We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Have been all over England and Wales and never come accross a place that even comes close to being as beautiful as the " Wizards Thatch". It is the most enchanting, magical, amazing, wonderful fairy tale cottage . This was our second stay and both visits were extraordinarily special. Will be returning again and again. Diana and Kevin.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2009

If you're looking for somewhere to get away from it all - look no further.....

Tucked away yet within walking distance for all the bars and restaurants un Alderley Edge - The Wizards Thatch is a truly magical experience and like stepping back in time.

Thank you Ian for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevlmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Wizards Thatch is something else. A gorgeous thatched roof little treasure which was picture perfect inside and out. Literally seconds away from the main road which houses all the bars and resturaunts it was the perfect little get-away to celebrate our first Valentines as a married couple. The bedroom is amazing with the biggest four poster we have ever slept in, the bed itself was pure romance. I loved that all the original features had been kept and the original beams were all in place. It was literally like stepping back into time and a great escape from the real world. I will be recomending this place to all my friends and family. Although some may think its abit costly for one night its worth it as the place is spic and span clean, the owners really nice and the cottage is a little cozy gem which you wont find anywhere else. Being so close to all the shops and bars was great (theres parking at the cottage so you can walk) and we sampled some terrific steaks at the Alderly edge bar and grill which was just over the road. A really fab charming and homely cottage which gets 5 stars from me!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

What a find this place is! Its a very quirky cottage at the foot of the "edge" in Alderley Edge. Next to the old post office. Passed this place many many times but hadn't realised it was offered as a place to stay. Upon arriving at the rose covered thatched cottage, greeted by the owner, who went into some intresting history of the place. He showed us round the place you enter into a loung which has a leather sofa and chair, TV coffee/tea making facilites microwave, toaster. The place has two bedrooms, we stayed in the master which has a loo off the bedroom, TV and four poster bed(very comfortable) On the same level there is a bathroom. The cottage has beams everyplace and is very cosy. What a great find this place is, will definately go again. All the effort the owners have put into this place has defenately paid off.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: C'est une maison très ancienne avec des escaliers charmants mais biscornus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alynel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015
Thank biroldayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
0.1 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
384 reviews
16.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,607 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
145 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge

Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alderley Edge
Price Range: £113 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wizards Thatch has three self contained luxurious 5 star suites filled with sumptuous leather furniture & antique prints, created in a centuries old thatched property. Less than a minute from the centre of Alderley Edge - famous for its celebrity restaurants and National Trust countryside. This family run establishment boasts some of the largest and most comfortable four poster beds in Cheshire, draped in red and gold tapestries. Less than 5 miles from Manchester Airport. All suites have free WiFi Internet access and are serviced daily. Described as "the most romantic place to stay in all of England". The Wizardry, Camelot and Merlin Suites are totally individual where you can totally relax and let the centuries old aura cast its spell on you - as one guest put it "This should be a well guarded secret." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Wizards Thatch at Alderley Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wizards Thatch Hotel Alderley Edge
Wizards Thatch At Alderley Edge Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing