ready to press play - numerous other little touches throughout the property make this place utterly romantic which was perfect for us as newlyweds.

We caught the train from Alderley Edge into Manchester (20 mins) to visit the German Christmas Markets before heading back to the village and dining in Gusto's and spending the rest of the evening in The Bubble Room.....The Wizards Thatch was literally a 30 second walk home.

The next morning we ventured out to one of the Italian cafe's in the village for breakfast - with all the variety on your doorstep it would actually be a shame if breakfast was provided as you wouldn't experience all the culinary delights that Alderley Edge has to offer.

On Ian's earlier advice we headed into The National Trust woodland for a country walk, the stunning views across the Cheshire countryside are breathtaking.

Overall The Wizards Thatch is utterly romantic - every couple in love should visit!



Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonning-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Am amazing place to stay. Alderley Edge is a lovely village surrounded by some beautiful countryside but what a treat to stay somewhere 'a bit different'. From the moment you arrive at Wizard's Thatch the whole experience is very different from any ubiquitous hotel stay you may have had before. Yes there is tea and coffee (and fresh milk and cake!), yes there is clean linen and towels and toiletries but nothing else is the same from the personal and warm welcome from the owners who show you around to your first step into your room. We stayed in the Wizardry and while I would have to say I would shy away from the suggestion that you feel like a hobbit (or indeed a Harry Potter character) when entering I would take from Tolkein that it could be a hobbit hole - 'because that means comfort'. That however does not do justice to the very carefully thought out and individual surroundings that you find yourself in. The lounge areas is amazing and you find yourself forgetting for a moment why you are there - and then when you make it up the wonky stairs to the bedrooms - wow! - just so cosy and wonderful. Yes it is old fashioned and quirky but not at the expense of any modern details that you may wish for.
I have to say that the guest book would suggest that several people didn't go out in the end they just wanted to enjoy their surroundings - we were joining up with friends - so didn't explore as much as we might have - but it just means we shall have to return!
Thank you to Ian for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The Wizardry is self contained and quite magical - although I am sure the other rooms are lovely to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merywyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

This was the second time we have stayed at the wizards thatch both did not disappoint. The first stay we were in the camelot room, it was propably one the most unique B&B experiences we have had. Every room has something new and different to look at and in both the rooms we stayed in (second time being the wizards suite) we could have spent hours looking at all the collectables. on our first visit we did venture to one of the many resturants close by but on our second stay we decided to make the most of the experience and get a take away. Both rooms are full of home comforts like fluffy bath robes and towles also Ian left us some lovely ginger cake and cold drinks in the fridge. We decided not to order breakfast as on our first trip we noticed that the rooms are equiped with toasters and microwaves so we wanted to make the most of our stay and make our breakfast. Feel as though i must comment on how comfortable the four poster beds in both rooms are, i have the best nights sleep here, the room is nice and dark at night and relaxing and this doesnt come lightly as i am a restless sleeper! Ian is very helpful from the moment you book up until the moment you leave and is very accomodating, He was kind enough to give us a tour of the whole property! We will definatly be returning in the near future and this we will be bringing our 10 year olds along two as this has something for everyone. We have already recommened the wizards thatch to many of our friends, an experience not to be missed!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
16.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
1.7 mi away
Kingsley Lodge
Kingsley Lodge
#1 of 5 in Wilmslow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Property: Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge
Wizards Thatch At Alderley Edge Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing