We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay...Not sure if good value though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alderley Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderley Edge
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay...Not sure if good value though”
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

The Alderley edge is a nice hotel. It has nice gardens and generally is quite lovely. However, it's expensive and I am not sure it's quite worth what we paid. The reception staff could be friendlier and a bit more interested when folks arrive. The bar and restaurant staff were very pleasant and helpful. If you are taking a standard room be aware that they are tiny!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Markfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    90
    86
    38
    7
See reviews for
60
140
10
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed at the Alderley Edge Hotel for one night as we were out in the area for a celebration.

Paid £99 for a double room b&b

Lovely setting and grounds, sat outside in the garden with a glass of wine ... Very relaxing.

The hallways, stairwells and corridors are a complete mis match of decor..... I think we counted four different patterns of carpet that didn't match the curtains or chintzy wallpaper.

The rooms was ok.... Small but perfectly serviceable..... Very hot though and the fan provided in the room was most welcome.

There was a wedding on at the hotel when we stayed, so breakfast the following morning was a challenge..... The food was excellent quality and there was plenty of it, it I thought the hotel was struggling to cope with the large number of residents eating breakfast at the same time..... We had to wait for the hot food trays to be filled up and waited about 20 minutes for our tea and coffee.....

Overall it was acceptable but not the best!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkmooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 10 days.

This hotel is a typical English hotel with a cosy atmosphere and friendly staff. I stayed in the third floor and the room was quite small but had all the amenities needed for my stay. I am not a fan of carpet in houses/hotels anywhere really but that's a standard practice in England so I had to do with.

Bed was comfortable and breakfast was good as well as the bistro. The Hotels restaurant apparently is quite famous and has visitors from outside quite frequently. The quality of the food is good and has typical English cuisine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xronis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at the hotel as a special night away.. It was a long time since we last stayed at the edge hotel.. I booked the room through a last minute deal site.. From the moment we arrived until we left, we found the service impeccable . We unfortunately couldn't eat at the hotel as the only booking they had was too late in the evening.. We enjoyed lunch when we arrived and the service was speedy.. The room we had 52. Was small but had everything in that you needed, if not the staff were more than helpful in obtaining it for us.. They delivered us coffee and cakes to our room which we found really home made and very nice. Breakfast was very relaxed and buffet style, and again the service was speedy. The checkout was very pleasant and I cannot fault the service in any way.. It brought back some very special memories for us..

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank village1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton on Thames
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We have recently spent 2 nights at the Hotel. We arrived late on Thurs July 26th. Rather tired after a 4hr journey from London. We had booked a named room , which was slightly more expensive than a normal room. I was rather alarmed when we arrived at the miss match of decor. Check carpet and floral curtains . A bistro had recently been opened , but it looked more like an American diner. Red plastic chairs and sofas.

The room was very small and very hot . Just a small fan to cool the room. The breakfast was excellent and served by a waiter . Cannot remark about the food as we did not eat there.

Alderley Edge lovely , loads of great buzzy restaurants.great shops and beautiful countryside. Plenty to do and a great place to visit. Nearby Hale is also worth a visit with plenty of great restaurants with atmosphere.

Room Tip: Choose a quiet room. We were woken up at least 3 times by noisy people and cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VonyWaltononthames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This was once a fine hotel for a meal or overnight stay but recent renovations have spoilt it.
The bedrooms are still fine but what lets the hotel down is the restaurant which previously had a fine reputation.The food on a recent visit was just average and the service either rude or way over the top. We were a party of seven and were told that if one person wanted the tasting menu then the whole table had to take it which is outrageous. On arrival we were escorted into the lounge area which was cramped with no thought or preparation of the table for drinks...not a good start. The head waiter/ maitre'd was of the old school as if he was doing you a favour to let you dine...not impressive and the waiting staff had left their manners and charm on the doorstep.
When paying in excess of £500 for dinner you expect certain standards and these are sadly lacking at this establishment now.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davideHoveEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

A first stay in this hotel, and you have to bear in mind that there is not a great range of hotels to choose from in this area. The room was very spacious with a large double bed, plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space, a good HD TV showing free sat, and a small bathroom but quite well equipped. I tried the sampling menu in the restaurant, as part of a group booking, and the food was rather ordinary and each course took an age to arrive. On the second night I ate from the plethora of standard menus. They could do with focusing on a more limited menu and doing it well. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,532 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
367 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kingsley Lodge
Kingsley Lodge
#1 of 5 in Wilmslow
326 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderley Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderley Edge Hotel

Property: Alderley Edge Hotel
Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alderley Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elizabethan-Gothic Alderley Edge Hotel, with its panoramic views over the beautiful Cheshire Plain and Derbyshire countryside, is matched only by its superb facilities, excellent reputation and relaxed, inviting atmosphere.The award-winning hotel - with 50 comfortable and welcoming rooms and suites - offers guests the perfect choice of business, pleasure, private dining, corporate entertaining, conference, family celebration and wedding facilities.All supported by exceptionally stylish food from an executive chef and kitchen team whose coveted three AA rosettes standard serves the hotel's Alderley Restaurant and the more traditionaaly casual brasserie. Two very different eating experiences reaching from fine dining to a modern take on high-quality classically retro food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alderley Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderley Edge Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing