We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the evening”
Review of Konak Turkish Restaurant - CLOSED

Konak Turkish Restaurant
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This chic and affordable Turkish restaurant in Alderley takes its name from an old Turkish word meaning 'luxurious mansion' – a place where servants pamper their masters. Sounds good to us! Sit back and enjoy your pampering and the fantastic service in Konak Turkish Restaurant’s stylish dining room surrounded with white leather banquettes, colourful cushions and dark wooden furniture. The menu features traditional Turkish dishes and popular choices include the Konak Lamb Balls, Apricot and Honey Chicken and the Chargrilled Halibut Steak. The relaxed atmosphere and super-friendly service make Konak Turkish Restaurant a favourite with the locals. Booking is essential for Friday and Saturday nights.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the evening”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had an enjoyable meal here one night the other week.

The meal was enjoyable, tasty and flavoursome.
I am not an expert on Turkish food and other than the obvious, would not know what was traditional home cooked fair or otherwise, however, the food I had I enjoyed and that to me is what counts.

The restaurant decor was clean and welcoming, the lady serving us friendly, chatty and polite.

Portion sizes were ok and acceptable to me but I could see how others may think that they were small.
Food was more pricey than expected but I would say that was more to do with it being Alderley Edge and perhaps to make up for accepting "Groupon" vouchers?!
Not a criticism, just a point to be aware of.

All in all, an enjoyable evening

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake-Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family meal”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Ate there after buying groupon voucher. Starters were great , wasn't impressed with mains. Would have been gutted if we had paid full price.
Restaurant decor was nice and atmosphere and staff were good.
We would try again, next time would avoid chicken dishes. All the the lamb dishes and specials looked very nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank kpleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“VERY POOR FOOD & POOR SERVICE MY ADVICE WOULD BE TO AVOID THIS 'RESTAURANT'”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We visited Konak restaurant in Alderley Edge on a Thursday evening using a Groupon voucher. One warning I would give to other potentially unwary Groupon diners would be to make sure any order falls within the strict monetary limits for each course, as many menu items are above the permitted value, and if you exceed the limit (even by a few pence) a £3 surcharge will be applied to each item.

I had high hopes for this restaurant, after all Alderley Edge is home to many glitterati who I was sure would have discerning palates so we were in for a culinary treat weren’t we.............................?

The restaurant was quite empty with only three tables occupied including ours so we could see no reason why we were forced to wait 90 minutes between courses. Indeed, one of my guests actually walked to the bar to request something from the waitress, who responded with a facile giggle and a continuation of the appalling service we had experienced up to this point.

Onto the food then and after a 15 minute wait our starters arrived, calamari, out of the freezer cabinet – rubbery and poorly cooked; Turkish sausages, out of a packet and OK; stuffed vine leaves, out of a tin and OK; hummus, obviously not from a supermarket because of it’s flavour or rather lack of flavour for it was just a tin of chickpeas blitzed in a food processer with a little salt and no tahini , no olive oil, no garlic and no lemon juice – how can a Turkish restaurant get this wrong?

Thankfully, the hummus was accompanied by a single pitta bread divided into one-inch wide strips and it was nice for us to get two each – more on this later!!!!!!

90 minutes later our main courses arrived, not at once but in three stages – and what an utter shambles. It was with great pleasure that we received our Grilled Prawn Salad with it’s four prawns and their pink charred shells glistening in majestic counterpoint to a selection of green leaves and with one per diner at a heady £4 EACH we nibbled them appreciatively and just finished them when the second stage of the meal arrived

Next came a chicken and apricot dish with an accompanying timbale of rice and a grilled lamb and chicken mixture assembled over a bed of soggy pitta bread which was artfully presented in a tin cat bowl. As we nibbled our way through this fare our third presentation appeared and what a surprise, Turkish meatballs masquerading as four one inch diameter beef burgers that seemed bereft and lonely along with a timbale of rice.

We ate up, asked for the bill and before paying and leaving, there was another sting in the tail – we were charged an additional £1.70 for the pitta bread that accompanied the hummus – what a novel money extorting idea.

So there you have it described, a veritable Turkish feast, Alderley Edge style.

If like me, you expected a typical Turkish meal which to me, is an expression of Ottoman style bursting with the flavours of oregano, pul biber, sumac and mint served by a friendly and welcoming front of house staff then you will be disappointed by this embarrassing excuse of a restaurant.

If however, you are content to experience apathetic service and graze mediocre, insipid, unauthentic fare which represents very poor value for money then feel free to visit Konak – me, well, I will not be making a return visit for I have had a better gastronomic experience at Macdonalds.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sminky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stopped off on way back north after long trip from abroad. Service was prompt and very friendly and the food was extremely good which was just what was needed. Will certainly go back when in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cass515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“small portions, bad attitude”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The platter was £10 each and we ordered two as starters. Really poor value, as they were small, and the bread was one sliced pita in total.
Service was slow, despite it being not busy, as only one other table was occupied. It took one and a half hours for mains to arrive.
The mains were awful with undercooked chicken and despite being bloody, the staff (a man in jeans) tried to insist the blood was "juices".The stuffed aubergine was tiny,on a bed of sliced tomato, despite no such mention on the menu. Five of us came out hungry, and the bill large even with us not paying for the raw chicken meals. This place was not authentic - both in its food or in living up to its name. Nothing lavish here and no doting service. There are many many better places to eat in the area and much better service too. We are very used to Turkish food, and service and this place offered neither.
Oh and no childrens menu so beware as they expect customers to pay full mains price for kids.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissDollyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Konak Turkish Restaurant also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing