We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for weddings, bad for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alderley Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderley Edge
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Not happy with the rooms, that are equipped as romantic love shacks for the lower middle class. Fine when that is your current aspiration in life. For the business traveller however, the hotel doesn't offer what would be appreciated - a quiet room with a good desk to work at and a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Arcoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

The stay at this hotel is completely dependent on which room you get. I've stayed here on five or so occasions now and have had everything from poor to very good.

As one can imagine, the smaller rooms that have not been refurbished are not great, but the ones that have been which includes the suites are good.

A few key issues with the hotel though:
- The hotel is listed as Wi-Fi enabled. It is available in the bar, some parts of the restaurant and in some rooms where the signal reaches. However, if you can get it in your room it will be a weak signal.
- All rooms have ethernet cable to connect to the Internet. However, in some rooms you'll have to unravel 2 metres of cable which barely reaches the desk and is spread across the bed, making it both a nuisance and a hazard.
- Beds are small. For someone who is 6' 1", I have to sleep diagonally on the bed.

Food in the restaurant can be hit or miss, but the cooked breakfasts have generally been quite good.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Probably the best hotel you can stay at in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank royal618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed here for a family wedding and thought we'd treat ourselves given it was a special occasion, I wish we'd stayed at the Premier Inn around the corner for half the price! The hotel itself is very nice, and our room was nice and clean if on the small side for the price. However the hotel was very warm, as thought they'd switched the heating on because it was September and hadn't looked outside to check what the weather was like. It all went wrong for us when we tried to go to sleep. We were in a room on the ground floor and could hear doors closing above us and along the corridor. This we could have gotten used to but not the screaming guests in the next room. The walls were so thin that we could hear their arguments to the point of recognising their voices the following morning! We telephone reception to complain and they came and asked them to keep the noise down but within 2 minutes they were at it again and even a second phone call to reception didn't hush them. They knocked £25 off the bill but that was not enough considering we'd barely slept. I'd have expected this kind of behaviour in a youth hostel or even the premier inn but not at an AA 3 rosette hotel. I won't be staying here again and would recommend the Premier Inn around the corner over this hotel where friends stayed on this occasion and slept like logs.

Room Tip: Avoid a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soozsuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Went to dine, had the "Taste of Summer" menue essentially a mini taster menue and what tastes. Don't go for this menue if you are hungry, but the mix of flavours and textures and the superb presentation are hard to beat. Super kitchen, but terrible setting, the restuarant resembles a Victorian drawing room, heavy drapes, was there once a conservatory ? heavy furniture, black ceiling and darkly attired shuffling waiters, offset fortuately by equally darkly dressed but cheery waitresses. The next door Brasserie was packed and looked much more cheerie.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Patrick075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Booked a standard room for 13.9.12, to stay for one night on way back from airport. Standard room was about £145 BB, but special offer to include dinner £125 !! On arrival was advised we have free upgrade to the Bridal Suite, huge smiles – fabulous room and facilities… very big thank you.

This hotel was recommended by the Merlin, who was closed, said the breakfast is said to be to die for. On arrival they had saved our pre-booked dinner table [flight late] and was the last table. Excellent steak and wine.

Before leaving to have a drink in the village was offered a free glass of champagne following an earlier wine tasting surplus.

Breakfast was excellent, and staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Location excellent, and would we go again, well when a hotel goes out of its way as this, and the quality is excellent, of course.
A big thank you.

Room Tip: Hope you was as lucky as we were
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greg k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

There is a legend that King Arthur and his knights sleep under Alderley Edge together with their snow-white horses. This is the subject of a book titled "The Weirdstone of Brisingamen" by Alan Garner. I had recently read this book and wanted to explore the Edge together with the countryside towards Shutlinglow hill to the east of Macclesfield. Alderley Edge hotel was well-placed for this, being right on the shoulder of the Edge, the top being only a short walk uphill. From there on a good day there are fine views towards Manchester and beyond to Winter Hill. The hotel itself did not disappoint. We contacted the hotel direct and were offered a deal which beat those available on LateRooms etc. We had two lovely rooms in an annexe (a small cottage just to the side of the main hotel), recently decorated and furnished to a very high standard indeed with high quality solid handmade hardwood furniture. We had a lovely three course dinner served in the new Bistro included in our rate. The staff were friendly and accommodating but we really had no problems. Breakfast in the morning was generous, and there was a wide choice including smoked haddock, kippers, full English etc. as well as a choice of pastries, cereals and cooked meats and cheeses. Bravo Alderley Edge hotel!

Room Tip: There are two lovely rooms in an annexe just to the side of the hotel. We stayed in the double on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyflame16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My partner and I had dinner at the Alderley Edge Hotel last night, and from the moment we walked through the doors we were treated brilliantly. The food was sensational and the service out of this world. We are both in the industry and it's lovely to find somewhere where the service exceeds expectations, the food was divine. We will definatly be returning :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brum1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,657 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
393 reviews
6.2 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderley Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderley Edge Hotel

Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderley Edge
Price Range: £84 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alderley Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elizabethan-Gothic Alderley Edge Hotel, with its panoramic views over the beautiful Cheshire Plain and Derbyshire countryside, is matched only by its superb facilities, excellent reputation and relaxed, inviting atmosphere.The award-winning hotel - with 50 comfortable and welcoming rooms and suites - offers guests the perfect choice of business, pleasure, private dining, corporate entertaining, conference, family celebration and wedding facilities.All supported by exceptionally stylish food from an executive chef and kitchen team whose coveted three AA rosettes standard serves the hotel's Alderley Restaurant and the more traditionaaly casual brasserie. Two very different eating experiences reaching from fine dining to a modern take on high-quality classically retro food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Alderley Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderley Edge Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing