We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Loch Fyne - CLOSED

Loch Fyne
Price range: US$42 - US$77
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was the second time that I have been to this restaurant, the atmosphere and service was really good but unfortunatly the food wasnt so great. Its a shame because it has the potential to be really good :(

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Atherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    48
    34
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood. Satisfied.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I had dinner on a Saturday at 6pm. The staff (3 persons standing in different spots) all greeted us with nice smiles. We had lobster bisque as a starter, it was delicious. We shared Fruit of the Loch consisting one lobster, 6 raw oysters, several king prawns and several langoustines. All was fresh. We also ordered chips and seafood medley as side dishes. The medley was really good value. It cost £3.95, consisted of 2 scallops, a king prawn, and mussels. Very tasty. We had apple tart and sticky pudding as desserts. The sticky pudding was nice, it wasn't sickly (not too sweet). We were very satisfied and will return, We want to try the set menu, looks like a good value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-Karlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“if you like seafood ... can't beat this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

fantastic seafood, wonderful service, cosy setting, really nice restaurant, my husband stumbled across this place the week before valentines & as a result booked us a table for lunch on valentines day. It was a great find, I have to say my starter was amazing I had the garlic prawns and I could have eaten them again .. beautiful I felt like I was in spain they were delicious, I also had the King Prawn curry which was very tasty I cleaned the plate .. it was all amazing
we will be back !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kizmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE, GREAT FOOD, POOR SERVICE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We arrived for a Saturday lunch three adults and two fairly young children. The restaurant was half full at most. We were seated on a large table to the rear of the restaurant. We waited a considerable time to order. The menu is varied and the choice of children's meals was above average. We then had a long wait for the adults starters to arrive and the children's meals, the food was good, chicken parfait starter and an Aberdeen Angus burger for one child, and sausage and chips with beans for the other. Both were generous portions( 4 sausages). The adult meals were delicious too. The dessert arrived quickly because I specified that it must, as were now late for another appointment. The staff were cheerful and helpful and I feel that the kitchen was holding up the food, not the serving staff.
I think the management needs to realise that parties with small children cannot be expected to endure long waits as children do get bored. There was really no need for the service to be so slow as the restaurant was only half full. If they cannot cope in the kitchen with a half full restaurant then what must the waiting time be if they are full?
I would go there again as the food and the value were good, but I would need some sort of assurance that if there were small children in the party we would receive a more timely service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I had lunch here with my partner and we really enjoyed the experience. The waiters/waitresses were knowledgeable and very polite. We went for the 2 course set menu (starter and main) and were not disappointed- would definitely recommend the chicken parfait - yum!! General atmosphere and decor was great. We would happily return and found the price reasonable for what we experienced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CD193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loch Fyne also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing