We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small portions, bad attitude”
Review of Konak Turkish Restaurant - CLOSED

Konak Turkish Restaurant
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This chic and affordable Turkish restaurant in Alderley takes its name from an old Turkish word meaning 'luxurious mansion' – a place where servants pamper their masters. Sounds good to us! Sit back and enjoy your pampering and the fantastic service in Konak Turkish Restaurant’s stylish dining room surrounded with white leather banquettes, colourful cushions and dark wooden furniture. The menu features traditional Turkish dishes and popular choices include the Konak Lamb Balls, Apricot and Honey Chicken and the Chargrilled Halibut Steak. The relaxed atmosphere and super-friendly service make Konak Turkish Restaurant a favourite with the locals. Booking is essential for Friday and Saturday nights.
Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“small portions, bad attitude”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The platter was £10 each and we ordered two as starters. Really poor value, as they were small, and the bread was one sliced pita in total.
Service was slow, despite it being not busy, as only one other table was occupied. It took one and a half hours for mains to arrive.
The mains were awful with undercooked chicken and despite being bloody, the staff (a man in jeans) tried to insist the blood was "juices".The stuffed aubergine was tiny,on a bed of sliced tomato, despite no such mention on the menu. Five of us came out hungry, and the bill large even with us not paying for the raw chicken meals. This place was not authentic - both in its food or in living up to its name. Nothing lavish here and no doting service. There are many many better places to eat in the area and much better service too. We are very used to Turkish food, and service and this place offered neither.
Oh and no childrens menu so beware as they expect customers to pay full mains price for kids.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissDollyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

My family and I visited Konak in March 2014 - what a fabulous night! Attentive and friendly service, great atmosphere and delicious food. The bill was very reasonable and the portions perfect. We will be back and recommending to all our friends.

Helpful?
Thank Ourhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Food well prented”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I have to admit that Konak was not our first choice for the 6 of us on Wednesday but the alternatives were fully booked due the 50% oof offer .However we had a very nice evening . The Food was good apart from the mixed starter platter which was disappointing in both variety and quantity.We were told that it would do 2 people but it wont.The other starters tabouleh ,baked prawns and fishcakes were well received. The main courses were equally impressive especially the lamb cutlets and lamb skewer. very tender meat well cooked ( pink ) and presented with saute potatoes and roast veg.. .The service is a bit careless with one of us left waiting for food at each course when only 5 out of 6 plates arrived . ( this is never acceptable restaraunts please note !!).
I would agree that this is not as authentic Turkish as it could be but its pretty good never the less .With a bit of attention to detail and perhaps some promotions they could do alot better but Alderley Edge is a hotbed of competition.Empty tables are not a good advert in a street full of busy eateries.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steelman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Too expensive for a Turkish restaurant!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Having eaten at Konak many times over several year, since changing hands a couple of years ago the restaurant has become too expensive. After visiting with friends recently we had a reasonable meal, but the bill for four was £160. The food was fine/good, portions OK, and yes we had plenty of wine (only the house wine) and the guys had a couple of beers each, but this isn't fine dining and the bill was just too high for a Turkish meal. The restaurant used to be packed and you struggled to get a table, but I should have know something wasn't quite right when ringing on a Saturday afternoon to book for that evening and finding they had plenty of availability. There were only three or four tables booked. Such a shame as we won't return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food but very very slow and not traditional Turkish”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

OK, I have to start with the fact that the food tonight was excellent, no complaints at all with the taste or quality, and all cooked very well.
However, this is like nothing I have ever been served in Turkey in many years both in tourist areas and with local friends outside of tourist areas.
The portions were NOT small, they were fine.
The time to serve us was tonight an issue, two people were in the restaurant when we arrived, they had eaten, therefore there were no orders in front of us. I did not time it but it was between 45 minutes to 1 hour to get our food, in what was at that time an effectively empty restaurant, not as good as it could have been.
I had lamb cutlets, very nice, the accompaniments were not what you would get in Turkey but were also very nice.
My wife had a chicken casserole (possibly the reason for the delay) we expected something like a guvec (sorry cannot do the accent on the c) but it was in a tomato based sauce, whilst nice we must have missed this in Turkey.
Once again I must say that the food was very very nice and I would recommend the restaurant to anyone but if you want authentic then go elsewhere.
The young ladies serving and taking the orders were polite and friendly.
I think the chef(s) may not be Turkish but I do not know for sure.
Don't let this review put you off as you will have a great meal if my experience is typical, just do not expect traditional Turkish cuisine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Konak Turkish Restaurant also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing