We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alderley Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderley Edge
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Checked in after arriving to Manchest at 8:00 a.m. which is always a plus for a UK hotel. Front desk staff extremely friendly and accomodating. Room size was very good (I stayed in Siddlefield room). Good wireless internet connection at no extra charge (also rare in UK). Nice small garden the back. Excellent breakfast included in price. Alderley Edge is a lovely little town, albeit quiet in the evenings. A 5 minute walk to the village from the hotel. Convenient to local large pharmaceutical company.
The hotel is pricey, particularly for Manchester area. For any lesser price I would have given this a higher rating, but for this price, I would consider average. Not sure it would qualify for a vacation spot, but it is a very good higher end hotel for business travellers. There are not a great deal of food choices nearby and I did not eat in the hotel for dinner. I didn't see a gym or spa and there is no pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinzeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

The meals were outstanding, nothing frozen. The rooms were good sized. The service fine but as we had the place to ourselves, there were no ready staff late at night. My room was extra large with a good sized en-suite bath.

Room Tip: The newer rooms in back are larger, but not as period accurate as those in the house itself. You cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I wasnt very pleased when i stayed here.
Firstly for the price-i didnt feel i was on a break!
There was no staff available when i had to complain about having no hot water half way inbetween my shower! Then when i did advise a member a staff about this - nothing was put into place, i would have like to change rooms but nothing was mentioned.
Secondly the rooms are tiny, there is no where to put your suitcase, and you can barely walk around the bed. Our romantic break turned out a disaster and i was very disapointed in my stay!we were going to stay an extra night but instead decided to go to the premier inn across the way which was perfect! wish we had booked there now!

Room Tip: Go to the premier inn accross the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C_L_H08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights with a small group of friends. The rooms were great, the service was good without being too "in your face", and the food and wines were really excellent. Wholly satisfied.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I have just returned home from the Alderley Edge Hotel where we had a party to celebrate my parents' Diamond Wedding anniversary. The staff at this hotel go out of their way to make every detail perfect no matter how small the event.
We had a private dining room for 19 guests including 6 great grandchildren. The events organiser met me beforehand to arrange all the details and followed this up by email. She suggested a good florist for the table flowers which were superb and we were even able to take an ipod with a playlist of songs that meant something to my parents.
The meal was superb and again the waiters and manager organised everything so well. I particularly recommend the hot passionfruit souffle and sorbet for dessert- amazing!
We were able to use the beautiful garden for coffee and drinks after the meal.
On arrival we were upgraded to the Delamere suite (bridal suite) which was spacious and well appointed. Some of the family said their rooms were slightly on the small side but this was fine for their stay.
I have to mention the meal we had on Friday night in the restaurant. We had the fixed price market menu which was one of the best meals we have had recently and such good value for money too.
All the staff were superb; reception, waiting staff, managers, bar..
I do not generally enthuse but I was bowled over by how everyone worked as a team. I hope the hotel has continued success!

Room Tip: The suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Calm and tranquil on a busy Saturday afternoon. Excellent menu with light choices. Reasonable prices. Have stayed in hotel before and was not disappointed. went to try the new brasserie for birthday lunch would return and would recommend. Service very good

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank 242Mrs_mcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

I was there for business during last february, there's a guy at the brassiere that's not so nice, one of the girls at frobt desk always was angry and not so good, it's clean and quiet in general terms everithing's good but some clothes of mine disapear.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alextuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,659 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
1.8 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
394 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderley Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderley Edge Hotel

Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderley Edge
Price Range: £85 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alderley Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elizabethan-Gothic Alderley Edge Hotel, with its panoramic views over the beautiful Cheshire Plain and Derbyshire countryside, is matched only by its superb facilities, excellent reputation and relaxed, inviting atmosphere.The award-winning hotel - with 50 comfortable and welcoming rooms and suites - offers guests the perfect choice of business, pleasure, private dining, corporate entertaining, conference, family celebration and wedding facilities.All supported by exceptionally stylish food from an executive chef and kitchen team whose coveted three AA rosettes standard serves the hotel's Alderley Restaurant and the more traditionaaly casual brasserie. Two very different eating experiences reaching from fine dining to a modern take on high-quality classically retro food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Alderley Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderley Edge Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing